horse racing info

Lord Reims Stakes

The Lord Reims Stakes is a Group 3 open handicap race held annually each March at Morphettville racecourse in Adelaide, South Australia during the Adelaide autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 2600 metres and run under set weight & penalty conditions with prizemoney of $120,000. The 2019 Lord Reims Stakes was won by Bondeiger from Sylpheed with October Date third.

The first three horses to fill a place in this event all qualify for a run in the Group 2 Adelaide Cup on Monday week at the same track.

Lord Reims Stakes info

Date: Saturday 29th February 2020
Track: Morphettville racecourse, Adelaide
Distance: 2600 metres
Race Type: Open - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $120,000
2019 Winner: Bondeiger

The Lord Reims Stakes is named after former tough stayer Lord Reims and is the first group race of the autumn racing carnival in Adelaide, providing the ideal lead up race for those horses intending to tackle the upcoming Adelaide Cup over 3200m on the Labour Day holiday.

The last galloper to take out the Lord Reims Stakes & Adelaide Cup double in the same year was Apache King (2001).

This race will typically assemble a field of predominantly handy local stayers with Adelaide Cup aspiritions and in recent years Rialya (2nd in 2012), Capecover (3rd in 2010) and Lacey Underall (4th in 2008) have all placed in this race on the way to winning the Adelaide Cup.

Etah James (2018) ran fifth in a Fillies & Mares BM78 race over 2100m at Sandown in Victoria before heading to South Australia to score an easy victory in this event and recent Lord Reims Stakes winners include Master Of Arts (2017) and Signoff (2016).

2019 Lord Reims Stakes result

1. $2.90 Bondeiger 57.0 James Winks
2. $3.80 Sylpheed 53.0 Dom Tourneur
3. $26.00 October Date 55.0 Ms Kayla Crowther

then followed
4. $20.00 Aagas 55.0 Cory Parish
5. $26.00 Azurite 55.0 Chris Caserta
6. $3.30 Wasabi Bob 56.5 Raquel Clark
7. $8.00 Olympic Academy 55.0 Jake Toeroek
8. $31.00 Exalted Lightning 56.5 Clayton Douglas

Margins: 1.3 len, 1.3 len
Time: 2:45.67

Bet now on the Lord Reims Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Lord Reims Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Lord Reims Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Bondeiger Sylpheed October Date 2:45.6
2018 Etah James Master Of Arts Benzini 2:46.5
2017 Master Of Arts Puccini Jim's Journey 2:43.8
2016 Signoff Celtic Prince Tunes 2:44.6
2015 Taiyoo Lucky Lucky Lucky Gossip Guru 2:48.2
2014 Distillation Base Waltzing To Win 2:50.4
2013 My Ex Mate Talent Show Titch 2:45.7
2012 Enchanting Waters Rialya He's Hot To Trot 2:50.0
2011 Guyno Maunatrice Lady Avacan 2:46.0
2010 Moment In Time Dolphin Jo Capecover 2:50.0
2009 Miss Pavlova Brad Star Fourdee 2:43.4
2008 Exalted Ego Saddlers Story Road To Athens 2:43.3
2007 Danebar Lacy Underball Miss Theron 2:42.6
2006 Royal Player Exalted Time Danebar 2:46.5
2005 Far Lane Demerger Ista Kareem 2:42.3
2004 Bel Air Larrocha Roman Arch 2:42.6
2003 Le Destina Firetaine Oxford Dollar 2:37.0
2002 Firetaine Homewrecker Rum 2:36.3
2001 Apache King Skybeau The Hind 2:39.4
2000 Frenzel Rhomb Royal Caliph Oxford Dollar 2:42.4
1999 Star Binder Shattered Circle Angies Heart 2:35.2
1998 Heed The Toll Royal Caliph Frenzel Rhomb 2:38.2
1997 Cronus Skybeau Cockade 2:43.1
1996 French Resort Section =2 Seto Bridge =2 2:37.9
1995 Balmeressa Bullwinkle Blue Sun 2:40.8
1994 Top Rating Red Icing Bahi 2:28.8
1993 Toy Image Delmar Impulsive Risk 2:32.3
1992 Runaway Groom Brave Expectation London Bridge 2:34.8
1991 Ideal Centreman Water Boatman Pressmans Choice 2:30.7
1990 Water Boatman Lord Hybrow Sea Legend 2:30.2
1989 Lord Reims Merino Explorer The Brotherhood 2:33.0
1988 Lord Reims The Brotherhood Argonaut Style 2:30.7