, Launceston Cup - Launceston Racecourse - Tasmania Summer Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Launceston Cup

The Launceston Cup is a Group 3 open handicap race that is held each year on a Wednesday afternoon in February at Launceston racecourse in Launceston, Tasmania. The race is run over a distance of 2400 metres and run under set weight & penalty conditions with prize money of $200,000. The 2020 Launceston Cup was won by Home By Midnight from Taikomochi with Dogmatic third.

This race is one of only four group races held in Tasmania each year. The other three are the Group 3 Hobart Cup, Group 3 Bow Mistress Trophy and Group 3 Vamos Stakes. The Launceston Cup is held during the Tasmanian summer racing carnival in Launceston where locals gather for a huge day of racing.

Launceston Cup info

Date: Wednesday 24th February 2021
Track: Launceston racecourse, Launceston
Distance: 2400 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $200,000
2020 Winner: Home By Midnight

The Launceston Cup is a major attraction to the city of Launceston, much like the Hobart Cup is to the city of Hobart, and the race itself assembles a field of predominantly local horses along with any mainland horses willing to make the trek to Tasmania to tackle the event.

Most of the time the Launceston Cup is simply a race for handy Tasmanian staying types and the Hobart Cup is the logical lead up race to this event. Up Cups (2016) was the last horse to win the Hobart Cup & Launceston Cup double, while it was Epingle (2014) before him.

In recent times Eastender (2019), Up Cups (2016) and Epingle (2014) have claimed the Hobart Cup & Launceston Cup double, while Geegees Blackflash (2013) & Ista Kareem (2008) ran 3rd in the Hobart Cup before going on to win this event. Growl (3rd in 2010) won the Hobart Cup by a big margin before running third in this race at his next start.

Interestingly enough, Big Duke (2017) travelled to Sydney at his next start to win the Group 3 NE Manion Cup at Rosehill after winning this race. Norsqui (4th in 2013) went on to win the Group 3 Adelaide Cup over 3200m at Morphettville after running fourth in the Launceston Cup.

Home By Midnight (2020) ran sixth in the Hobart Cup before scoring a stylish victory in this event for trainer Patrock Payne.

Recent Launceston Cup winners include Eastender (2019) and Bondeiger (2018).

2020 Launceston Cup result

1. $11.00 Home By Midnight 59.0 Billy Egan
2. $5.50 Taikomochi 58.5 Adam Hyeronimus
3. $9.50 Dogmatic 54.0 Dean Holland

then followed
4. $9.00 Glass Warrior 54.0 Ms Sigrid Carr
5. $21.00 Vamos Raffa 52.0 Ms Georgie Catania
6. $3.50 Toorak Affair 57.0 Anthony Darmanin
7. $6.50 Shady Hustle 54.0 Bulent Muhcu
8. $21.00 Morton's Fork 57.5 Daniel Ganderton
9. $31.00 White Hawk 54.0 Blaike McDougall
10. $26.00 Settler's Stone 54.0 David Pires
11. $151.00 Gee Gee Fiorente 54.5 Ismail Toker
12. $14.00 Exoteric 55.5 Craig Newitt
13. $41.00 Appmat 54.0 Ms Jessica Eaton
14. $201.00 Pinkeyes Pride 54.0 Troy Baker

Margins: 2.25 len, 2.5 len
Time: 2:33.13

Bet now on the Launceston Cup

We recommended Unibet for the best Launceston Cup odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Launceston Cup winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Home By Midnight Taikomochi Dogmatic 2:33.1
2019 Eastender Fabrizio Lamborghini 2:31.5
2018 Bondeiger Fastnet Dragon Pretty Punk 2:29.5
2017 Big Duke Count Da Vinci Tuff Bickie 2:31.3
2016 Up Cups Arianne Schockemohle 2:34.9
2015 Genuine Lad Banca Mo Geegees Blackflash 2:29.6
2014 Epingle Gold To Go Geegees Blackflash 2:31.3
2013 Geegees Backflash Lucky Angel Dream Pedlar 2:34.1
2012 Prevailing Geegees Blackflash Fieldmaster 2:34.0
2011 Fast Future White Yard Geegees Blackflash 2:30.3
2010 Larry's Never Late Dream Pedlar Growl 1:24.3
2009 Zavite Centurytwentyone Itsa Kareem 2:31.2
2008 Ista Kareem Lady Atire Our Dashing Dane 2:31.2
2007 Hofmeister Field Hunter Emerald Jack 2:28.8
2006 Precise Timing Aquiline Mr Buttkicka 2:30.0
2005 Dakasha Bondy Under The Bridge 2:32.2
2004 Zacielo Saturday Fever Dream Quest 2:32.7
2003 St Andrews Arena Valadora Saturday Fever 2:29.2
2002 St Andrews Bondi Iceberg Imax 2:31.0
2001 Full Of Rhythm St Andrews Naucho 2:45.5
2000 St Andrews Mt Arthur Naucho 2:48.5
1999 Streak Starsphere Bluetinsk 2:47.2
1998 King's Landing Prince Baracus Napier Street 2:42.4
1997 Ticking Away Vaudeville Piper L'Espion 2:43.2
1996 Free Beer Ticking Away Faveaux 2:48.8
1995 Free Beer Beloako Danby Road 2:44.5
1994 Rich Dreams Eager Prince Strike High 2:41.5
1993 Diamond Bases Varo's Last Clan's Comet 2:46.5
1992 Star Cheers Pelagic Russian Rogue 2:42.0
1991 Bitter Spring Tiendi Sistino 2:44.4
1990 Down The Pitch Lady Have A Heart Daarro King 2:42.7
1989 Shykoski Brave Trespasser Clerical 2:43.8
1988 Superior Way Ivor Capri Dollar Investment 2:42.1