horse racing info

Wakeful Stakes

The Wakeful Stakes is a Group 2 race for 3yo fillies held at Flemington racecourse each year during the Melbourne spring racing carnival in late October or early November. The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres and worth $300,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 Wakeful Stakes was won by Luvaluva from Glam Guru with Rimraam third.

Held on Derby day which is the first day of the four day Melbourne Cup Carnival, the Wakeful Stakes takes place alongside four Group 1 races. These are the AAMI Victoria Derby, Coolmore Stud Stakes, Cantala Stakes, and Myer Classic.

2018 Wakeful Stakes info

Date: Saturday 3rd November 2018
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $300,000
2017 Winner: Luvaluva

The Wakeful Stakes is one of the key distance races of the carnival for three-year-old fillies on their way to the Gr1 VRC Oaks over 2500m the following Thursday. The Wakeful Stakes is over 2000m and provides a wonderful lead up to the premier fillies event of the spring.

Quality fillies generally assemble for the Wakeful Stakes and most of the field typically come via the Gr2 Edward Manifold Stakes at Flemington or the Gr1 Thousand Guineas at Caulfield and use the Wakeful as their final lead up race to the Oaks.

In recent times Atlantic Jewel (2011) won the Caulfield Guineas & Wakeful Stakes double, while Brazilian Pulse (2010) ran second in the Edward Manifold Stakes and then third in the Thousand Guineas before winning this race on her way to claiming the VRC Oaks.

More recently, Kirramosa (2013) went on to win the VRC Oaks after winning this race.

Some talented fillies such as Zarita (2007), Tuesday Joy (2006), Grand Archway (1989) and Research (1988) have all won this race over the years and then continued on to become top mares of the Australian turf.

Luvaluva (2017) finished runner-up in a 3YO BM75 race over 1600m at Randwick in Sydney before making the trek to Melbourne to score a first class victory in this event and recent Wakeful Stakes winners include Tiamo Grace (2016) and Ambience (2015).

horse racing free bet

Spring Carnival Guide

The Wakeful Stakes has been a great guide to the VRC Oaks in recent times providing numerous winners and placegetters over the years. The most recent fillies to complete the Wakeful Stakes & VRC Oaks double have been Kirramosa (2013), Brazilian Pulse (2010), Faint Perfume (2009), Serenade Rose (2005) and Hollow Bullet (2004).

Winners & placegetters in this event tend to run very well in the VRC Oaks the following Thursday and the Wakeful Stakes has always been the best guide over the years.

2017 Wakeful Stakes result

1. $5.00 Luvaluva 55.0 Blake Shinn
2. $20.00 Glam Guru 55.0 Jeff Lloyd
3. $8.00 Rimraam 55.0 Kerrin McEvoy

then followed
4. $11.00 Hiyaam 55.0 Michael Dee
5. $31.00 Sheezdashing 55.0 Ms Katelyn Mallyon
6. $51.00 Snogging 55.0 Michael Walker
7. $15.00 Improvise 55.0 Hugh Bowman
8. $9.50 Teodora 55.0 Dean Yendall
9. $26.00 Lucky Louie 55.0 Ben Melham
10. $71.00 Berkshire Lady 55.0 Craig Williams
11. $19.00 Smooth Landing 55.0 Damian Lane
12. $4.80 Bring Me Roses 57.0 Mark Zahra
13. $201.00 Miss Admiration 55.0 Jake Noonan
14. $19.00 Pure Scot 55.0 Regan Bayliss
15. $61.00 Pres De Toi 55.0 Dwayne Dunn
16. $14.00 Cabierro 55.0 James Winks

Margins: 0.2 len, 0.1 len
Time: 2:03.99

Bet now on the Wakeful Stakes

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Wakeful Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Luvaluva Glam Guru Rimraam 2:03.9
2016 Tiamo Grace Sebring Dream Missrock 2:04.4
2015 Ambience Beluga Blue Muzyka 2:04.7
2014 Thunder Lady Abduction Fenway 2:03.3
2013 Kirramosa May's Dream Solicit 2:05.1
2012 Zydeco Maraatib Transonic 2:02.8
2011 Atlantic Jewel Rahveel Dowager Queen 2:04.9
2010 Brazilian Pulse Placement Heartsareforlove 2:04.2
2009 Faint Perfume Silent Surround Melito 2:03.2
2008 Rocha Miss Scarlatti Estee 2:05.5
2007 Zarita Riva San Katherine Gold 2:05.8
2006 Tuesday Joy J'adane Anamato 2:02.7
2005 Serenade Rose Astronomia Zenarta 2:02.5
2004 Hollow Bullet Storm Alert Mango Daiquiri 2:02.1
2003 Timbourina Special Harmony Dane Beltar 2:05.5
2002 Hierogram Its Who Deanie Lashed 2:02.9
2001 Quays Gold Lottery Li Lo Lill 2:01.2
2000 Lolita Star Lang Kwai Fong Tanith 2:04.7
1999 My Sienna Forest Express Danglissa 2:01.3
1998 Grand Archway Rose O War Confer 2:02.2
1997 Kensington Palace Marine Spirit Kilmore Quay 2:04.3
1996 Danendri Superb Lady Calm Abiding 2:01.9
1995 Saleous Not On Friday Pontal Lass 2:01.5
1994 Dream Of The Dance Captiva Euphoria 2:05.1
1993 Arborea Alcove Fine Recipe 2:02.0
1992 Love Comes To Town Tempest Command Azzurro 2:03.9
1991 Richfield Lady Yodells Dancefloor Doll 2:02.6
1990 Beachside All Mine Triscay 2:03.6
1989 Tristanagh A Little Kiss La Tristia 2:02.5
1988 Research Salisopra Memphis Blues 2:02.5