, Tea Rose Stakes - Rosehill Racecourse - Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Tea Rose Stakes

The Tea Rose Stakes is a Group 2 set weights event for three-year-old fillies that takes place each September at Randwick racecourse during the Sydney spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2020 Tea Rose Stakes was won by Dame Giselle from Hungry Heart with Vangelic third.

This event takes place on the same day as the Group 1 George Main Stakes and was reduced in distance from 1500m to 1400m for the 2013/2014 racing season.

Tea Rose Stakes info

Date: Saturday 18th September 2021
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000
2020 Winner: Dame Giselle

The Tea Rose Stakes is a 3yo fillies event over 1400 metres that is the perfect lead up race to the premier race of the spring for three-year-old fillies, the Group 1 Flight Stakes at Randwick on the final day of the carnival.

This race will attract fillies that previously contested the Gr2 Furious Stakes earlier in the carnival at Randwick and provides the ideal tune for the 1600m of the Flight Stakes on Group 1 Epsom Handicap day. The Furious Stakes has provided more than 75% winners of this race over the past few years while fillies who contest this event have provided more than 80% of recent Flight Stakes winners.

In recent times Foxplay (2016), Streama (2011), More Strawberries (2010), Samantha Miss (2008), Mnemosyne (2005), Prisoner Of Love (2004), Shamekha (2003) and Victory Vein (2002) have all won the Furious Stakes before going on to win this race.

Nearly every year the placegetters from this race will figure in the finish of the Flight Stakes on the final day of the spring racing carnival at Randwick and history shows the Tea Rose Stakes is the best form guide to premier Group 1 fillies race of the spring in Sydney.

Of late, Alisee (2017), First Seal (2014), Guelph (2013), Streama (2011), More Joyous (2009), Samantha Miss (2008), Cheeky Choice (2006), Ha Ha (2001) and Unworldy (2000) have all won the Tea Rose & Flight Stakes double, while Fashions Afield (2nd in 2005) went on to win the Flight Stakes.

Streama (2011), Samantha Miss (2008), Unworldly (2000), Danglissa (1999), Sunline (1998) all managed to win the Furious Stakes/Tea Rose Stakes/Flight Stakes treble.

Samantha Miss (2008) and Angst (1993) are the only two fillies to win the Princess Series of races, the Silver Shadow Stakes, Furious Stakes, Tea Rose Stakes and Flight Stakes.

It's worth noting that Peter & Paul Snowden trained filly Anaheed (5th in 2019) ventured south to Melbourne at her next start to win the Group 3 Blue Sapphire Stakes at Caulfield during the Melbourne spring racing carnival.

Funstar (2019) ran second in a 3YO BM72 race over 1300m at Randwick before scoring a narrow victory in this event for the Chris Waller stable.

Recent Tea Rose Stakes winners include Miss Fabulass (2018) and Alizee (2017).

2020 Tea Rose Stakes result

1. $2.70 Dame Giselle 56.0 Tommy Berry
2. $2.45 Hungry Heart 56.0 James McDonald
3. $18.00 Vangelic 56.0 Tim Clark

then followed
4. $8.00 Montefilia 56.0 Hugh Bowman
5. $21.00 Thermosphere 56.0 Nash Rawiller
6. $26.00 Every Rose 56.0 Ms Rachel King
7. $41.00 Miravalle 56.0 Joshua Parr
8. $71.00 Centimental 56.0 Sam Clipperton
9. $26.00 Stellar Pauline 56.0 Kerrin McEvoy
10. $41.00 Miss Canada 56.0 Brenton Avdulla
11. $201.00 Fall On A Star 56.0 Jason Collett

Margins: 0.5 len, 1.3 len
Time: 1:22.26

Bet now on the Tea Rose Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Tea Rose Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Tea Rose Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Dame Giselle Hungry Heart Vangelic 1:22.2
2019 Funstar Probabeel Libertini 1:23.0
2018 Miss Fabulass Fiesta Pretty In Pink 1:22.9
2017 Alizee Champagne Cuddles Cellargirl 1:22.5
2016 Foxplay Skylight Glow Quick Feet 1:23.9
2015 Pearls Honesta Kimberley Star 1:24.4
2014 First Seal Winx Earthquake 1:22.8
2013 Guelph Arabian Gold Bound For Earth 1:22.1
2012 Longport Norzita Jade Marauder 1:29.3
2011 Streama Pane In The Glass Florentina 1:30.3
2010 More Strawberries Parables Ambers Waltz 1:29.7
2009 More Joyous Melito Deer Valley 1:28.7
2008 Samantha Miss Kamillsy Glowlamp 1:30.6
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Cheeky Choice Gallant Tess My Lady's Chamber 1:30.0
2005 Mnemosyne Fashions Afield Sydney Owner 1:32.2
2004 Prisoner Of Love Wager Covertly 1:29.5
2003 Shamekha Unearthly Miss Ivy 1:30.0
2002 Victory Vein Ms Bowie Quiet As 1:29.0
2001 Ha Ha Lady Cay Hosannah 1:29.8
2000 Unworldly Dynamic Love Lady Mulan 1:30.2
1999 Danglissa Hut Tilting 1:30.6
1998 Sunline Zola Zaroyale 1:28.6
1997 Stella Cadente Vocalist Snow Beauty 1:30.4
1996 Assertive Lass Dashing Eagle Mohave Dancer 1:28.9
1995 Pontal Lass Zabeelstar Night Club 1:30.2
1994 Danarani Aragen Euphoria 1:29.4
1993 Angst Sashed Lucyrowe 1:29.5
1992 Burst Skating Mahaya 1:29.0
1991 Bold Promise Electrique Lady Nickelii 1:36.0
1990 Whisked Triscay Berberia 1:30.8
1989 Tristanagh Ochiltree A Little Kiss 1:30.4
1988 Glenview Research Pagan Dance 1:32.3