horse racing info

Research Stakes

The Research Stakes is a Group 2 quality handicap for 3yo & upwards fillies and mares held at Rosehill racecourse during the Sydney spring racing carnival each year in September. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $400,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Research Stakes was won by Shumookh from Champagne Cuddles with Princess Posh third.

Run as the 'Golden Pendant' in recent years and held alongside the Group 1 Golden Rose, this race was elevated to Group 2 status for the 2015/2016 racing season and also received a prizemoney increase of $100,000.

Research Stakes info

Date: Saturday 28th September 2019
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Fillies & Mares - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $400,000
2018 Winner: Shumookh

The Research Stakes is a fillies and mares handicap sprint race that more often than not will attract females who may have run in the listed Sheraco Stakes held earlier in the carnival at Rosehill. The brilliant More Joyous (2012) took out the Sheraco Stakes on her way to success in this event at her next outing.

The race is named after former outstanding mare Research. It tends to assemble more than handy fillies and mares who are best suited to the conditions of the race, especially those gallopers on the rise, and any who may be down in the weights getting under the handicapper's guard.

Quality mare Hot Danish (2009) won this race lumping 61 kilograms and talented gallopers such as Judged (2008), Spinning Hill (2000) and Dantelah (1998) have all won this event.

Shumookh (2018) ran second in the Listed Mona Lisa Stakes over 1350m at Wyong before leading all the way to win this event for the Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott stable.

Recent Research Stakes winners include Daysee Doom (2017) and Tycoon Tara (2016).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

2018 Research Stakes result

1. $6.00 Shumookh 54.0 Tim Clark
2. $5.00 Champagne Cuddles 55.0 James McDonald
3. $9.50 Princess Posh 55.0 Brenton Avdulla

then followed
4. $5.00 Invincibella 56.5 Hugh Bowman
5. $21.00 Eckstein 55.0 Kerrin McEvoy
6. $7.50 Dixie Blossoms 56.5 Christian Reith
7. $7.50 Prompt Response 58.0 Damien Oliver
8. $41.00 Insensata 54.0 Jason Collett
9. $31.00 Magic Alibi 54.0 Jay Ford
10. $9.00 Daysee Doom 58.0 Andrew Adkins

Margins: 0.1 len, 0.4 len
Time: 1:23.09

Bet now on the Research Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Research Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Research Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Shumookh Champagne Cuddles Princess Posh 1:23.0
2017 Daysee Doom Dixie Blossoms Omei Sword 1:23.7
2016 Tycoon Tara Dixie Blossoms Pearls 1:22.6
2015 Peeping Two Blue Berry Delicious 1:23.0
2014 Arabian Gold Catkins My Sabeel 1:22.6
2013 Sharnee Rose Red Tracer Bennetta 1:23.0
2012 More Joyous Skyerush Forarainyday 1:25.3
2011 Screen Gybe Ofcourseican 1:09.9
2010 Trim Montana Flyer =2 Girl Hussler =2 1:09.8
2009 Hot Danish Madame Pedrille Beaucoup 1:10.6
2008 Judged Illuminates Nediyms Dream 1:11.0
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Coolroom Candidate Napa Sky Kakakakatie 1:11.1
2005 Fumble Battle Maiden One In A Million 1:09.5
2004 Besame Mucho Chatelaine Covet Thee 1:10.6
2003 Classy Dane Forum Floozie Gold Lottey 1:10.4
2002 Mica's Pride Ancient Song Rare Insight 1:09.2
2001 La Rieuse Winona Gentle Genius 1:10.7
2000 Spinning Hill Brief Kiss Perfect Halo 1:11.1
1999 Brief Kiss Dantelah Flickering Fire 1:10.0
1998 Dantelah Snippets Lass My Halo Broke 1:09.4
1997 Unison Sweet Consort Amber 1:08.8
1996 Fiddlestick Ruffles Dane Ripper 1:09.7