horse racing info

Adelaide Cup

The Adelaide Cup is a Group 2 open handicap race held annually on a Monday afternoon in March at Morphettville racecourse in Adelaide, South Australia during the Adelaide autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 3200 metres with prizemoney of $400,000. The 2018 Adelaide Cup was won by Fanatic from Ormito with Poppiholla third.

Held on the Labour Day holiday in South Australia, the Adelaide Cup is run over the same 3200m (2 miles) distance as Australia's most famous race, the Melbourne Cup.

Adelaide Cup info

Date: Monday 11th March 2019
Track: Morphettville racecourse, Adelaide
Distance: 3200 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $400,000
2018 Winner: Fanatic

The Adelaide Cup is the premier distance race of the autumn racing carnival in Adelaide and is typically not a high quality affair. It generally attracts the best available local stayers and any interstate horses suited by the handicap conditions. It has not been a great guide to the Melbourne Cup and the last horse to win the Adelaide Cup & Melbourne Cup double was Subzero in 1992.

In recent years the Gr3 Lord Reims Stakes has proven to be the the best guide to horses contesting the Adelaide Cup and those gallopers who place or finish on the heels of the placegetters tend to run well in the Adelaide Cup. Both Capecover (2010) and Lacey Underall (2008) ran solid races in the Lord Reims Stakes on their way to success in this race.

Fanatic (2018) ran second in the Listed Roy Higgins Quality over 2600m at Flemington in Melbourne before heading to Adelaide to score an excting victory in this evnt and recent Adelaide Cup winners include Annus Mirabilis (2017) and Purple Smile (2016).

2018 Adelaide Cup result

1. $4.40 Fanatic 57.5 Michael Walker
2. $5.50 Ormito 53.0 Craig Williams
3. $21.00 Poppiholla 53.0 Dean Yendall

then followed
4. $11.00 Double Bluff 58.5 Mark Zahra
5. $10.00 O’Lonera 54.0 Dwayne Dunn
6. $9.50 Exalted Lightning 54.5 Todd Pannell
7. $51.00 Cuban Fighter 53.0 Ben Thompson
8. $51.00 Jim’S Journey 56.0 Paul Gatt
9. $21.00 Benzini 59.0 Ms Rosie Myers
10. $26.00 Like A Carousel 54.0 Stephen Baster
11. $17.00 Al Haram 53.0 Michael Dee
12. $12.00 Raindrops On Roses 53.0 Jamie Kah
13. $31.00 Tunes 53.0 Clare Lindop
14. $10.00 Pretty Punk 57.0 Jason Holder
15. $101 Flying Casino 53.0 Dom Tourneur

Margins: 0.3 len, 1.8 len
Time: 3:25.28

Bet now on the Adelaide Cup

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Adelaide Cup odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker includint state exclusions. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.

Adelaide Cup winners & placegetters

Below are recent winners and placegetters for the Adelaide Cup.

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Fanatic Ormito Poppiholla 3:25.2
2017 Annus Mirabilis Double Bluff Master Of Arts 3:24.2
2016 Purple Smile Tunes Real Love 3:24.1
2015 Tanby Taiyoo Renew 3:25.5
2014 Outback Joe Black Tycoon Base 3:22.0
2013 Norsqui Waratone Dame Claire 3:24.4
2012 Rialya Drunken Sailor Norsqui 3:23.3
2011 Muir Saddler's Story Macedonian 3:23.4
2010 Capecover Kerdem Itstheone 3:28.8
2009 Zavite Kerdem Banana Man 3:22.7
2008 Lacey Underall Cefalu Tails Of Triomphe 3:22.0
2007 Gallic Lacey Underall Exalted Time 3:20.9
2006 Exalted Time Tubular Bells Ista Kareem 3:25.1
2005 Demerger Envoy Intriguing 3:21.9
2004 Pantani Danestorm Bel Air 3:27.5
2003 Pilage N Plunder Nautilism Odysseus 3:28.4
2002 The A Train Homewrecker Silver Baron 3:29.3
2001 Apache King Native Jazz Bel Air 3:29.7
2000 Bohemiath Karasi Oxford Dollar 3:24.6
1999 Sheer Kingston Skybeau Kingston Way 3:23.8
1998 The Hind Bohemiath Kristalero 3:22.4
1997 Cronus Lord Ted Rover 3:29.4
1996 French Resort Skybeau Gaekwar 3:22.6
1995 Scrupulous Ice Doctor Storm 3:23.8
1994 Our Pompeii Sweet Glory Top Rating 3:21.1
1993 Our Pompeii Check That Style Headcutter 3:22.6
1992 Subzero Big Barron Mystery Adventure 3:22.3
1991 Ideal Centreman Shivas Revenge Te Akau Pearl 3:22.0
1990 Water Boatman Double Gin Ideal Centreman 3:22.3
1989 Lord Reims True Finish The Brotherhood 3:27.0
1988 Lord Reims Foxseal Saratov 3:28.5