horse racing info

Victory Stakes

The Victory Stakes is a Group 2 weight-for-age race held in late April at Eagle Farm racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland. The race is the race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Sir Byrne Hart Stakes was won by Impending from Most Important with I Am Excited third.

Previously raced as the 'Sir Byrne Hart Stakes', this event takes place alongside the Group 2 Gunsynd Classic on the first day of the Brisbane winter racing carnival.

Victory Stakes info

Date: Saturday 27th April 2019
Track: Eagle Farm racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2018 Winner: Impending

The Victory Stakes is a weight-for-age sprint race that usually assembles a field of predominantly local gallopers with differing ability. Every now and then a top class galloper will tackle the race and some more than handy horses have saluted over the years, including Buffering (2011 & 2013), Summer Beau (1998), Rough Habit (1991) and Groucho (1989).

The natural progression from this race is the upcoming Gr1 BTC Cup over 1200m at Doomben and in recent times Buffering (2011), Swiss Ace (2008) and Mitanni (2007) all went on to place in the BTC Cup after winning this race.

Smart galloper Albert The Fat (3rd in 2010) scored a narrow victory in the BTC Cup at his next start following his first-up third placing in this event.

Impending (2018) resumed from a spring spell to score a classy win in this event and recent Victory Stakes winners include Music Magnate (2017) and Fell Swoop (2016).

2018 Victory Stakes result

1. $2.50 Impending 58.5 Damian Browne
2. $8.50 Most Important 58.5 Jim Byrne
3. $6.00 I Am Excited 54.5 Michael Cahill

then followed
4. $19.00 Monsieur Gustave 58.5 Tiffani Brooker
5. $61.00 Privlaka 58.5 Matthew McGillivray
6. $3.60 Supido 58.5 Jeff Lloyd
7. $21.00 Havasay 58.5 Brad Stewart
8. $13.00 Jungle Edge 58.5 Kevin Forrester

Margins: 0.4 len, 0.75 len
Time: 1:10.06

Bet now on the Sir Byrne Hart Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Sir Byrne Hart Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker includint state exclusions. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.

Sir Byrne Hart Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Impending Most Important I Am Excited 1:10.0
2017 Music Magnate Hopfgarten Miss Cover Girl 1:13.2
2016 Fell Swoop Didntcostalot Artlee 1:09.0
2015 Srikandi Ball Of Muscle Dances On Stars 1:09.6
2014 Temple Of Boom Spirit Of Boom Snitzerland 1:09.0
2013 Buffering Spirit Of Boom Albrecht 1:08.5
2012 Not held
2011 Buffering Atomic Force Azzaland 1:13.0
2010 Ghetto Blaster The Jackal Albert The Fat 1:09.6
2009 Swiss Ace Sniper's Bullet Red Element 1:09.7
2008 Swiss Ace Atapi Dance The Waves 1:09.8
2007 Mitanni Anwaar Tellem 1:09.7
2006 All Bar One Falaise Impaler 1:08.5
2005 Wager Deuxieme Dezigna 1:21.9
2004 Only Words Our Egyptian Raine Defier 1:25.8
2003 Tit For Taat Scenic Peak Mr Bureaucrat 1:21.5
2002 Mr Bureaucrat Salgado Faiza 1:23.3
2001 Make Mine Magic Play Station Camarena 1:20.8
2000 Cheiron Narwong City Fair 1:22.8
1999 Roulette Marble Halls Paris Dream 1:24.2
1998 Summer Beau Quick Flick Super Dane 1:26.9
1997 Quick Flick Jarrodane Shame 1:25.4
1996 Abandoned
1995 Pride Of Rancho Gnusept Bowral 1:22.9
1994 Lets Hurry Try And Remember Yarradorf 1:25.3
1993 Chortle Rough Habit Pharaoh 1:22.3
1992 Majestic Boy Lets Hurry Big Dreams 1:25.2
1991 Rough Habit Post Elect Stargazer 1:23.4
1990 Noble Clubs Notorius Deed Sioux Chief 1:22.6
1989 Groucho Our Poetic Prince Don't Play 1:22.2
1988 Finezza Belle Atatari Dazzling Duke 1:53.3

The race was not held in 2012 due to the state of the track following heavy rains.