horse racing info

Sweet Embrace Stakes

The Sweet Embrace Stakes is a Group 2 race for two-year-old fillies that takes place each year in late February or early March at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales during the Sydney autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres under set weight conditions and worth $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2019 Sweet Embrace Stakes was won by Anaheed from Still Single with Let It Pour third.

The winner of the Sweet Embrace Stakes is exempt from ballot for the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes and the race was upgraded to Group 2 status for the 2013/2014 racing season.

Sweet Embrace Stakes info

Date: Saturday 29th February 2020
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 2yo Fillies - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2019 Winner: Anaheed

The Sweet Embrace Stakes is for 2yo fillies only and allows young female gallopers the chance to step up to 1200m for the first time in a group race during autumn. Quite often the extra 100 metres of this race from previous 2yo open races like the Gr2 Silver Slipper Stakes and Gr3 Kindergarten Stakes over 1100m will find some fillies out, while others will be coming home strongly looking for more ground.

This race is the female equivalent of the Gr2 Skyline Stakes for colts & geldings which is held on the same day, Gr1 Chipping Norton Stakes day, and will sort out those gallopers who are strong at 1200m and may have a realistic chance in the upcoming Gr1 Golden Slipper Stakes at Rosehill in April.

The ill-fated Crystal Lily (2010) was the last filly to win this race and then go on to win the Golden Slipper, while Headway (2009) finished second in the Slipper after scoring here.

Two-year-olds tackling this race have the option of heading to Rosehill for the Gr2 Reisling Stakes or the Gr2 Magic Night Stakes and both races are for 2yo fillies over the same course & distance as the $3.5M Golden Slipper Stakes, providing the ideal final tune up for Australia's richest two-year-old race. Speak Fondly (2nd in 2015) won the Magic Night Stakes at her next start and Italy (5th in 2015) ran third in the same race.

Seabrook (2018) ran third in the Gr2 Blue Diamond Prelude Fillies over 1100m at Caulfield in melbourne before heading to Sydney to win this event and recent Sweet Embrace Stakes winners include One More Honey (2017) and Scarlet Rain (2016).

2019 Sweet Embrace Stakes result

1. $5.00 Anaheed 55.5 Tim Clark
2. $5.00 Still Single 55.5 Hugh Bowman
3. $16.00 Let It Pour 55.5 Joshua Parr

then followed
4. $5.00 Kiamichi 55.5 James McDonald
5. $26.00 Icebath 55.5 Corey Brown
6. $6.50 Amercement 55.5 Brenton Avdulla
7. $18.00 Giselle Anne 55.5 Glyn Schofield
8. $17.00 Enood 55.5 Kerrin McEvoy
9. $7.00 Super Oasis 55.5 Blake Shinn
10. $26.00 Emeralds 55.5 Jay Ford
11. $41.00 Perfect Impression 55.5 Jason Collett
12. $101.00 Dance Too Hard 55.5 Tommy Berry

Margins: 0.8 len, 1.3 len
Time: 1:09.72

Bet now on the Sweet Embrace Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Sweet Embrace Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Sweet Embrace Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Anaheed Still Single Let It Pour 1:09.7
2018 Seabrook Fiesta Into The Abyss 1:10.9
2017 One More Honey Arctic Angel Teaspoon 1:12.2
2016 Scarlet Rain In The Vanguard Tale Of Choice 1:09.5
2015 Always Allison Speak Fondly Tibrogargan Miss 1:10.7
2014 Believe Yourself Twirl Tetsuko 1:11.2
2013 Romantic Moon Thump Greytfilly 1:10.0
2012 Jade Marauder Valerio Kyria 1:11.2
2011 Shared Reflections Streama Pane In The Glass 1:09.5
2010 Crystal Lily Ambers Waltz Zutara 1:09.0
2009 Headway Lovemelikearock Horizons 1:11.1
2008 Stripper Glowlamp Samantha Miss 1:11.0
2007 Chinchilla Rose Vecchia Roma Moonboat 1:10.1
2006 Universal Queen Tuesday Joy Pure Energy 1:11.4
2005 Carry On Cutie Media Flion Fenena 1:10.5
2004 Burning Sands All Knowledge Written By Xaar 1:11.9
2003 Legally Bay How Funny Bella Corona 1:10.0
2002 Victory Vein Chuckle Calaway Gal 1:09.9
2001 Ha Ha Moonflute Palais 1:11.0
2000 Dynamic Love Tyrolean Ateates 1:11.7
1999 Countess Christie Forest Express Miss Zoe 1:10.5
1998 Rubicall Confer Street Star 1:10.2
1997 All The Chat Adeewin Snapshots 1:09.5
1996 Flapper Stoneyfell Road Dane Ripper 1:11.9
1995 Millrich Show Of Force Ginzano 1:10.4
1994 Shadowy Outline Discreet Lady Warning Siren 1:10.9
1993 Rock Review Bint Marscay Blue Fields 1:11.4
1992 Skating Slight Chance My Marilyn 1:10.0
1991 Shadea Regina Madre Electrique 1:10.7
1990 Paklani With Me Wrap Around 1:12.0
1989 A Little Kiss Dazzling Flyer Marrouge 1:11.1
1988 Scollata Sans Averti Heidi 1:11.8