, Silver Shadow Stakes Preview - Warwick Farm Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Silver Shadow Stakes

The Silver Shadow Stakes is a Group 2 event for 3yo Fillies held at Randwick racecourse in Sydney each August. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2020 Silver Shadow Stakes was won by Dame Giselle from Thermosphere with Miss Canada third.

Taking place on Group 2 Winx Stakes day, alongside the male version of this race, the Gr3 Up And Coming Stakes, the Silver Shadow Stakes was upgraded to Group 2 status in 2013 and held at Randwick for the 2014/2015 racing season.

Silver Shadow Stakes info

Date: Saturday 21st August 2021
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000
2020 Winner: Dame Giselle

The Silver Shadow Stakes is raced over 1200 metres at set weights and is the perfect lead up race for fillies who are looking ahead to the bigger three-year-old filly races in coming weeks, such as the Gr2 Furious Stakes over 1400m and Gr2 Tea Rose Stakes over 1500m.

In recent years the race has generally been won by a more than handy filly rather than an out and out top liner, although the brilliant sprinter Gold Edition (2006) managed to win this before going on to bigger and better things. Samantha Miss (2008) was a high quality filly who won multiple spring features as a three-year-old before injury curtailed her career.

The race is a good guide to the upcoming Furious Stakes at Randwick and in recent times Speak Fondly (2015), Samantha Miss (2008), Mnemosyne (2005) and Victory Vein (2002) all won the Silver Shadow Stakes before winning the Furious Stakes next time out.

A number of more than handy fillies have either won or placed in both the Silver Shadow Stakes & Furious stakes, or vice versa, and most recently Dear Demi (3rd in 2012), Streama (3rd in 2011) and Melito (2nd in 2009) went on to win the Furious Stakes after placing in this event, while Pane In The Glass (2011) and Florentina (2nd in 2011) finished second and third in the Furious Stakes.

Samantha Miss (2008) and Angst (1993) are the only two fillies to win the Princess Series of races, the Silver Shadow, Furious Stakes, Tea Rose Stakes and Flight Stakes.

Libertini (2019) resumed from an autumn spell to score an ultra impressive citory in this evnt for the Anthony Cummings stable.

Recent Silver Shadow Stakes winners include Fiesta (2018) and Formality (2017).

2020 Silver Shadow Stakes

1. $3.60 Dame Giselle 57.0 Tommy Berry
2. $17.00 Thermosphere 56.0 Kerrin McEvoy
3. $26.00 Miss Canada 55.0 Ms Rachel King

then followed
4. $5.00 Redoute's Image 55.0 Jason Collett
5. $6.00 September Run 55.5 James McDonald
6. $17.00 Philizzy 55.0 Regan Bayliss
7. $26.00 Fall On A Star 55.0 Brenton Avdulla
8. $51.00 Hybrid Theory 55.0 Glyn Schofield

Margins: 0.2 len, 1.8 len
Time: 1:11.22

Bet now on the Silver Shadow Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Silver Shadow Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Silver Shadow Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Dame Giselle Thermosphere Miss Canada 1:11.2
2019 Libertini Flit Let It Pour 1:07.9
2018 Fiesta Outback Barbie Futooh 1:09.1
2017 Formality Alizee Champagne Cuddles 1:08.8
2016 Omei Sword Bacarella Quick Feet 1:09.6
2015 Speak Fondly Kimberley Star Lake Geneva 1:09.4
2014 Bring Me The Maid Memorial Clover Lane 1:12.3
2013 Thump Sweet Idea Montsegur 1:09.6
2012 Nechita Meidung Ichihara 1:09.7
2011 Pane In The Glass Florentina Streama 1:13.4
2010 Parables Solar Charged Chance Bye 1:09.9
2009 Deer Valley Melito Hurtle Myrtle 1:10.3
2008 Samantha Miss Glowlamp Love and Kisses 1:12.4
2007 Race not run
2006 Gold Edition Montmelo Heat Of The Fire 1:10.6
2005 Mnemosyne Fashions Afield Paulini 1:09.6
2004 Our Sweet Moss Wager Trezevant 1:10.7
2003 Regimental Gal Legally Bay Dorky 1:12.0
2002 Victory Vein Chantelaine Calaway Gal 1:09.9
2001 Ha Ha Hosannah Oomph 1:11.3
2000 Ateates Dynamic Love Unworldly 1:09.9
1999 Katima High Grove Forest Express 1:10.2
1998 Crimson Flight Rubicall Confer 1:15.0
1997 Adeewin Snapshots My Halo Broke 1:10.1
1996 Cashier Crying Apple Danish 1:09.9
1995 Seika Milrich Fair Diana 1:11.1
1994 Aragen Danarani Romantica 1:10.6
1993 Angst Centrefold Spread Bint Marscay 1:10.3
1992 Skating Burst Klokka 1:09.9
1991 Pipiwar Enshrine Bold Promise 1:11.5
1990 Triscay With Me Whisked 1:11.6
1989 Spirited Way Kanaloa A Little Kiss 1:10.5
1988 Startling Lass Atalantas Way Grey Fille 1:10.2