horse racing info


The QTC Cup is a Group 2 quality handicap race that takes place in late May or early June at Eagle Farm racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland. The race is run over a distance of 1300 metres and worth $175,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 QTC Cup was won by The Monstar from Platinum Angel with Calanda third.

Held on Group 1 Queensland Oaks Day during the Brisbane winter racing carnival, the QTC Cup is one of a number of group races on the day including the Group 2 Brisbane Cup.

QTC Cup info

Date: Saturday 1st June 2019
Track: Eagle Farm racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 1300 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $175,000
2018 Winner: The Monstar

The QTC Cup is a sprint event run under quality handicap conditions that's usually made up of mainly local horses and the odd visitor from interstate. It is generally an above average field of gallopers rather than high quality, although champion sprinter Schillaci did win this race in 1992. The race suites emerging types who can sneak in with a light weight.

The Gr3 BTC Cup is a handy lead up race to this event and horses contesting this race may continue on to a race like the Gr1 Stradbroke Handicap the following week at the same track or the Gr3 WJ Healy Stakes on the final day of the carnival, also at Eagle Farm. Top mare Ortensia (2009) went on to run third in the Stradbroke after winning this race.

The Monstar (2018) ran fifth in the Listed Luskin Star Stakes over 1300m at Scone in New South Wales before heading north to Queensland to win this event and recent QTC Cup winners include Deploy (2017) and Spill The Beans (2016).

2018 QTC Cup result

1. $5.00 The Monstar 57.0 Skye Bogenhuber
2. $4.20 Platinum Angel 53.0 Jeff Lloyd
3. $7.50 Calanda 57.0 Jim Byrne

then followed
4. $10.00 Irish Constabulary 56.0 Micheal Hellyer
5. $26.00 Ringo's A Rockstar 56.0 Ron Stewart
6. $10.00 Legless Veuve 57.0 Damian Browne
7. $4.20 Handsome Thief 56.5 Dean Yendall
8. $12.00 Aide Memoire 58.5 Corey Brown
9. $26.00 In His Stride 56.5 James Orman
10. $51.00 Pepperano 54.0 Michael Cahill

Margins: 0.4 len, 0.1 len
Time: 1:12.56

Bet now on the QTC Cup

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best QTC Cup odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

QTC Cup winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 The Monstar Platinum Angel Calanda 1:12.5
2017 Deploy Dothraki Perfect Dare 1:09.1
2016 Spill The Beans Federal Stratum Star 1:17.8
2015 Ball Of Muscle That's A Good Idea Kuro 1:08.4
2014 Sacred Star Masthead Bennetta 1:17.1
2013 Galah Conservatorium Griffon 1:17.6
2012 Celtic Dancer Belltone Joint Chiefs 1:20.9
2011 Varenna Miss Phelan Ready Zingaling 1:16.1
2010 Catapulted Border Rebel Ego's Dare 1:15.1
2009 Ortensia Maxison Mr Baritone 1:19.1
2008 Chinchilla Rose Black Ink Easy Rocker 1:19.3
2007 Nova Star Rasmussen Son Of Dane 1:17.6
2006 Messiaen Consular Spuruson 1:16.5
2005 Sir Breakfast Beautiful Gem All Bar One 1:08.7
2004 Falkirk Patpong Bomber Bill 1:08.8
2003 Into The Night Bomber Bill Polygram 1:10.6
2002 Pembleton Maitland Gold Machtig Mini Panis 1:09.2
2001 Century Kid Super Impressive Federal Agent 1:08.1
2000 Gallopini Super Espion Antiquity 1:09.6
1999 Meeting Abandoned
1998 Scandinavia City Hall Al Mansour 1:08.9
1997 Celestial Choir Clang Accomplice 1:13.6
1996 Hareeba Khaptingly Suntain 1:15.0
1995 Bulldog Yeats Khaptingly Spanish Mix 1:08.9
1994 Bellzevir Space Moon Spritely Jet 1:09.5
1993 Overpitch Bucks Pride Deposition 1:09.4
1992 Schillaci Unequalled Roman Senator 1:10.6
1991 Heavenly Knight Barrosa Boy The Bullfighter 1:11.1
1990 Rechabite From The Planet Planet Ruler 1:10.9
1989 Vitalic Groucho Orianda 1:13.2

This race was held at the Sunshine Coast racecourse for the 2018 edition.