horse racing info

RA Lee Stakes

The RA Lee Stakes is a Group 3 open race that takes place annually late April or early May at Morphettville racecourse in Adelaide, South Australia. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres under set weight & penalty conditions and worth $250,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 RA Lee Stakes was won by Land Of Plenty from Over Exposure with Lite'n In My Veins third.

Held on Goodwood Day, which is the premier race day of the Adelaide autumn racing carnival, the RA Lee Stakes is held alongside the Group 1 Goodwood, Group 3 SA Oaks & Group 3 National Stakes.

RA Lee Stakes info

Date: Saturday 19th May 2018
Track: Morphettville racecourse, Adelaide
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Open - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $250,000
2018 Winner: Land Of Plenty

The RA Lee Stakes is an open race over 1600m and the set weights & penalty conditions suits the better performed gallopers in the race. It is a race predominantly tackled by local horses and generally assembles an average type field where more often than not the winner will go on to be simply a handy galloper, rather than anything special.

The long Morhpettville straight suits strong milers and the RA Lee Stakes will quite often attract any in-form Melbourne gallopers willing to make the trip over to Adelaide to take on the locals in this event.

After winning this race Linton (2013) travelled to Brisbane to win the Gr1 Stradbroke Handicap over 1400m at Eagle Farm during the Brisbane winter racing carnival in Queensland.

Land Of Plenty (2018) won a Handicap race over 1400m at Flemington in Melbourne before heading to Adelaide to score a narrow victory in this event and recent RA Lee Stakes winners include Burning Front (2017) and Tonopah (2016).

2018 RA Lee Stakes result

1. $2.70 Land Of Plenty 55.0 Damian Lane
2. $6.50 Over Exposure 53.0 Chris Parnham
3. $5.00 Lite'n In My Veins 56.5 Jamie Kah

then followed
4. $41.00 Raw Impulse 55.5 Ben Allen
5. $12.00 Rhythm To Spare 55.0 Damien Oliver
6. $12.00 Seaburge 55.0 Cory Parish
7. $41.00 Balf's Choice 56.0 Joe Bowditch
8. $12.00 Fastnet Tempest 55.5 Regan Bayliss
9. $31.00 Calderon 56.5 Luke Currie
10. $151.00 Kirona 53.0 Damien Thornton
11. $26.00 Hussybay 55.0 James Winks
12. $26.00 Arkham Knight 55.0 Paul Gatt
13. $51.00 Morvada 55.0 Todd Pannell
14. $151.00 Excites Zelady 55.5 Jake Toeroek
15. $51.00 Royal Rumble 55.0 Clare Lindop

Margins: 0.1 len, 1.2 len
Time: 1:38.18

Bet now on the RA Lee Stakes

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best RA Lee Stakes odds.

RA Lee Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Land Of Plenty Over Exposure Lite'n In My Veins 1:38.1
2017 Burning Front Hooked Rhythm To Spare 1:36.0
2016 Tonopah Prince Of Penzance Rocket Commander 1:39.9
2015 The Bowler Excites Zelady Metaphorical 1:35.9
2014 Rhythm To Spare Starkiato Gig 1:39:0
2013 Linton Lucky Penny General Peekay 1:37.3
2012 Linton Hawks Bay Verco Road 1:38.4
2011 Budriguez Majestic Music Red Colossus 1:36.4
2010 Majestic Music Life To The Full Tagus 1:35.2
2009 Serious Speed Chasm Pinnacles 1:37.8
2008 Autumn Jeuney Goin To Jackson Peacemaker 1:38.2
2007 Brockmans Lass Red For Lou Lord Of The Dance 1:36.8
2006 Lifes A Bounty Smart And Mighty Tawqeet 1:38.9
2005 Sassbee Barabba Road Merlot Now 1:35.3
2004 Fly For Me Sylvaner Grundys Crossing 1:37.6
2003 Sylvaner None For The Road Circumnavigating 1:38.1
2002 Sylvaner Oliver Beer Market Price 1:39.1
2001 Typhoon Barney Gold Crystal Roralism 1:38.3
2000 More Action Burning Clay Our Guided Missile 1:41.8
1999 More Action Will Fly Celestial Body/Lithi 1:38.3
1998 Bens Rocket Kipling Shearer Claude 1:38.2
1997 Bacys Brother Penghulu Akebono 1:39.0
1996 Jadeva Belle Yelgun Dawn Akebono 1:35.5
1995 Ruling Knight Sockerano Hillview Lady 1:40.5
1994 Master Tambo Oh Brother From The Park 1:37.3
1993 Leggings Picnicker Black Ransom 1:36.4
1992 Pay The Kings Our Dawn Star Windward Bay 1:41.3
1991 Pacific Braashee Run Straight Run 1:36.9
1990 Neja Nouvelle Silver Dupion 1:36.8
1989 Blast The Glass Magic Konstev Triple Tristram 1:39.1
1988 Blast The Glass Water Boatman Classic Coup 1:40.8