, Hong Kong Cup Preview and Odds - Hong Kong Racing
horse racing info

Hong Kong Cup

The Hong Kong Cup is a Group 1 race for 3yo & upward thoroughbreds held annually each December at Sha Tin racecourse in Hong Kong. The race has prize money of HK$22,000,000 and is run over a distance of 2000 metres. It is one of the four major races to take place on Hong Kong International Race Day.

Locally trained galloper Glorious Forever, ridden by Silvestre de Sousa from the Frankie Lor stable, led all the way to score a comfortable 2018 Hong Kong Mile victory at Sha Tin.

Glorious Forever defeated race favourite Deidre, ridden by Christophe Lemaire and trained by Mitsuru Hashida, by one length in a time of 2:01.71 for the 2000 metre trip.

The winner's full brother and reigning Hong Kong Cup champion Time Warp, piloted by Zac Purton and trained by Tony Cruz, finished 0.25L away in third place.

Racing in Hong Kong is governed by the Hong Kong Jockey Club and racing is held at both Sha Tin and Happy Valley race tracks. The Hong Kong Cup is run at the Sha Tin Racecourse which was first erected in 1978. For more information about Sha Tin and the HKJC please take the time to visit our Sha Tin Racecourse page.

Hong Kong Cup info

Date: Sunday 8th December 2019
Track: Sha Tin Racecourse, Hong Kong
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: 3yo & Up
Status: Group 1
Surface: Turf
Prize Money: HK$22,000,000 (app $2.58M AUS)
2018 Winner: Glorious Forever
hong kong odds Hong Kong Cup odds

The Hong Kong Cup was first run in 1988 as the 'Hong Kong Invitation Cup' over 1800m and was initially only open to gallopers from Malaysia, Hong Kong and Singapore. In 1989, Australia and New Zealand horses were invited to enter, while European horses were allowed entry from 1990. Horses from the US, Canada and Japan participated from 1991 onwards and the race also included horses trained in the United Arab Emirates and South Africa.

The race was afforded Group One status in 1999, along with a distance increase to 2000m, and the race became the Hong Kong Cup.

With UK$20,000,000 (AU$2.58M) in prize money, the Hong Kong Cup is the final leg of the World Series Racing Championship which comprises of 12 races run between March and December in nine countries over four continents. The Australian leg of the series is the Gr1 WS Cox Plate held at Moonee Valley in October.

Maurice (2016) took out the Gr1 Tenno Sho over 2000m at Tokyo in Japan before scoring a brilliant victory in this event and recent Hong Kong Cup winners include A Shin Hikari (2015) and Designs On Rome (2014).

Other Group 1 feature races on the day include the Hong Kong Sprint (1200m), Hong Kong Mile (1600m) and Hong Kong Vase (2400m).

2018 Hong Kong Cup result

1. $7.80 Glorious Forever 57.0 S de Sousa
2. $2.80 Deirdre 55.5 C Lemaire
3. $5.10 Time Warp 57.0 Z Purton

then followed
4. $2.90 Sungrazer 57.0 J Moreira
5. $18.00 Northern Superstar 57.0 K Teetan
6. $22.00 Gold Mount 57.0 O Murphy
7. $19.00 Seasons Bloom 57.0 R Moore
8. $59.00 Stormy Antarctic 57.0 J Doyle
9. $31.00 Staphanos 57.0 W Buick

Margins: 1 len, 0.25 len
Time: 2:01.71

Get the best Hong Kong Cup odds at Unibet!

bet now at unibet

Join Unibet to bet on the Hong Kong Cup

Hong Kong International Race Day

Hong Kong International Race day is the major race day of Hong Kong horse racing and has grown into one of the biggest days of racing in Asia and around the world. International Race Day takes place annually in December and offers total prize money in excess of HK$64,000,000, which is approximately $8.2M Australian.

International Race Day feature Group 1 races:

  • Hong Kong Cup - 2000m
  • Hong Kong Sprint - 1200m
  • Hong Kong Mile - 1600m
  • Hong Kong Vase - 2400m

Australian and New Zealand gallopers were successful in the early runnings of the Hong Kong Cup with Grey Invader (1989), Kessem (1990), Romanee Conti (1992) and State Taj (1994) all winning.

Australian horses have had little success winning the Hong Kong Cup in recent times, mainly due to the prize money increase over the years and the quality status of the race attracting the best gallopers from around the world to contest this event.

Australian gallopers have placed in two of the past three Hong Kong Cups, with Criterion running third in the 2014 Hong Kong Cup and Alcopop finishing third in the 2012 Hong Kong Cup.

Bet now on the Hong Kong Cup

We recommended Unibet for the best Hong Kong Cup odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Hong Kong Cup recent winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2018 Glorious Forever Silvestre de Sousa Frankie Lor 2:01.7
2017 Time Warp Zac Purton Tony Cruz 2.01.6
2016 Maurice Ryan Moore Noriyuki Hori 2.00.9
2015 A Shin Hikari Nuovo Record Blazing Speed 2.00.6
2014 Designs On Rome Joao Moreira John Moore 2:01.9
2013 Akeed Mofeed Douglas Whyte Richard Gibson 2.01.9
2012 California Memory Matthew Chadwick Tony Cruz 2:03.0
2011 California Memory Matthew Chadwick Anthony Cruz 2:04.5
2010 Snow Fairy Ryan Moore Ed Dunlop 2.02.9
2009 Vision d'Etat O Peslier E Libaud 2.01.8
2008 Eagle Mountain Kevin Shea Mike de Kock 2:00.9
2007 Ramonti Frankie Dettori Saeed bin Suroor 2:02.8
2006 Pride Christophe Lemaire Alain de Royer-Dupre 2:01.6
2005 Vengeance of Rain Anthony Delpech David E. Ferraris 2:04.5
2004 Alexander Goldrun Kevin Manning Jim Bolger 2:03.3
2003 Falbrav Frankie Dettori Luca Cumani 2:00.9
2002 Precision Michael Kinane David Oughton 2:07.1
2001 Agnes Digital Hirofumi Shii Toshiaki Shirai 2:02.8
2000 Fantastic Light Frankie Dettori Saeed bin Suroor 2:02.2
1999 Jim and Tonic Gerald Mosse Francois Doumen 2:01.4
1998 Midnight Bet Hiroshi Kawachi Hiroyuki Nagahama 1:46.9
1997 Val's Prince Cash Asmussen James E. Picou 1:47.2
1996 First Island Michael Hills Geoff Wragg 1:48.2
1995 Fujiyama Kenzan Masayoshi Ebina Hideyuki Mori 1:47.0
1994 State Taj Damien Oliver James L. Riley 1:48.4
1993 Motivation John Marshall John Moore 1:49.2
1992 Romanee Conti * Greg Childs Laurie Laxon 1:48.2
1991 River Verdon Gerald Mosse David Hill 1:49.8
1990 Kessem Kevin Moses Brian Smith 1:48.4
1989 Colonial Chief Tony Cruz Ivan W. Allan 1:49.3
1988 Flying Dancer Bartie Leisher Brian Kan Ping-chee 1:48.6

* The 1992 Hong Kong Cup was postponed in December of that year due to an equine virus outbreak and the race was held in April of 1993.

Watch 2020 Hong Kong Cup Replay