horse racing info

Pago Pago Stakes

The Pago Pago Stakes is a Group 2 race for two-year-old colts & geldings held annually in late March at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres under set weight conditions and worth $175,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Pago Pago Stakes was won by Written By from Sandbar with Spin third.

The winner of the Pago Pago Stakes is exempt from ballot for the Golden Slipper Stakes and the race takes place on the same day as the Group 1 Coolmore Classic.

Pago Pago Stakes info

Date: Saturday 16th March 2019
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 2yo C&G - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $175,000
2018 Winner: Written By

The Pago Pago Stakes is run one week before the Gr1 Golden Slipper Stakes and gives two-year-old colts & geldings their last chance to qualify for the Slipper, as the winner of this race is exempt from any ballot. The Gr2 Skyline Stakes is the typical lead-up race to this event and Shogun Lodge (1999) was the last galloper to win both races.

The talented Stratum (2005) was the last 2yo to claim the Pago Pago Stakes & Golden Slipper double and any two-year-old colts & geldings planning to run in the Slipper may use this race as their final tune up run.

The Gr2 Magic Night Stakes for fillies is the female equivalent of this race and takes place on the same program. Both races are held on Gr1 Rosehill Guineas Day at Rosehill.

Single Bullet (2017) finished third in the Gr2 Skyline Stakes over 1200m at Randwick prior to winning this event in narrow fashion and recent Pago Pago Stakes winners include Souchez (2016) and Tarquin (2015).

2018 Pago Pago Stakes result

1. $1.70 Written By 55.5 Jordan Childs
2. $19.00 Sandbar 55.5 Christian Reith
3. $5.50 Spin 55.5 Kerrin McEvoy

then followed
4. $12.00 Chabreet 55.5 Joshua Parr
5. $51.00 Irukandji 55.5 Brenton Avdulla
6. $18.00 Zousain 55.5 Glyn Schofield
7. $101.00 Vega One 55.5 Michael Dee
8. $21.00 Ringerdingding 55.5 Jason Collett
9. $61.00 Ragged Rascal 55.5 Stephen Baster
10. $26.00 Legislation 55.5 Corey Brown
11. $26.00 Virtual Insanity 55.5 Blake Shinn
12. $31.00 Toulouse 55.5 Tim Clark
13. $301.00 Mandalong Tapit 55.5 Jay Ford

Margins: 0.2 len, 3.8 len
Time: 1:10.22

Bet now on the Pago Pago Stakes

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Pago Pago Stakes odds.

Pago Pago Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Written By Sandbar Spin 1:10.2
2017 Single Bullet Ducimus Coruscate 1:12.4
2016 Souchez Chimboraa Mount Panorama 1:10.4
2015 Tarquin Rageese Odyssey Moon 1:11.5
2014 Time For War Kumaon Klammer 1:12.7
2013 Sidestep Dothraki Fuerza 1:10.4
2012 All Too Hard Narcissus Limes 1:11.2
2011 Salade Boys On Tour Exceed And Exalt 1:11.5
2010 Brightexpectations Blackball Hinchinbrook 1:10.8
2009 Tickets New Day Rising Stryker 1:11.2
2008 Sidereus Over The Wicket Dubai To Sydney 1:11.9
2007 Deferential Cecconi Acey Ducey 1:10.5
2006 Tarleton Empires Choice Rubric 1:10.6
2005 Stratum Power Of Destiny Seidnazar 1:09.2
2004 Genius And Evil Fastnet Rock High Priority 1:10.1
2003 Danbird Hipwell Winestock 1:10.2
2002 Planchet Choisir Strictly Smart 1:09.9
2001 Red Hannigan Dash For Cash Shags 1:09.9
2000 De France Ombra Della Sera Veteran 1:11.5
1999 Shogun Lodge High Rolling Cullen 1:10.3
1998 Paris Dream Brilliance Arena 1:10.2
1997 Encounter Dance Beat Irish Air 1:09.8
1996 Babu's Boy Magic Of Sydney Intergaze 1:09.5
1995 Strategic Zedrich Daney Boy 1:09.7
1994 Lord Jim Code Call Me Pal 1:11.3
1993 Jetball Sports Works Allez Glen 1:10.0
1992 Yachtie King Marauding Moville Dancer 1:11.5
1991 Big Dreams Umatilla Delphinus 1:09.9
1990 Pagan Jest Our Horizon Thegra 1:15.0
1989 Straussbrook Snowplough So Fast 1:12.7
1988 Zeditave Star Watch Astrologist 1:11.8