horse racing info

Roma Cup

The Roma Cup is a Group 3 weight-for-age race held annually in May each year at Belmont racecourse in Perth, Western Australia. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $125,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Roma Cup was won by Rock Magic from Battle Hero with Durendal third.

The Roma Cup is one of four group races held during the Perth winter racing carnival.

2018 Roma Cup info

Date: Saturday 19th May 2018
Track: Belmont racecourse, Perth
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2018 Winner: Rock Magic

The Roma Cup is a weight-for-age event sprint race that usually attracts the best available local sprinters suited to the conditions of the race and is the ideal lead up race to the upcoming Gr3 Belmont Sprint in a couple of weeks time at the same track.

Luckygray (2012), Grand Nirvana (2011), Modem (2004) and Tribula (2003) have all won the Roma Cup & Belmont Sprint double in recent years, while multiple horses have run places in both races, or placed in this race and gone on to win the Belmont Sprint and vice versa.

Grant Williams trained gelding Shining Knight (5th in 2015), smart mare Elite Belle (2nd in 2014) and Bunbury galloper Kerrific (5th in 2013) all managed to win the Belmont Sprint at their next start after contesting this race.

Rock Magic (2017) finished unplaced in the Gr1 TJ Smith Stakes over 1200m at Randwick in Sydney before heading back to Perth to win this race in impressive fashion. Recent Roma Cup winners include Battle Hero (2016) and Luckygray (2015).

2017 Roma Cup result

1. $4.60 Rock Magic 58.5 Jarrad Noske
2. $31.00 Military Reign 56.5 Matthieu Autier
3. $12.00 Durendal 58.5 Peter Knuckey

then followed
4. $9.00 Pounamu 58.5 Patrick Carbery
5. $6.50 Battle Hero 58.5 William Pike
=6. $41.00 Gigante 58.5 Jason Brown
=6. $3.80 Caipirinha 55.0 Joseph Azzopardi
8. $7.00 Great Shot 58.5 Craig Staples
9. $51.00 Ihtsahymn 58.5 Shaun Mc Gruddy
10. $41.00 Red Ora 58.5 Ms Jerry Noske
11. $12.00 Divine Calling 58.5 Daniel Staeck
12. $101.00 Respondent 58.5 Aaron Mitchell
13. $13.00 Lite'n In My Veins 58.5 Brad Parnham
14. $101.00 Balmont Girl 56.5 Troy Turner
15. $19.00 Dream Lifter 58.5 Mitchell Pateman
16. $31.00 I'm Feeling Lucky 56.5 Glenn Smith

Margins: 1 len, 0.25 len
Time: 1:12.50

Bet now on the Roma Cup

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Roma Cup recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Rock Magic Battle Hero Durendal 1:10.1
2017 Rock Magic Military Reign Durendal 1:12.5
2016 Battle Hero Magnifisio Luckygray 1:10.5
2015 Luckygray Dawn Approach Fuchsia Bandana 1:12.2
2014 Magnifisio Elite Belle Checkpoint 1:11.2
2013 Power Princess Ranger Playing God 1:10.6
2012 Luckygray Our Ol'Fella Grand Nirvana 1:11.1
2011 Grand Nirvana Power Princess King Kool Kat 1:10.3
2010 Vain Raider Idyllic Prince Grand Nirvana 1:10.6
2009 Grand Nirvana Kens Double Sheenasaidgrey 1:10.6
2008 El Presidente Arctic Park Oroya Gold 1:10.1
2007 No Questions Star Laser Scuffs 1:10.1
2006 Is Amazing Electic River Mist 1:09.9
2005 Avenida Madero River Mist Ambers Halo 1:12.9
2004 Modem Cento Golden Delicious 1:10.6
2003 Tribula Suspicion Dark 'n' Dangerous 1:10.4
2002 Kaprats Corporate Bruce Cool Business 1:10.6
2001 Secret Remedy Prince Of Pop Country Blazer 1:11.4
2000 Star System Double Blue Corporate James 1:10.4
1999 Papillion Double Blue Cranky Tikit 1:10.9
1998 Double Blue Wabasso True Lover 1:10.8
1997 Singing The Blues Wabasso Bar Dreamer 1:10.2
1996 Red Eye Special Jacks Or Better Ciderian 1:11.3
1995 Defensive Play Wabasso Bayside 1:11.2
1994 Wabasso Welcome Knight Pago Escort 1:11.5
1993 Doctor Golly Chancery Star Pago's King 1:10.7
1992 Doctor Golly Blonde Jev Karlgarin Town 1:11.2
1991 Faneso Caliway Island Gossip 1:10.6
1990 Century God Faneso Edge Of Darkness 1:09.7
1989 Straight Cash Manhattan Amber Gambler 1:11.0
1988 Miss Muffet Ableson Fimiston 1:10.5