horse racing info

Gunsynd Classic

The Gunsynd Classic is a Group 3 race for three-year-olds held annually each year in April at Eagle Farm racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland during the winter racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and is worth $125,000 in prize money. The 2019 Gunsynd Classic was won by Gem Song from Starkers with Belle Roc third.

Formerly known as the 'Doomben Classic', the Brisbane Racing Club changed the race name to the 'Gunsynd Classic' for the 2009/2010 racing season and it takes place alongside the Group 2 Victory Stakes.

Gunsynd Classic info

Date: Saturday 25th April 2020
Track: Eagle Farm racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $125,000
2019 Winner: Gem Song

The Gunsynd Classic is a set weights race for three-year-olds that typically attracts the better local gallopers going around. The race itself suits the better performed 3yo horses entered for the event due to the level weights playing field.

Three-year-olds contesting this event may go on to tackle the Gr3 Rough Habit Plate over 2020m at Doomben and Brambles (3rd in 2012) finished third in this race before going on to win the Rough Habit Plate at his next start.

In recent years Belmonte (2006), Bob's Boy (2003) and Marble Halls (1997) have all managed to take out the Gunsynd Classic & Rough Habit Plate double.

Gem Song (2019) ran fourth in the Listed South Pacific Stakes over 1400m at Randwick in Sydney before scoring an impressive victory in this event for trainer Kris Lees.

Recent Gunsynd Classic winners include Villermont (2018) and Dreams Aplenty (2017).

2019 Gunsynd Classic result

1. $1.60 Gem Song 57.0 Blake Shinn
2. $17.00 Starkers 57.0 Sean Cormack
3. $17.00 Belle Roc 55.0 Scott Galloway

then followed
4. $5.50 Napoleon Solo 57.0 Kerrin McEvoy
5. $71.00 Brilliant Mind 57.0 Matthew McGillivray
6. $26.00 A Man To Match 57.0 Larry Cassidy
7. $41.00 Tolemac 57.0 Rhys McLeod
8. $15.00 Trusty Lad 57.0 James Orman
9. $101.00 Staying Black 57.0 Ryan Wiggins
10. $51.00 Fruedinks 57.0 Brad Stewart
11. $91.00 Love Struck 57.0 Dale Smith
12. $16.00 Gem Dealer 55.0 Jeff Lloyd
13. $71.00 Axella 55.0 Baylee Nothdurft

Margins: 2.25 len, 0.75 len
Time: 1:36.63

Bet now on the Gunsynd Classic

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Gunsynd Classic odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Gunsynd Classic winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Gem Song Starkers Belle Roc 1:36.6
2018 Villermont Dark Dream Omineca 1:37.5
2017 Dreams Aplenty Violate Kunming 1:39.6
2016 Cylinder Beach Too Good To Refuse Havasay 1:38.5
2015 Worthy Cause Upham Chillin With Dylan 1:48.5
2014 Hopfgarten Avalanches Rudy 1:35.5
2013 Proverb Lucky Lucky Lucky Hi Son 1:36.0
2012 Trump Goldslick Brambles 1:38.9
2011 Chateau Fort Equissential Igles Star 1:39.5
2010 Sanderson Listen Son Brave The Way 1:35.1
2009 Za Magic Orca Jimmy Fortunes 1:36.3
2008 Pepperwood My Joliene Formula One Racer 1:37.5
2007 Reigning To Win Raheeb Sirmoine 1:35.7
2006 Belmonte Ice Chariot Born To Rule 1:36.0
2005 Saxon Willy Leica Western Beau 1:36.7
2004 Drunken Joker Sandy River Listen Pal 1:36.9
2003 Bobs Boy Al Megdam Chassis 1:36.4
2002 Galroof Evander Deuxieme 1:35.4
2001 Arrabeea Glenrowan Pimpala Player 1:34.2
2000 Akhenaton Play Station Lets Cruise 1:36.6
1999 Tobruk King Salieri Rusty Storm 1:38.0
1998 Enforced Gimmick Mighty McCool 1:37.7
1997 Marble Halls Banner Headline Mr Brannigan 1:37.3
1996 Kidmans Cove Ravarda Quick Flick 1:21.5
1995 Matsqui Luminia Sharscay 1:37.8
1994 What A Poet Diamond Harbour Pillar Of Salt 1:37.0
1993 Slanchyvah Bundy Lad Firbolg 1:36.6
1992 Pagos King Faustfiesta Fulmar 1:39.4
1991 Brunchtime Play On Jack Attack 1:38.2
1990 Stylish Century Rough Habit Jonaron 1:37.8
1989 Swain Sir Midas Glacier Peak 1:40.5