horse racing info


The JRA Cup is a Group 3 open handicap race that takes place towards the end of September at Moonee Valley racecourse during the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 2040 metres and offers $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 JRA Cup was won by Jon Snow from Ecuador with Boom Time third.

Held on Group 1 AJ Moir Stakes night on Grand Final eve at Moonee Valley, the JRA Cup was upgraded from a listed race to a Group 3 event for the 2010/2011 racing season.

2018 JRA Cup info

Date: Friday 28th September 2018
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2040 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $200,000
2017 Winner: Jon Snow

The JRA Cup has grown in stature over the past few years and serves as an ideal race for staying types honing their fitness for the quality longer races to come during the carnival. The field generally assembles more than handy types as a rule but in recent times has managed to produce a Melbourne Cup and WS Cox Plate winner.

Shocking (3rd in 2009) ran third in this race before going on to taste success in the Melbourne Cup in November, while Maldivian (2007) won the WS Cox Plate the following year. Master O'Reilly (3rd in 2007) was successful in the Gr1 Caulfield Cup the following month and the JRA Cup has proven a pivotal race of the spring in recent years.

A race such as the Gr 3 Queen Elizabeth Stakes on the last day of the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival might also be on the long term plans for horses contesting this event. Capecover (7th in 2008) won the Queen Elizabeth Stakes after being unplaced in this event and Ironstein (3rd in 2012) managed to place in both races.

Jon Snow (2017) finished eighth in the Gr1 Makybe Diva Stakes over 1600m at Flemington before proving much too strong for his rivals in this event and recent JRA Cup winners include Real Love (2016) and Escado (2015).

Spring Carnival Guide

The United States (6th in 2015) won the Gr2 Moonee Valley Cup at Moonee Valley after his unplaced run in this event, while Ironstein (3rd in 2012) finished third in the Moonee Valley Cup before running second in the Gr3 Queen Elizabeth Stakes at Flemington during the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival.

Domesky (3rd in 2011) managed to win the listed Ballarat Cup at Dowling Forest after running third in the JRA Cup

Precedence (2010) ran third in the Gr2 Herbert Power Stakes at Caulfield and then won the Moonee Valley Cup at Moonee Valley, while Linton (3rd in 2010) won the Herbert Power Stakes before finishing runner-up in the Gr3 The Lexus Stakes at Flemington.

2017 JRA Cup result

1. $9.50 Jon Snow 59.0 Stephen Baster
2. $11.00 Ecuador 58.0 Beau Mertens
3. $10.00 Boom Time 56.0 Mark Zahra

then followed
4. $19.00 Spanish Reef 54.0 Luke Currie
5. $5.50 Star Exhibit 57.5 Damian Lane
6. $17.00 Gallic Chieftain 54.0 Dean Yendall
7. $91.00 Lord Durante 54.0 Stan Tsaikos
8. $11.00 Etymology 54.0 Corey Brown
9. $5.00 Tavago 59.5 Hugh Bowman
10. $61.00 Kilmacurragh 54.0 Dwayne Dunn
11. $26.00 Berisha 54.0 Ryan Maloney
12. $5.00 Foundation 54.5 Regan Bayliss
13. $41.00 Grey Lion 54.0 Jordan Childs

Margins: 0.75 len, 1 len
Time: 2:07.12

Bet now on the JRA Cup

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

JRA Cup recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Jon Snow Ecuador Boom Time 2:07.1
2016 Real Love Maurus Tarquin 2:05.7
2015 Escado Magnapal Velox 2:05.8
2014 The Cleaner Sangster Mourinho 2:05.9
2013 Mourinho Gris Caro The Great Snowman 2:06.1
2012 Bianmick Dance With Her Ironstein 2:06.6
2011 Dream Pedlar Carnero Domesky 2:08.7
2010 Precedence Rainbow Styling Linton 2:05.3
2009 Alcopop Field Hunter Shocking 2:08.4
2008 Cefalu Majestical Devil Moon 2:05.9
2007 Maldivian Pacino Master O'Reilly 2:05.8
2006 Pavlova Spinney Delvecchio 2:07.0