horse racing info

Hyperion Stakes

The Hyperion Stakes is a Group 3 weight-for-age race held annually each June at Belmont racecourse in Perth, Western Australia. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and worth $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Hyperion Stakes was won by Material Man from Great Shot with Pounamu third.

Moved to Belmont for the 2010/2011 racing season, the Hyperion Stakes was also raised in distance from 1400 metres to 1600 metres. It's one of four group races held during the months of May, June and July during the Perth winter racing carnival in Perth.

Hyperion Stakes info

Date: Saturday 16th June 2018
Track: Belmont racecourse, Perth
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2018 Winner: Material Man

The Hyperion Stakes is a weight-for-age race that usually attracts the better local sprinters running around at the time and occasionally an interstate galloper may make the trek over to Perth to compete. The level weight conditions of the race suits the better class gallopers engaged and the Gr3 Belmont Sprint is the ideal lead-up race. Material Man (2018), Scales of Justice (2017), Fuchsia Bandana (2015) and Elite Belle (2014) have all managed to win the Belmont Sprint & Hyperion Stakes double in recent times.

The race has been taken out by some above average gallopers over the years and horses contesting this race may go on and tackle the weight-for-age Gr3 Strickland Stakes over 2000m the following month. Material Man (2018), Scales of Justice (2017) and Fuchsia Bandana (2015) have all taken out Hyperion Stakes & Strickland Stakes double in recent times, with Dedicated Miss (2004) prior to that. Kincaple (7th in 2013) captured the Strickland Stakes at his next start.

Smart galloper Luckygray (2012) took out the Gr3 Roma Cup, Belmont Sprint & Hyperion Stakes treble during a very successful 2012 Perth carnival.

Material Man (2018) took out the Belmont Sprint over 1400m at Belmont before winning this event and recent Hyperion Stakes winners include Scales of Justice (2017) and Wink And A Nod (2016).

2018 Hyperion Stakes result

1. $1.75 Material Man 59.0 Ms Lucy Warwick
2. $4.00 Great Shot 59.0 Craig Staples
3. $6.50 Pounamu 59.0 Patrick Carbery

then followed
4. $17.00 Gatting 59.0 Mitchell Pateman
5. $18.00 Falcon Crest 59.0 William Pike
6. $41.00 Pushin' Shapes 59.0 Joseph Azzopardi
7. $101.00 Heart Starter 59.0 Shaun Mc Gruddy
8. $101.00 Woodsville 59.0 Ms Jerry Noske
9. $151.00 Dark Alert 59.0 Ben Paterson

Margins: 0.3 len, 2.2 len
Time: 1:36.55

Bet now on the Hyperion Stakes

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Hyperion Stakes odds.

Hyperion Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Material Man Great Shot Pounamu 1:36.5
2017 Scales Of Justice Zarantz Miki Two Toes 1:37.5
2016 Wink And A Nod Zarantz Gris Caro 1:38.1
2015 Fuchsia Bandana Respondent Tower Of Lonhro 1:38.5
2014 Elite Belle Ranger Grand Nirvana 1:39.7
2013 Black Tycoon Kerrific Ranger 1:38.1
2012 Luckygray =2 Grand Nirvana =2 Rosie Rocket 1:38.3
2011 King Kool Kat Impressive Jeuney Grand Nirvana 1:37.8
2010 Marasco Tarzi Spitfire Ace 1:23.3
2009 Tarzi Marasco Hadabeclorka 1:22.1
2008 Marasco Scenic Shot Scenic Blast 1:22.6
2007 No Questions Arctic Park Star Laser 1:23.2
2006 Local Legend Attractions Changing Lanes 1:22.5
2005 Amber's Halo Field Commander Lakeside Rhythm 1:25.3
2004 Dedicated Miss Mapperholic Kensyl Bay 1:24.4
2003 Tribula Mogul Early Express 1:23.3
2002 Old Fashion Storm Shot Jugahtrice 1:24.1
2001 Country Blazer Bumbelina Lyrical King 1:24.9
2000 Devilish Dealer Wild Flood Sweepshot 1:23.8
1999 Star System Kim Gorgeous Springtime Gold 1:23.4
1998 Willoughby Cash In The Bank Jacks Or Better 1:21.8
1997 Bar Dreamer Jacks Or Better Sari Twig 1:22.6
1996 Island Morn Welcome Knight Quadripendante 1:23.0
1995 Jacks Or Better Sammy The Bull Sir Tinka 1:21.9
1994 Brave Kite Barrosa Boy Double Dignity 1:23.2
1993 Craft Memory Sir Tinka Callway 1:22.9
1992 Jungle Hero Barrosa Boy Yilgangie Gold 1:23.7
1991 Barrosa Boy Gale Force Tackle The Pak 1:22.5
1990 Medicine Kid Island Gossip Century God 1:21.4
1989 Tackle The Pak British Steel Amber Gold 1:23.4
1988 Fimiston The Bukhra Ace In Command 1:23.6