, Lee Steere Stakes - Ascot Racecourse - Perth Summer Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Lee Steere Stakes

The Lee Steere Stakes is a Group 2 weight-for-age race held annually each November at Ascot racecourse in Perth, Western Australia during the Perth summer racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and worth $250,000 in prize money. The 2019 Lee Steere Stakes was won by Star Exhibit from Gatting with The Velvet King third.

The race is named after former Western Australian Turf Club chairman, Ernest Henry Lee-Steere.

Lee Steere Stakes info

Date: Saturday 6th November 2021
Track: Ascot racecourse, Perth
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $250,000
2019 Winner: Star Exhibit

The Lee Steere Stakes is the first Group 2 race of the season in Perth and is a good follow up race to the Gr3 Prince Of Wales Stakes held the previous month at the same track and typically many of the same horses will contest both races.

Idyllic Prince (2009) won the Prince Of Wales Stakes & Lee Steere Stakes double before running second in the Winterbottom Stakes later in the carnival. Spirited One (3rd in 2009) ran third in both the Prince Of Wales Stakes & Lee Steere Stakes.

This race attracts gallopers who might then go on to tackle Perth's feature carnival races, the Group 1 Railway Stakes or Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes on the Festival of Perth Racing's Super Saturday. Talented mare Maginifisio (2014) took out the Winterbottom Stakes following her impressive victory in the Lee Steere Stakes, while Elite Belle (4th in 2014) managed to win the Railway Stakes at her next outing.

The classy Luckygray (4th in 2013) claimed the Railway Stakes at his next start to capture Perth's major race for the second time in three years.

The better types looking for more ground might head towards the Group 1 Kingston Town Classic at weight-for-age in December.

Gatting (2018) resumed from a spell to win this event in stylish fashion for trainer Darren Mcauliffe. Recent Lee Steere Stakes winners include Sliverstream (2017) and Perfect Reflection (2016).

2019 Lee Steere Stakes result

1. $41.00 Star Exhibit 59.0 Peter Hall
2. $4.20 Gatting 59.0 Chris Parnham
3. $2.80 The Velvet King 59.0 Mitchell Pateman

then followed
4. $2.70 Achernar Star 59.0 Paul Harvey
5. $21.00 Mizlecki 57.0 Ms Jade McNaught
6. $41.00 Majinika 59.0 Alan Kennedy
7. $6.00 Arcadia Prince 59.0 William Pike

Margins: 0.49 len, 0.3 len
Time: 1:22.61

Bet now on the Lee Steere Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Lee Steere Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Lee Steere Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Star Exhibit Gatting The Velvet King 1:22.6
2018 Gatting Achernar Star Great Shot 1:24.3
2017 Silverstream Great Shot Scales Of Justice 1:23.5
2016 Perfect Reflection Disposition Tradesman 1:23.0
2015 Black Heart Bart Magnifisio Delicacy 1:22.5
2014 Magnifisio Fuchsia Bandana Platinum Rocker 1:23.6
2013 Conservatorium Checkpoint Ranger 1:23.8
2012 Luckygray God Has Spoken Luke's Luck 1:22.9
2011 Ranger Grand Nirvana Waratah's Secret 1:22.6
2010 Famous Roman Tarzi For Your Eyes Only 1:24.0
2009 Idyllic Prince Tarzi Spirited One 1:22.5
2008 Marasco Tarzi Hartleys Dream 1:22.6
2007 Grasspatch Girl Mansion House No Questions 1:22.3
2006 Belle Bizarre Hartley's Dream Wild Target 1:22.4
2005 Avenida Madero Covertly Hartley's Dream 1:21.9
2004 Ellicorsam Modem Mr Sandgroper 1:21.3
2003 Early Express Modem Finito 1:23.3
2002 Hardrada Irish Prelude Finito 1:21.9
2001 Tribula Fair Alert Old Comrade 1:25.4
2000 Umrum Old Comrade Star System 1:23.6
1999 Slavonic St Clemens Belle Papillion 1:23.5
1998 Pennyweight Point Double Blue Willoughby 1:24.5
1997 Willoughby Summer Beau Forge On 1:22.4
1996 Bradson Century Blazer Alabama Whirly 1:22.8
1995 Century Blazer Wabasso Jacks Or Better 1:22.5
1994 Jacks Or Better Petite Amour Bold Extreme 1:22.0
1993 Wabasso Double Dignity Sir Tinka 1:23.3
1992 Welcome Knight Double Dignity Barrosa Boy 1:28.2
1991 M'Lady's Jewel Barrosa Boy Star Alert 1:29.1
1990 Mister Till Century God HailTheChief/StripTh 1:28.9
1989 Carry A Smile Island Gossip Century God 1:29.7
1988 Sky Filou Il Ferrari Westall 1:29.1