, Hawkesbury Guineas - Hawkesbury Racecourse - Hawkesbury Gold Cup Day
horse racing info

Hawkesbury Guineas

The Hawkesbury Guineas is a Group 3 open handicap race that takes place on a standalone Saturday each year in early May at Hawkesbury racecourse in New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2020 Hawkesbury Guineas was won by Dawn Passage from St Covet's Spirit with Icebath third.

The Hawkesbury track is situated about 65km west of Sydney, between Richmond and Windsor, directly opposite the Richmond Air Force Base. The Hawkesbury Guineas is held on Cup day alongside the Group 3 Hawkesbury Gold Cup and Group 3 Hawkesbury Crown. This race was upgraded to Group 3 status for the 2013/2014 racing season.

Hawkesbury Guineas info

Date: Saturday 24th April 2021
Track: Hawkesbury racecourse, Hawkesbury
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $200,000
2020 Winner: Dawn Passage

The Hawkesbury Guineas is a handicap event for open gallopers that tends to attract more than handy types who may be looking for an easier black type race than those on offer during the recent Sydney autumn racing carnival in metropolitan Sydney.

A race like the Group 3 Hall Mark Stakes on the final day of the Randwick carnival in April is a possible lead up race to the Hawkesbury Guineas and the assmebled field will attract gallopers with varying degrees of ability.

It's worth nothing that the Hawkesbury Gunieas has produced multiple Group 1 winners over the past couple of years. Chautauqua (2014) ran placings in both the Group 1 VRC Sprint Classic & Group 1 Newmarket Handicap at Flemington before winning the Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes at Randwick. Boban (2nd in 2013) went on to win multiple Group 1 races after finishing second in the Hawkesbury Guineas, including the Cantala Stakes at Flemington and the Chipping Norton Stakes at Warwick Farm.

Following his impressive win, Sambro (2018) headed to Brisbane, Queensland to capture the Group 2 Queensland Guineas at Doomben in Brisbane.

Military Zone (2019) ran sixth in a BM84 race over 1200m at Gosford before proving too strong in this event for the Peter & Paul Snowden stable. Recent Hawkesbury Guineas winners include Sambro (2018) and Shazee Lee (2017).


Hawkesbury Track Map

Hawkesbury race track has a circumference of 2070m and there is a slight rise from the home turn to the winning post. The track surface is turf and the straight length is 380m and horses race in a clockwise direction.

hawkesbury Track Map

2020 Hawkesbury Guineas result

1. $8.00 Dawn Passage 57.0 Adam Hyeronimus
2. $11.00 St Covet's Spirit 54.0 Jason Collett
3. $8.50 Icebath 54.0 Glen Boss

then followed
4. $26.00 Mirra Vision 54.0 Sam Clipperton
5. $31.00 Mo's Crown 56.0 Glyn Schofield
6. $6.50 Spend 56.0 James McDonald
7. $7.00 Eleven Eleven 56.0 Nash Rawiller
8. $19.00 Chat 56.0 Ms Rachel King
9. $7.50 Groundswell 57.0 Joshua Parr
10. $8.00 Rule The World 56.0 Tim Clark
11. $9.00 Battleground 56.0 Hugh Bowman

Margins: 2.8 len, 0.2 len
Time: 1:21.50

Bet now on the Hawkesbury Guineas

We recommended Unibet for the best Hawkesbury Guineas odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Hawkesbury Guineas winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Dawn Passage St Covet's Spirit Icebath 1:21.5
2019 Military Zone Trope Quackerjack 1:21.3
2018 Sambro Victorem Beau Geste 1:23.2
2017 Shazee Lee Prompt Response Salsonic 1:21.6
2016 Spill The Beans Spill The Beans Denmagic 1:22.1
2015 Najoom Federal Bachman 1:26.3
2014 Chautauqua Katie's Cove Barbed 1:22.4
2013 Limes Boban Ashokan 1:22.1
2012 Free Wheeling Pied A Terre Bound To Blush 1:21.0
2011 Pimpala Secret Speediness Steps In Time 1:24.6
2010 Neeson Khas Kura All Legal 1:23.3

The 2015 Hawkesbury Guineas was held at Rosehill the following Saturday after the standalone Hawkesbury meeting was washed out.