February: CF Orr Stakes : Lightning Stakes : Blue Diamond Stakes : Futurity Stakes : Oakleigh Plate : Chipping Norton Stakes

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Claim up to $500 BONUS BETS when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet and deposit up to $500 or more! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

Hobart Cup

Bookmaker Review Bonus
william hill William Hill
sportsbet Sportsbet
centrebet Centrebet
luxbet Luxbet
palmerbet Palmerbet
betfair Betfair
bet365 Bet365
crownbet CrownBet

Bet on Racing at William Hill

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

Bet on Horse Racing at Centrebet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on Horse Racing at CrownBet

Summer Racing Special Offer

pick your own free bet

Daily Racing Special Offers

Watch Live Victorian Racing

watch live racing

Free BlackBook Service


Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

The Hobart Cup is a Group 3 open handicap race held annually each February at Hobart racecourse in Hobart, Tasmania during the Tasmanian summer racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 2400 metres and worth $225,000 in prizemoney. The 2015 Hobart Cup was won by Geegees Blackflash from Genuine Lad with Banca Mo third.

One of only four group races held in Tasmania each year, alongside the Gr3 Launceston Cup, Gr3 Bow Mistress Trophy & Gr3 Vamos Stakes, the Hobart Cup is a major social event in the city of Hobart in Southern Tasmania.

A $100,000 Cups Double trainer-owner bonus was introduced during the 2012/2013 racing season for any horse winning both the Hobart and Launceston cups ($50,000 each), and this race also raised in distance from from 2100m to 2400 metres, the same distance as the Launceston Cup.

Hobart Cup info
Date: Monday 8th February 2016
Track: Hobart racecourse, Hobart
Distance: 2400 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $225,000
2015 Winner: Geegees Blackflash

The Hobart Cup is widely considered the premier staying handicap race for thoroughbreds in Tasmania and much like the Tasmanian Derby for three-year-olds, usually attracts the best local gallopers available. Now and then an interstate horse may make the journey across to Tasmania in an attempt to gain victory in a black type Cup event.

More often than not, the Hobart Cup is simply a race for handy Tassie stayers and not a high quality affair, although it's worth noting that Blutigeroo (2007) went on to win the Gr1 The BMW a few weeks later at Rosehill racecourse during the Sydney autumn racing carnival in New South Wales.

Other notable races on Hobart Cup day are the listed Wrest Point Strutt Stakes & Thomas Lyons Stakes.

The natural progression from the Hobart Cup for stayers is the Launceston Cup in a couple of weeks time at Launceston and in recent times Epingle (2014), Itsa Kareem (3rd in 2008), Zacielo (2004) and St Andrews (2002) all went on to win the Hobart Cup & Launceston Cup double. Genuine Lady (2nd in 2015) and Zavite (2nd in 2009) went on to win the Launceston Cup after finishing second in the Hobart Cup beforehand.

Geegees Blackflash (2015) took out the weight-for-age Summer Cup over 2200m at Hobart prior to winning this event for trainer John Luttrell and recent Hobart Cup winners include Epingle (2014) and Hurdy Gurdy Man (2013).

2015 Hobart Cup result
1 $8.70 Geegees Blackflash 59.0 Ms Sigrid Carr
2 $6.70 Genuine Lad 54.0 Anthony Darmanin
3 $4.60 Banca Mo 56.5 David Pires

then followed
4 $12.20 Ollie's Gold 54.0 Dean Yendall
5 $4.90 Pelicano 58.0 Matthew Neilson
6 $33.60 Falamonte 54.0 Jake Bayliss
7 $19.50 Iggimacool 55.0 Brendon McCoull
8 $3.60 Garud 54.0 Craig Williams
9 $50.00 Jakcorijim 54.0 Jamie R Bayliss
10 $100.50 Hold True 54.0 Troy Baker
11 $66.10 Player One 54.0 Jordan Childs
12 $79.70 Another Lad Al 54.0 Bulent Muhcu

Margins: 1/2 Neck, 3 1/2 len
Time: 2:31.52

Bet now on the Hobart Cup
join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join centrebet Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'CentreBest+' Bet now
Hobart Cup recent winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2015 Geegees Blackflash Genuine Lad Banca Mo 2:31.5
2014 Epingle Geegees Blackflash Gee Gee's La Quita 2:30.6
2013 Hurdy Gurdy Man The Cleaner Geegees Blackflash 2:33.3
2012 Geegees Blackflash Viking Hero Dream Flyer 2:17.8
2011 Bid Spotter Organised Davcon 2:16.9
2010 Growl De Fine Lago Dream Pedlar 2:15.1
2009 Gotta Keep Cool Zavite Dream Pedlar 2:15.6
2008 Offenbach Jacques Le Naif Ista Kareem 2:17.8
2007 Blutigeroo Rubijon Field Hunter 2:15.5
2006 True Courser Di's Angel Petite Oiseau 2:14.5
2005 Our Dashing Dane Under The Bridge Surge Of Power 2:08.0
2004 Zacielo Dream Quest Liquid Lunch 2:30.1
2003 Jeune's Mark The Mightly Lions St Andrews 2:29.7
2002 St Andrews Imax Lord Baracus 2:27.6
2001 Brorama Star Lord Baracus Naucho 2:31.8
2000 Lord Baracus Break The Bank Torbellino 2:31.0
1999 Future Shock Sunny Lane Mt Arthur 2:28.3
1998 L'Espion Free Beer King's Landing 2:31.0
1997 Palos Verdes River Kwai Pharagrove 2:30.7
1996 Jam City Navajo Flash Danby Road 2:29.6
1995 Courtly Way Daacha Ritzy Red 2:31.1
1994 Southern States John's Way Ciba Geigy 2:31.7
1993 Frontier Boy Diamond Bases Condies Lane 2:29.9
1992 Russian Rogue Frontier Boy Bicton 2:29.9
1991 Lady Have A Heart Bitter Spring Local Knowledge 2:28.3
1990 Firetap Panneria Lady Have A Heart 2:31.0
1989 Nakagima Great Quest Brave Tresspasser 2:27.2
1988 Brisque Lloyd's Nijinsky Big Band 2:27.8

Best Australian Bookmaker for Hobart Cup free bets


© 2008 - 2016 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 70 863 499 360 | Beejayville Pty Ltd | All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission.
All free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions and free bet joining offers exclude NSW, VIC, WA & SA residents.