horse racing info

Rough Habit Plate

The Rough Habit Plate is a Group 3 distance race for three-year-olds held annually each May at Doomben racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland. The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres under set weight conditions and worth $125,000 in prizemoney. The 2019 Rough Habit Plate was won by Purple Sector from A Man To Match with Dealmaker third.

Held on the same day as the Gr1 Doomben 10,000, the Rough Habit Plate is the first middle distance group race of the Brisbane winter carnival for three-year-old gallopers.

Rough Habit Plate info

Date: Saturday 11th May 2019
Track: Doomben racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2019 Winner: Purple Sector

The Rough Habit Plate is raced under set weight conditions over 2000m and provides the ideal lead up to the Gr1 Queensland Derby over 2400m later in the carnival at Eagle Farm in June. Hawkspur (2013), Brambles (2012), Empires Choice (2007), De Gaulle Lane (2001), Dodge (1998) & Tenor (1994) all managed to go on and win the Derby after winning this event.

A race such as the Gr3 Gunsynd Classic, held two weeks earlier over 1630m at Doomben, can often be a good pathway to the Rough Habit Plate. Dark Dream (2018), Belmonte (2006), Bob's Boy (2003) and Marble Halls (1997) have all claimed the Gunsynd Classic & Rough Habit Plate double in recent times, while a number of horses have won or placed in both races.

In recent years Mackintosh (2016), Hawkspur (2013) and Brambles (2012) all won the Gr2 Grand Prix Stakes after winning this race, while Hawkspur and Brambles went on to snare the Derby.

Dark Dream (2018) ran second in the Gr3 Gunsynd Classic over 1630m at Doomben before proving too classy for his rivals in this event and recent Rough Habit Plate winners include Shocking Luck (2017) and Mackintosh (2016).

2018 Rough Habit Plate result

1. $2.45 Dark Dream 57.0 Tim Clark
2. $4.60 Higher Ground 57.0 Glyn Schofield
3. $10.00 California Turbo 57.0 Kerrin McEvoy

then followed
4. $13.00 Omineca 57.0 Craig Williams
5. $31.00 Icon Of Dubai 57.0 Regan Bayliss
6. $61.00 Nothing Too Hard 57.0 Matthew McGillivray
7. $9.50 Astoria 57.0 Damian Browne
8. $21.00 Zofonic Dancer 57.0 Brad Stewart
9. $201.00 Madison Point 57.0 Ryan Wiggins
10. $101.00 Naked 57.0 Corey Brown
11. $21.00 Salsamor 57.0 Mark Zahra
12. $101.00 Epic Rant 57.0 Michael Cahill
13. $151.00 Mr Plow 57.0 James Orman
14. $31.00 Hang 57.0 Jim Byrne
15. $17.00 So You Win 57.0 Jeff Lloyd

Margins: 4 len, 0.4 len
Time: 2:03.67

Bet now on the Rough Habit Plate

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Rough Habit Plate odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Rough Habit Plate winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Purple Sector A Man To Match Dealmaker 2:02.5
2018 Dark Dream Higher Ground California Turbo 2:03.6
2017 Shocking Luck Order Again Veladero 2:06.1
2016 Mackintosh Cylinder Beach Brazen 2:02.8
2015 Sadler's Lake Upham Jumbo Prince 2:03.1
2014 Amexed Telepathic Glorious Lad 2:03.1
2013 Hawkspur Survived Usainity 2:15.2
2012 Brambles Margins Poste Restante 2:03.1
2011 Fillydelphia Hour of Peril Chateau Fort 2:05.4
2010 The Hombre Tee Emar Sanderson 2:04.6
2009 Rockdale Rezyana Larry's Never Late 2:10.1
2008 Mission Critical Moatize My Limit 2:05.1
2007 Empires Choice Sands Of Time Ready When You Are 2:04.8
2006 Belmonte Master Denis Beauty Watch 2:04.2
2005 Activation Eremein Roving Owl 2:03.9
2004 Russian Pearl Reclaim Set Up 2:04.0
2003 Bobs Boy King Of Them All Half Hennessy 2:16.2
2002 Distinctly Secret Tellson Vega Sicilia 2:13.5
2001 De Gaulle Lane Pimpala Player Altiero 2:04.2
2000 Kincourt Bear Raid Vallant Road 2:06.0
1999 Figurehead Skoozi Please Grease 2:04.9
1998 Dodge Nearartist Palia 2:04.0
1997 Marble Halls Forgotten Hero Banner Line 2:04.4
1996 Revenge The Peak Barvo 2:08.3
1995 Juggler Starmaker Joie Denise 2:03.8
1994 Tenor Ellflemor Magic Road 2:03.2