horse racing info

James HB Carr Stakes

The James HB Carr Stakes is a Group 3 race for three-year-old Fillies that takes place in April each year at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres under set weight & penalty conditions and offers $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 James HB Carr Stakes was taken out by Moss Trip from Dyslexic with Manicure third.

Formerly a listed event, the James HB Carr Stakes was elevated to Group 3 status for the 2013/2104 racing season and is held on the final day of the Sydney autumn racing carnival alongside the Gr1 All Aged Stakes and Gr1 ATC Champagne Stakes.

James HB Carr Stakes info

Date: Saturday 20th April 2019
Track: Randwick racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2018 Winner: Moss Trip

The James HB Carr Stakes is a race for fillies only and the set weights & penalty conditions gives the better performed three-year-olds an advantage over their rivals.

Most of the time the winner of this race will simply be an above average galloper who will hold her own in similar type races without rising to any great heights, although now and then a classy type will come along and prove much too good on the day.

Earlier three-year-old fillies races during the carnival like the Gr3 PJ Bell Stakes provide a good lead up race to this event. Smart mare Red Tracer (2011) was the last galloper to take out the PJ Bell Stakes & James HB Carr Stakes double, while Catkins (2nd in 2013) won the PJ Bell Stakes before finishing second here.

Moss Trip (2018) ran fifth in the Gr1 Surround Stakes over 1400m at Randwick before scoring a narrow victory in this event and recent James HB Carr Stakes winners include Raiment (2017) and Yattarna (2016).

2018 James HB Carr Stakes result

1. $8.50 Moss Trip 54.0 Kerrin McEvoy
2. $8.00 Dyslexic 54.0 Brenton Avdulla
3. $5.00 Manicure 54.0 Glyn Schofield

then followed
4. $3.40 So Far Sokool 55.0 Blake Shinn
5. $19.00 Frolic 57.0 Jason Collett
6. $6.00 Problem Solver 54.0 Tim Clark
7. $18.00 Lisdoonvarna 54.0 Peter Wells
8. $17.00 Ridicule 54.0 Corey Brown
9. $51.00 One More Honey 57.0 Mark Zahra
10. $41.00 Sweet Deal 54.0 Andrew Adkins
11. $31.00 Banish 57.0 Hugh Bowman
12. $41.00 Joyfilly Ours 54.0 Michael Walker
13. $151.00 Readycatgo 54.0 Christian Reith

Margins: 0.1 len, 0.8 len
Time: 1:20.53

Bet now on the James HB Carr Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best James HB Carr Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker includint state exclusions. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.

James HB Carr Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Moss Trip Dyslexic Manicure 1:20.5
2017 Raiment Invincibella Smart Amelia 1:26.7
2016 Yattarna No More Tears Lady Sniper 1:23.6
2015 Slightly Sweet Anyaas Sebrina 1:24.3
2014 Estonian Princess Northern Glory Lady Lakshmi 1:24.8
2013 Missy Cummings Catkins Medusa's Touch 1:22.3
2012 Angel Of Mercy Bound To Blush Hallowell Belle 1:23.1
2011 Red Tracer Flokkati Potions 1:21.0