, San Domenico Stakes Preview - Rosehill - Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

San Domenico Stakes

The San Domenico Stakes is a Group 3 event for three-year-old gallopers raced under set weights and penalty conditions each year in August at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney. The race is run over a distance of 1100 metres and worth $160,000 in prize money. The 2020 San Domenico Stakes was won by Anders from Peltzer with Mamaragan third.

Held alongside the Group 3 Ming Dynasty Quality, also for three-year-olds, and the Group 3 Premier's Cup, the San Domenico Stakes takes place a couple of weeks before the Group 2 Run To The Rose at the same track.

San Domenico Stakes info

Date: Saturday 28th August 2021
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1100 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $160,000
2020 Winner: Anders
bet now San Domenico Stakes odds

The San Domenico Stakes is a race that often attracts three-year-old gallopers returning from a spell for a spring campaign. That can often mean a tricky affair for punters, with so many horses at unknown fitness levels and prone to major improvement off an autumn campaign. The weighted conditions of the race lends itself to the best three-year-olds, who will generally salute barring any bad luck.

Some good three-year-olds have won the San Domenico Stakes in recent times including Snitzerland (2012), Foxwedge (2011), Gold Edition (2006), Mistegic (2001), Testa Rossa (1999) and General Nediym (1997). The race tends to attract handy three-year-olds who may go on to perform well in similar type events during the Sydney spring racing carnival.

Of late, Obsequious (2010) went on to run second in the Gr3 Roman Consul Stakes at Randwick after winning this race, while Solar Charged (2nd in 2010) finished runner-up in the Gr3 Silver Shadow Stakes at Randwick before travelling to Melbourne to to win the Gr3 Thousand Guineas Prelude on Caulfield Guineas Day at Caulfield. Decision Time (3rd in 2010) won the Gr2 Stan Fox Stakes later in the carnival at Randwick.

Prior to that, Shellscrape (2009) managed to run second in the Gr3 Up And Coming Stakes at Randwick after winning this race before claiming victory in the Roman Consul Stakes at the same track. He also ran third in the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes on Victoria Derby day at Flemington.

Smart galloper Snitzerland (2012) travelled to Melbourne to win the Gr2 Danehill Stakes at Flemington in September before having a very lucrative campaign during the 2013 Sydney autumn racing carnival.

Exceedance (2019) finished third to Splintex in a 2YO Handicap race over 1100m at Rosehill before flashing hom late to win this event in outstanding fashion for the Hawkes stable.

Recent San Domenico Stakes winners include Graff (2018) and Pariah (2017).

2020 San Domenico Stakes result

1. $2.80 Anders 56.0 James McDonald
2. $2.80 Peltzer 55.0 Kerrin McEvoy
3. $6.00 Mamaragan 57.5 Glen Boss

then followed
4. $31.00 Every Rose 55.0 Ms Rachel King
5. $5.00 Doubtland 57.0 Brenton Avdulla
6. $41.00 Osamu 55.0 Tim Clark

Margins: 3.3 len, 0.8 len
Time: 1:02.67

Bet now on the San Domenico Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best San Domenico Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

San Domenico Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Anders Peltzer Mamaragan 1:02.6
2019 Exceedance Bivouac Anaheed 1:06.2
2018 Graff Neutrality Performer 1:05.2
2017 Pariah Chauffeur Jorda 1:03.2
2016 Star Turn Tango Rain Kentucky Miss 1:04.3
2015 Japonisme King's Troop Haptic 1:02.7
2014 Nostradamus Washington Heights Law 1:03.6
2013 Va Pensiero Cluster Windjammer 1:02.8
2012 Snitzerland Driefontein All Too Hard 1:04.7
2011 Foxwedge Anise Karuta Queen 1:04.3
2010 Obsequious Solar Charged Decision Time 0:59.3
2009 Shellscrape Sniplaz Kiss Me Katy 0.58.1
2008 Duporth Whitefriars Atomic Force 1:04:2
2007 Sliding Cube Mimi Lebrock Moonboat 0.58.3
2006 Gold Edition My Middi Astounded 0.59.4
2005 Media Written Tycoon Snitzel 0.57.4
2004 Charge Forward Fastnet Rock Dance Hero 0.57.2
2003 Regimental Gal Spark of Life Dorky 0.56.9
2002 Star Of Florida Chocolate Starfish Athelnoth 0.57.7
2001 Mistegic Fair Embrace Palais 0.59.1
2000 Zariz Dymamic Love Kootoomootoo 0.57.0
1999 Testa Rossa Easy Rocking Catamarca 1:00.9
1998 Race Not Run - -
1997 General Nediym Sports Adeewin 0.57.7
1996 Sovereign State Clang Apple Danish 0.57.2
1995 Our Maizcay Strategic Millrich 0.57.4
1994 Lord Jim Flaming Hot Dapper Magic 0.57.9
1993 Sashed Moss Rocket Stormy Regent 0.59.3
1992 Surtee Klokka Monsieur 0.57.7
1991 Tierce Big Dreams Cloudlet 0.57.1
1990 Acecay Varikos Committal 0.59.3
1989 Show County Patronise Charles County 0.58.0
1988 Merimbula Bay Full And By Fortlin 0.59.0
1987 Omnicorp Sky Chase Golden Unicorn 0.59.2
1986 Gallery Level Pre Catelan Western Ace 0.58.7
1985 Let's Get Physical Timothy Shankhill Lass 0.57.9
1984 Quiet Little Drink Bletchencore Princess Jocinda 0.58.3
1983 Sir Dapper Been There Yoyangamble 0.57.7
1982 Rosebrook Regal Karioi Sounds Of Morning 0.57.5
1981 Black Shoes Ideal Planet Wenona Princess 1:01.0
1980 Proud Knight John's Hero Gay Rosalind 0.57.6