horse racing info

Bow Mistress Trophy

The Bow Mistress Trophy is a Group 3 race for fillies & mares only that that takes place each February at Hobart racecourse in Hobart, Tasmania during the Tasmanian summer racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2019 Bow Mistress Trophy was won by Life On The Wire from =2 Twitchy Frank with =2 Speedonova third.

The Bow Mistress Trophy was upgraded to Group 3 status for the 2011/2012 racing season and takes place alongside the listed Tasmanian Derby, three days before the Hobart Cup.

Bow Mistress Trophy info

Date: Saturday 8th February 2020
Track: Hobart racecourse, Hobart
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Fillies & Mares - Weight-for-age
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2019 Winner: Life On The Wire

The Bow Mistress Trophy is one of only four Group 3 races held in Tasmania each year, along with the Hobart Cup, Vamos Stakes & Launceston Cup, and is the most prestigious event for fillies & mares on the Tasmanian racing calendar.

Over the past few years the Bow Mistress Trophy has attracted better quality fields which has seen the race rewarded with Group 3 status. In recent times a number of talented sprinting fillies & mares have made the trek to Tasmania to take on the locals for the increased prizemoney on offer.

More often than not the better quality mares in this race will head on to the Vamos Stakes at Launceston and Lady Lynette (2011) was the last mare to take out the Bow Mistress Trophy & Vamos Stakes double. I Love It (2015) managed to capture the Vamos Stakes the following year after winning this race.

Life On The Wire (2019) resumed from a spell to take out this event in good style for the Scott Brunton stable and recent Bow Mistress Trophy winners include Gogo Grace (2018) and Ocean Embers (2017).

2019 Bow Mistress Trophy result

1. $3.50 Life On The Wire 56.5 Jason Maskiell
=2. $6.00 Twitchy Frank 56.5 Dean Yendall
=2. $15.00 Speedonova 56.5 Craig Newitt

then followed
4. $21.00 Gee Gee Lanett 56.5 Ryan Bishop
5. $101.00 Tycoon’S Daughter 56.5 Ismail Toker
6. $17.00 Gee Gee Double Dee 56.5 Troy Baker
7. $41.00 Scrutineer 56.5 Bulent Muhcu
8. $41.00 Step The Pedal 56.5 Anthony Darmanin
9. $3.30 Miss Norway 56.5 Luke Currie
10. $10.00 Miss Iano 56.5 Brian Park
11. $151.00 Merciabelle 56.5 Ms Sigrid Carr
12. $8.50 My Biddy 56.5 Brendon McCoull

Margins: 1.25 len, Dead-heat
Time: 1:13.27

Bet now on the Bow Mistress Trophy

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Bow Mistress Trophy odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Bow Mistress Trophy winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Life On The Wire =2 Twitchy Frank =2 Speedonova 1:13.2
2018 Gogo Grace Tizso Wicked Deja Blue 1:11.4
2017 Ocean Embers Lyuba I Love It 1:11.1
2016 Nautical I Love It Erin's Element 1:11.1
2015 I Love It Miss Middleton Lady Lakshmi 1:11.4
2014 Isibaeva Miss Stellabelle Kneeling 1:11.4
2013 Rebel Bride Tariana Rose Pattern 1:11.4
2012 Rebel Bride Lady Lynette Avionics 1:12.1
2011 Lady Lynette I'm A Hussy Happy Angel 1:11.6