horse racing info

Hong Kong Sprint

The Hong Kong Sprint is a Group 1 sprint race for 3yo & upward thoroughbreds over a distance of 1200 metres held each December at Sha Tin racecourse in Hong Kong. The race has prizemoney of HK$15,000,000 and is one of the four major races to take place on Hong Kong International Race Day.

Locally trained Aerovelocity claimed the 2016 Hong Kong Sprint, capturing the race for the second time in three years. Trained by Paul O'Sullivan and ridden by Zac Purton, the eight-year-old proved too strong for the France Lui trained Lucky Bubbles, second, with last year's winner Peniaphobia, from the Tony Cruz stable, running third.

hong kong racing

Racing in Hong Kong is governed by the Hong Kong Jockey Club with meetings held at Sha Tin Racecourse and Happy Valley Racecourse. The Sha Tin track is home to the Hong Kong Sprint and was first built in 1978.

2017 Hong Kong Sprint info

Date: Sunday 10th December 2017
Track: Sha Tin Racecourse, Hong Kong
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo & Up
Status: Group 1
Surface: Turf
Prizemoney: HK$15,000,000 (app $1.9M AUS)
2016 Winner: Aerovelocity
hong kong odds Hong Kong Sprint odds
hong kong odds Hong Kong Sprint Bonus Bets

The Hong Kong Sprint was was first run in 1999 and has grown into a very high class affair, attracting the very best sprinters from around the world. Originally a 1000m race until 2006, the feature sprint increased to the 1200m distance it is raced at today.

The Hong Kong Sprint was afforded Group One status in 2002 and has been taken out by some of the world's best sprinters in that time. Quality gallopers such as Lord Kanaloa (2012-2013), Sacred Kingdom (2007 & 2009), Silent Witness (2003-2004) and Falvelon (2000-01) have all won this race since inception.

Aerovelocity (2016 & 2014) finished third in the Gr2 Jockey Club Sprint over 1200m at Sha Tin prior to winning this event for the second time in three years and recent Hong Kong Sprint winners include Peniaphobia (2015) Lord Kanaloa (2012-2013).

Global Sprint Challenge

The Hong Kong Sprint is the final leg of the 'Global Sprint Challenge' which is a thoroughbred horse racing series of ten sprint races run in Hong Kong, Australia, England, Japan, Dubai and Singapore.

The Australian legs of the series are the Gr1 Lightning Stakes held at Flemington in January and the Gr1 VRC Sprint Classic held on the final day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival at Flemington in November.

Global Sprint Challenge races

Gr1 Lightning Stakes - Flemington - Australia - January
Gr1 Takamatsunomiya Kinen - Chukyo - Japan - March
Gr1 Dubai Golden Shaheen - Meydan - Dubai - March
Gr1 Kris Flyer International Sprint - Kranji - Singapore - May
Gr1 King's Stand Stakes - Royal Ascot - England - June
Gr1 Golden Jubilee Stakes - Royal Ascot - England - June
Gr1 July Cup - Newmarket - England - July
Gr1 Sprinters Stakes - Nakayama - Japan - October
Gr1 VRC Sprint Classic - Flemington - Australia - November
Gr1 Hong Kong Sprint - Sha Tin - Hong Kong - December

The Champion Sprinter trophy is awarded to the connections of the horse that accumulates 42 points or more in a single season, and participates in challenge races in at least three countries.

Challenge winners since the Global Series inception have been Cape of Good Hope (2005), Takeover Target (2006), Miss Andretti (2007), Apache Cat (2008), Scenic Blast (2009), Starsspangledbanner (2010).

Other Group 1 feature races on International race day include the Hong Kong Mile (1600m), Hong Kong Cup (2000m) and Hong Kong Vase (2400m).

2016 Hong Kong Sprint result

1. $8.50 Aerovelocity 57.0 Z Purton
2. $3.20 Lucky Bubbles 57.0 B Prebble
3. $12.00 Peniaphobia 57.0 S de Sousa

then followed
4. $7.90 Amazing Kids 57.0 J Moreira
5. $100.00 Signs Of Blessing 57.0 S Pasquier
6. $26.00 Takedown 57.0 T Clark
7. $10.90 Not Listenin'Tome 57.0 H Bowman
8. $100.00 Super Jockey 57.0 K Teetan
9. $57.00 Strathmore 57.0 N Callan
10. $8.00 Big Arthur 57.0 R Moore
11. $82.00 Rebel Dane 57.0 B Melham
12. $17.00 Red Falx 57.0 M Demuro
13. $100.00 Growl 57.0 G Lee

Margins: Short Head, 3/4 len
Time: 1.08.80

Get the best odds on Hong Kong Racing at online bookie Sportsbet!


Want a $501 Free Bet on Hong Kong Racing? Claim $501 free bet here!

Hong Kong International Race Day

Hong Kong International Race day is the major race day of Hong Kong horse racing and the day itself has become one of the major race days in Asia and around the world. International Race Day takes place annually in December and offers total prizemoney in excess of HK$64,000,000, which is approximately $8.2M Australian.

The following Group 1 races are held on International Race Day:

  • Hong Kong Cup - 2000m
  • Hong Kong Sprint - 1200m
  • Hong Kong Mile - 1600m
  • Hong Kong Vase - 2400m

Classy Australian sprinter Falvelon won this race in consecutive years in 2000-01 when it was a 1000m event and champion sprinter Apache Cat ran a solid race for third in 2008.

The Tony Noonan trained Ortensia represented Australia in the 2010 Hong Kong Sprint and she got to the line strongly to finish less then two lengths from the winner.

Bet now on the Hong Kong Sprint

join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now

Hong Kong Sprint recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2016 Aerovelocity Zac Purton Paul O'Sullivan 1:08.8
2015 Peniaphobia Gold-Fun Not Listenin'Tome 1.08.7
2014 Aerovelocity Zac Purton Paul O'Sullivan 1:08.5
2013 Lord Kanaloa Yasunari Iwata Takayuki Yasuda 1:08.2
2012 Lord Kanaloa Yasunari Iwata Takayuki Yasuda 1:08.5
2011 Lucky Nine Brett Prebble Caspar Fownes 1:08.9
2010 J J The Jet Plane Peter Strydom Michael Houdalakis 1.08.8
2009 Sacred Kingdom Brett Prebble P F Yiu 1.09.1
2008 Inspiration Darren Beadman John Moore 1:08.6
2007 Sacred Kingdom Gerald Mosse Ricky Yiu 1:08.4
2006 Absolute Champion Brett Prebble David Hall 1:07.8
2005 Natural Blitz Glyn Schofield Derek Cruz 0:57.6
2004 Silent Witness Felix Coetzee Tony Cruz 0:56.8
2003 Silent Witness Felix Coetzee Tony Cruz 0:56.5
2002 All Thrills Too Gerald Mosse David Hayes 0:56.4
2001 Falvelon Damien Oliver Danny Bougoure 0:57.0
2000 Falvelon Damien Oliver Danny Bougoure 0:56.7
1999 Fairy King Prawn Steven King Ricky Yiu 0:56.5