horse racing info

Kevin Heffernan Stakes

The Kevin Heffernan Stakes is a Group 3 weight-for-age race held each November at Sandown racecourse in Melbourne towards the end of the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1300 metres and worth $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2016 Kevin Heffernan Stakes was won by Lucky Hussler from Illustrious Lad with Super Cash third.

Upgraded to a Group 3 race for the 2013/2014 racing season, the Kevin Heffernan Stakes is held on the same day as the Group 2 Sandown Classic, one week after the Melbourne Cup Carnival ends at Flemington.

2017 Kevin Heffernan Stakes info

Date: Saturday 18th November 2017
Track: Sandown racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1300 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2016 Winner: Lucky Hussler

The Kevin Heffernan Stakes is the final weight-for-age group race for sprinters for the Melbourne spring and usually attracts a good quality field, although most of the top class sprinters will have gone to the spelling paddock by now, or be making their way over to Perth to contest the Gr1 Winterbottom Stakes later in the month at Ascot.

The weight-for-age conditions of the race favours the better class gallopers engaged and more often than not the best credentialled horse will come to the fore. Horse Racing Info recommends you look for horses with previous WFA experience when doing the form.

Some nice types have won this race over the years including Lankan Rupee (2013), Soul (2011), Avenue (2010), Lucky Secret (2009), Bomber Bill (2005) & Sports (2000).

Lucky Hussler (2016) finished unplaced in the Gr1 Manikato Stakes over 1200m at Moonee Valley before winning this event in stylish fashion and recent Kevin Heffernan Stakes winners include Famous Seamus (2015) and Fast 'n' Rocking (2014).

horse racing free bet

2016 Kevin Heffernan Stakes result

1. $5.50 Lucky Hussler 59.0 Brad Rawiller
2. $3.20 Illustrious Lad 59.0 Anthony Darmanin
3. $8.50 Super Cash 57.0 Craig Williams

then followed
4. $19.00 Durendal 59.0 Damian Lane
5. $9.50 Faatinah 59.0 Regan Bayliss
6. $71.00 Burning Front 59.0 Dean Yendall
7. $21.00 Santa Ana Lane 59.0 Kerrin McEvoy
8. $91.00 Tried And Tired 59.0 John Allen
9. $13.00 Famous Seamus 59.0 Hugh Bowman
10. $16.00 We’Ve Got This 59.0 Damien Oliver
11. $6.50 Under The Louvre 59.0 Dwayne Dunn

Margins: 0.1 len, 4 len
Time: 1:16.43

Bet now on the Kevin Heffernan Stakes

join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now

Kevin Heffernan Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Lucky Hussler Illustrious Lad Super Cash 1:16.4
2015 Famous Seamus Generalife Gracious Prospect 1:18.4
2014 Fast 'n' Rocking Generalife Flamberge 1:17.6
2013 Lankan Rupee Hot Snitzel Famous Seamus 1:09.7
2012 Mid Summer Music Hot Snitzel Unpretentious 1:17.1
2011 Soul Masthead Doubtful Jack 1:18.9

Note: The 2013 Kevin Heffernan Stakes was held at Caulfield over 1200m due to track upgrades taking place at Sandown during the time.