horse racing info

SA Chairman's Stakes

The SA Chairman's Stakes is a Group 3 race for three-year-olds held each year in April at Morphettville racecourse in Adelaide, South Australia. The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres under set weight conditions with $120,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 SA Chairman's Stakes was taken out by by Leicester from High 'n' Dry with Amerock third.

Previously a listed race, the SA Chairman's Stakes was upgraded to a Group 3 event for the 2010/2011 racing season and takes place during the Adelaide autumn racing carnival.

SA Chairman's Stakes info

Date: Saturday 27th April 2019
Track: Morphettville racecourse, Adelaide
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: 3yo Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $120,000
2018 Winner: Leicester

The SA Chairman's Stakes is a 2000m event for three-year-olds that provides the ideal lead-up race for the Gr1 SA Derby which takes place the following week at the same track. Some more than handy gallopers have won this race over the years including Rebel Raider (2009), Zagreb (2008) and Mummify (2003).

Three-year-old colts & geldings who may have previously contested the listed Adelaide Guineas or Port Adelaide Guineas, both over 1600m, will most likely consider going on to this race, while interested fillies who may have run in the Gr3 Auraria Stakes might also tackle this event if up to the challenge.

The upcoming Gr1 SA Derby in May is the feature staying classic event for three-year-olds during the Adelaide autumn carnival and those 3yo gallopers who perform well in this event will generally go on and contest the Derby. Leicester (2018) is the last three-year-old to capture the SA Chairman's Stakes and SA Derby double.

Injury prone galloper Rebel Raider (2009) was the last three-year-old to take out the Chairman's Stakes & SA Derby double while Kidnapped (3rd in 2010) won the SA Derby after finishing third in this race. Red Colossus (2010) went on to run second in the SA Derby after scoring in this event.

Leicester (2018) ran fourth in the Listed Port Adelaide Guineas over 1800m at Morphettville before tasting success in this event and recent SA Chairman's Stakes winners include Waging War (2017) and Howard Be Thy Name (2016).

2018 SA Chairman's Stakes result

1. $2.20 Leicester 57.5 Damian Lane
2. $5.50 High 'n' Dry 57.5 Andrew Mallyon
3. $31.00 Amerock 57.5 Harry Coffey

then followed
4. $17.00 Box On Collins 57.5 Jamie Kah
5. $61.00 Savaheat 57.5 Paul Gatt
6. $201.00 Turf Man 57.5 Jake Toeroek
7. $6.00 Greycliffe 57.5 Dwayne Dunn
8. $5.50 Civil Disobedience 57.5 John Allen
9. $21.00 Eshtiraak 57.5 Joe Bowditch
10. $151.00 Littlebitfunny 57.5 Clare Lindop
11. $201.00 Meadows Lassie 55.5 Todd Pannell

Margins: 0.7 len, 1.9 len
Time: 2:06.71

Bet now on the SA Chairmans Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best SA Chairmans Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker includint state exclusions. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.

SA Chairmans Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Leicester High 'n' Dry Amerock 2:06.7
2017 Waging War Grand Chancellor Morvada 2:07.9
2016 Howard Be Thy Name Royal Rumble Manhattan Boss 2:05.4
2015 October Date Maysoor Chu Chu Charlie 2:07.8
2014 Gamblin' Guru Excites Zelady Gravitational 2:03.6
2013 Hioctdane Pharomac Pins Of Pele 2:06.6
2012 Heaven's Riches Alcohol Cornell 2:07.2
2011 Kittens Backgammon Echoes Of Heaven 2:09.9
2010 Red Colossus Token Of Honour Kidnapped 2.08.7
2009 Rebel Raider Reprisal Honourable Kind 2.02:8