, Railway Stakes - Ascot Racecourse - Perth Summer Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Railway Stakes

The Railway Stakes is a Group 1 open handicap race held annually at Ascot racecourse in Perth, Western Australia each November during the Perth summer racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and worth $1,000,000 in prize money. The 2019 Railway Stakes was won by Regal Power from Best Of Days with Platoon third.

The feature mile event of the summer carnival in Perth, the Railway Stakes takes place during the Festival of Perth Racing in November, one week before the Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes, and two weeks before the Group 1 Kingston Town Classic in December.

Railway Stakes info

Date: Saturday 20th November 2021
Track: Ascot racecourse, Perth
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $1,000,000
2019 Winner: Regal Power
railway stakes Railway Stakes odds

The Railway Stakes is the biggest race held during the Perth summer racing carnival and has grown to become a very prestigous event in Western Australia. The $1,000,000 prize money attracts the best locals, and any quality intertate vistors, ensuring a classy field on the day.

Any horses from the recently finished Melbourne spring racing carnival may head towards the Railway Stakes for the big dollars on offer, while the Gr3 Asian Beau Stakes and Gr3 RJ Peters Stakes are considered key lead up races in Perth. Galaxy Star (2018) is the most recent Asian Beau Stakes and Railway Stakes double winner, while Scales Of Justice (2016) is the last galloper to claim the RJ Peters Stakes and Railway Stakes double.

The hot conditions in Perth favours local horses, especially those who have a good record in the race. Winners and placegetters might consider going on to tackle the other prominent feature race of the summer, the Group 1 Kingston Town Classic in 2 weeks at the same track.

Talented mare Elite Belle (2014) ran third in the Kingston Town Classic and won the Gr2 CB Cox Stakes after taking out the Railway Stakes. Luckygray (2nd in 2012) and Mr Moet (2012) went on to quinella the the Kingston Town Classic at their next start, with Luckygray turning the tables on Mr Moet over the 1800m distance of the Classic.

Galaxy Star (2018) took out the Gr3 Asian Beau Stakes over 1400m at Ascot before scoring a classy win in this event for the Grant & Alana Williams stable.

Recent Railway Stakes winners include Great Shot (2017) and Scales Of Justice (2016).

2018 Railway Stakes result

1. $2.90 Galaxy Star 53.0 William Pike
2. $13.00 Gatting 54.0 Damian Lane
3. $9.00 Material Man 57.0 Ms Lucy Warwick

then followed
4. $81.00 Perfect Jewel 53.0 Craig Newitt
=5. $16.00 Mister Sea Wolf 53.5 Michael Dee
=5. $16.00 Man Booker 55.0 Paul Harvey
7. $151.00 Star Exhibit 53.0 Joseph Azzopardi
8. $7.00 Iconoclasm 53.0 Craig Williams
9. $14.00 Prized Icon 54.0 Ben Melham
10. $26.00 Achernar Star 53.0 Shaun Mc Gruddy
11. $41.00 Action 53.0 Patrick Carbery
12. $151.00 Disposition 53.0 Shaun O'Donnell
13. $31.00 Great Shot 55.5 Craig Staples
14. $101.00 Wrinkly 53.0 Steven Parnham
15. $6.50 Peaceful State 53.5 Ben Allen

Margins: 1.75, 0.1 len
Time: 1:34.08

Bet now on the Railway Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Railway Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Railway Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Regal Power Best Of Days Platoon 1:35.8
2018 Galaxy Star Gatting Material Man 1:34.0
2017 Great Shot Black Heart Bart Tom Melbourne 1:35.8
2016 Scales Of Justice Good Project Perfect Reflection 1:36.1
2015 Good Project Messene Balmont Girl 1:34.5
2014 Elite Belle Balmont Girl Moriarty 1:35.3
2013 Luckygray Platinum Rocker Fire Up Fifi 1:36.7
2012 Mr Moet Luckygray Rosie Rocket 1:35.8
2011 Luckygray He's Remarkable Westriver Kevydonn 1:34.8
2010 Gathering Famous Roman Megatic 1:35.1
2009 Snipers Bullet Tarzi Colour Correct 1:34.2
2008 Gilded Venom Sniper's Bullet Annenkov 1.34:5
2007 El Presidente Hartley's Dream Mansion House 1:34.7
2006 Belle Bizarre Confectioner Niconero 1:34.4
2005 Covertly Early Express Blinded 1:34.8
2004 Modem Mr Sandgroper Blinded 1:35.9
2003 Hardrada Early Express Mapperholic 1:35.7
2002 Old Fashion Hardrada Corporate Bruce 1:35.6
2001 Old Comrade Mr Tanzania Finito 1:37.6
2000 Northerly Old Comrade Lizzy Long Legs 1:35.8
1999 Slavonic Sister Patricia Corporate Bruce 1:34.8
1998 (Jan) Willoughby Bar Dreamer Spook 1:34.5
1998 (Dec) Machine Gun To Jacks Or Better On a Swing 1:36.4
1996 Bold Extreme Century Blazer Bradson 1:34.8
1995 Jacks Or Better Foreman Wabasso 1:35.2
1994 (Jan) Zaparri Sir Tinka Asian Incline 1:35.1
1994 (Dec) Island Morn Classy Dresser Calypso 1:35.6
1992 Welcome Knight Double Dignity Colonial Spirit 1:34.5
1991 M'Lady's Jewel Barrosa Boy Yilgangie Gold 1:34.6
1990 Medicine Kid Century God Jungle Hero 1:35.4
1989 Better Loosen Up Marwong Dual's Brute 1:34.4
1988 Marwong Bowie Congressman 1:33.7