horse racing info

Winterbottom Stakes

The Winterbottom Stakes is a Group 1 weight-for-age race held annually each November at Ascot racecourse in Perth, Western Australia during the Perth summer racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $1,000,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Winterbottom Stakes was won by Voodoo Lad from Enticing Star with Malaguerra third.

Upgraded from Group 2 to Group 1 status in the 2011/2012 racing season, the Winterbottom Stakes takes place one week following the Gr1 Railway Stakes during the Festival of Perth Racing in November. The feature sprint is held one week before the Gr1 Kingston Town Classic in December.

Winterbottom Stakes info

Date: Saturday 30th November 2019
Track: Ascot racecourse, Perth
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $1,000,000
2018 Winner: Voodoo Lad
winterbottom stakes Winterbottom Stakes odds

The Winterbottom Stakes is the premier sprint event of the Perth summer racing carnival and attracts good horses to make it a high standard race for this time of year. Who could forget the 2008 running of the race when champion gallopers Takeover Target and Apache Cat battled it out down the Ascot straight in one of the great clashes of the modern era.

Earlier Perth carnival races such as the Gr2 Lee Steere Stakes and Gr3 Colonel Reeves Stakes are good lead up sprint races to this event and horses from this race may head on to the upcoming A.J. Scahill Stakes also at weight-for-age at the same track.

In recent times Watermans Bay (2nd in 2014 & 2015), Power Princess (2nd in 2012) and Grand Nirvana (3rd in 2011) have gone on to score good wins in the AJ Scahill Stakes after placing in the Winterbottom Stakes, with Watermans Bay winning in consecutive years.

Star Queensland sprinter Buffering (2013) won the Gr1 VRC Sprint Classic at Flemington during the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival at Flemington in Victoria before heading to Perth to win this the Winterbottom Stakes. He returned two years later to win the race for a second time.

Voodoo Lad (2018) finished unplaced in the Gr1 Manikato Stakes over 1200m at Moonee Valley racecourse in Melbourne, Victoria, before heading to Perth to win this event in impressive style for leading Victorian trainer Darren Weir.

Recent Winterbottom Stakes winners include Voodoo Lad (2017) and Takedown (2016).

2018 Winterbottom Stakes result

1. $13.00 Voodoo Lad 58.5 Damien Oliver
2. $6.00 Enticing Star 56.5 William Pike
3. $15.00 Malaguerra 58.5 Ben Melham

then followed
4. $12.00 I'll Have A Bit 56.5 Chris Parnham
5. $11.00 Valour Road 54.5 Ben Allen
6. $31.00 Ashlor 58.5 Daniel Stackhouse
7. $61.00 Profit Street 58.5 Mitchell Pateman
8. $51.00 Malibu Style 58.5 Steven Parnham
9. $41.00 Durendal 58.5 Shaun Mc Gruddy
10. $19.00 Dainty Tess 56.5 Paul Harvey
11. $2.40 Viddora 56.5 Joe Bowditch
12. $13.00 Runson 58.5 Stephen Baster
13. $31.00 Belter 58.5 Patrick Carbery
14. $51.00 Rebel King 58.5 Jarrad Noske

Margins: 0.75 len, 0.25 len
Time: 1:10.24

Bet now on the Winterbottom Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Winterbottom Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Winterbottom Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Voodoo Lad Enticing Star Malaguerra 1:10.2
2017 Viddora Fuhryk Durendal 1:10.0
2016 Takedown Sheidel Rock Magic 1:10.2
2015 Buffering Watermans Bay Fast 'N' Rocking 1:08.1
2014 Magnifisio Watermans Bay Shining Knight 1:10.2
2013 Buffering Moment Of Change Watermans Bay 1:10.3
2012 Barakey Power Princess Spirit of Boom 1:10.1
2011 Ortensia Rarefied Grand Nirvana 1:10.1
2010 Hadabeclorka King Kool Kat Whitefriars 1:08.7
2009 Ortensia Idyllic Prince Black In Time 1:08.5
2008 Takeover Target Apache Cat Marasco 1:09.1
2007 Glory Hunter Charlie Beau Dark Target 1:10.4
2006 Marasco Grasspatch Girl Electric General 1:10.0
2005 Miss Andretti Avenida Madero Rescuer 1:09.7
2004 Ellicorsam Redwoldt Modem 1:08.6
2003 Hardrada Irish Pride Golden Delicious 1:11.3
2002 Hardrada Kaprats Fair Alert 1:08.7
2001 Fair Alert Old Fashion Corporate Bruce 1:11.5
2000 Noble Sky Star System Victory Trump 1:10.6
1999 Double Blue Willoughby Rory's Ratio 1:10.5
1998 Bradson Century Blazer Zedavite 1:10.5
1997 Cranky Tikit Willoughby Cash In The Bank 1:10.2
1996 French Sound Alabama Whirly Go The Grey 1:10.6
1995 Jacks Or Better Tolo Harbour Don Pasquale 1:11.0
1994 Petite Amour Bold Extreme Sir Tinka 1:10.9
1993 Sir Tinka Pago Escort Key Business 1:09.7
1992 Barrosa Boy Planet Ruler Welcome Knight 1:23.8
1991 M'Lady's Jewel Island Gossip Barrosa Boy 1:22.0
1990 Century God Mister Till Medicine Kid 1:22.1
1989 Carry A Smile Tackle The Pak Proud Treaty 1:22.3
1988 Sky Filou Barrakka Il Ferrari 1:21.6