May: Doomben 10,000
June: Queensland Oaks : Stradbroke Hcp : Queensland Derby

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Claim up to $150 BONUS BETS when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet and deposit just $50 or more! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

Herbert Power Stakes

Bookmaker Review Bonus
william hill William Hill
sportsbet Sportsbet
centrebet Centrebet
palmerbet Palmerbet
betfair Betfair
unibet Unibet
luxbet Luxbet
crownbet CrownBet

Free Punters Club

Bet on Racing at William Hill

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

Bet on Horse Racing at Centrebet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on Horse Racing at CrownBet

Summer Racing Special Offer

pick your own free bet

Daily Racing Special Offers

Watch Live Victorian Racing

watch live racing

Free BlackBook Service


Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

The Herbert Power Stakes is a Group 2 open handicap race held at Caulfield racecourse each year during the 2010 Melbourne spring racing carnival each October. The race is run over a distance of 2400 metres and worth $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2015 Herbert Power Stakes was won by Amralah from Excess Knowledge with Bohemian Lily third.

The race has been run as the 'Presentation Stakes' in recent years and takes place on the first day of the three-day Caulfield racing carnival alongside the Gr1 Caulfield Guineas, Gr1 Toorak Handicap and Gr1 Caulfield Stakes.

Herbert Power Stakes info
Date: Saturday 8th October 2016
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2400 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2015 Winner: Amralah

The Herbert Power Stakes is a handicap event over a distance of 2400 metres and should be the ideal lead up to the Gr1 Caulfield Cup, which takes place a week later over the same track and distance and is run under much the same conditions, however in recent times that has not been the case, except for 2007 when Master O'Reilly won this race and then went on to win the Caulfield Cup a week later.

The race tends to attract handy staying types rather than the upper echelon and is typically won by a more than handy galloper. There are however exceptions, Shocking (2nd in 2009) ran second in this race before going on to a magnificent Flemington carnival with wins in the Gr3 The Lexus Stakes on Derby day and the Melbourne Cup the following Tuesday.

Amralah (2015) finished seventh in the Gr1 Turnbull Stakes over 2000m at Flemington before proving much too good for his rivals in this event and recent Herbert Power Stakes winners have been Big Memory (2014) and Sea Moon (2013).

spring racing free bet

Spring Carnival Guide
The race does not provide an overly strong guide to who might win the Caulfield Cup as only Master O'Reilly (2007) has managed to win both races in the past twenty years. Placegetters don't fare much better either with only Grey Song (2nd in 2004) managing to run a place in consecutive years in the 2003-04 Caulfield Cup.

This race has provided two Melbourne Cup winners in recent times with the Bart Cumming's trained Rogan Josh (1999) scoring the Herbert Power Stakes & Melbourne Cup double in 1999 and Shocking (2009) winning the 2009 Melbourne Cup.

The Gr3 JRA Cup at Moonee Valley has provided two winners in recent years with Alcopop (2009) winning the JRA Cup on his way to victory in this event while Linton (2010) ran third in the JRA Cup before tasting success in this race at his next start. Linton also ran second in the Gr3 The Lexus Stakes on Derby Day at Flemington.

Excess Knowledge (2015) won the Gr3 The Lexus Stakes following his second place finish in the Herbert Power Stakes.

Exceptionally (3rd in 2012) was competitive in later spring staying races finishing third in the The Lexus Stakes at Flemington, second in the Gr2 Sandown Classic at Sandown and third in the listed Ballarat Cup at Ballarat.

2015 Herbert Power Stakes result
1. $3.60 Amralah 58.5 Hugh Bowman
2. $5.00 Excess Knowledge 57.5 Blake Shinn
3. $6.50 Bohemian Lily 53.0 Kerrin McEvoy

then followed
4. $12.00 Bondeiger 56.0 James Winks
5. $13.00 Black Tomahawk 54.0 Glen Boss
6. $12.00 Sertorius 59.0 Ryan Maloney
7. $26.00 Escado 58.0 Ben Melham
8. $10.00 Prince Of Penzance 59.0 Ms Michelle Payne
9. $26.00 At First Sight 53.0 Craig Williams
10. $51.00 Bikila 53.0 Patrick Moloney
11. $26.00 Ethiopia 54.5 Rhys McLeod
12. $151.00 Mister Impatience 53.0 Daniel Moor
13. $21.00 Albonetti 53.5 Dwayne Dunn

Margins: 3L, 1L
Time: 2:27.77

Bet now on the Herbert Power Stakes
join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join centrebet Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'CentreBest+' Bet now
Herbert Power Stakes recent winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2015 Amralah Excess Knowledge Bohemian Lily 2:27.7
2014 Big Memory Signoff Let's Make A Deal 2:26.6
2013 Sea Moon Oasis Bloom Simenon 2:29.9
2012 Shahwardi Excluded Exceptionally 2:28.8
2011 Shewan Tanby Moyenne Corniche 2:30.7
2010 Linton Cedarberg Precedence 2:29.4
2009 Alcopop Shocking Hissing Sid 2:27.2
2008 Dolphin Jo The Wolverine Cefalu 2:30.2
2007 Master O'reilly Zavite Reggie 2:30.0
2006 Growl Dracs Back Siamun 2:29.3
2005 Leica Falcon Sarrera Hugs Dancer (Fr) 2:29.5
2004 Rizon Grey Song Zazzman 2:31.7
2003 Yakama Physique Vicksburg 2:30.7
2002 The Secondmortgage Requiem Thong Classic 2:29.8
2001 Freemason The Secondmortgage Rain Gauge 2:30.7
2000 Majestic Avenue Bulkhead Bohemiath 2:31.4
1999 Rogan Josh The Hind Our Position 2:27.6
1998 Magneto Vitrinite Star Binder 2:32.7
1997 Bonsai Pipeline Bright Spot Crying Game 2:28.9
1996 The Bandette Alcove Skybeau 2:30.4
1995 Unsolved Few Are Chosen Zero Limit 2:28.7
1994 Solo Show Bullwinkle Tawlord 2:34.5
1993 Great Vintage In The Event Frontier Boy 2:28.2
1992 Aquidity Kawtuban Ali Boy 2:34.0
1991 Princess Pushy Grooming Starmatic 2:30.2
1990 Just A Dancer Frontier Boy Ali Boy 2:31.0
1989 Nayrizi Apollo Run Non Aligned 2:29.5
1988 Congressman Shantaroun Apollo Run 2:31.4

Best Australian Bookmaker for Herbert Power Stakes free bets


© 2008 - 2016 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 70 863 499 360 | Beejayville Pty Ltd | All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission.
All free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions and free bet joining offers exclude NSW, VIC, WA & SA residents.