horse racing info

The Nivison

The Nivison is a Group 3 race for mares only that takes place each October at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres under set weights plus penalties conditions and offers $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 The Nivison was won by Resin from Almanzora with Eckstein third.

Previously a listed race, The Nivison was upgraded to Group 3 status for the 2013/2014 racing season and is the final group race of the Sydney spring racing carnival.

The Nivison info

Date: Saturday 26th October 2019
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Mares - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2018 Winner: Resin

The Nivison is a set weights & penalties race for mares which gives the better types a weighted advantage over their rivals, although most of the time the field is simply made up of more than handy types who never really go on to any great heights.

Horse Racing Info suggests you look for similar type mares races that may provide good lead-up races to The Nivison, including the Gr3 Sheraco Stakes & Gr3 Research Stakes, which are both held at Rosehill earlier in the carnival.

Interstingly enough, Plucky Belle (2nd in 2013) travelled to Flemington during the Melbourne spring racing carnival to win the Gr3 Maybe Mahal Stakes on Melbourne Cup Day.

Resin (2018) took out a BM78 race over 1100m at Rosehill before scoring an easy victory in this event for trainer James Cummings. Recent The Nivison winners include White Moss (2017) and Egyptian Symbol (2016).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

2018 The Nivison result

1. $4.60 Resin 54.0 Ms Rachel King
2. $18.00 Almanzora 54.0 Jason Collett
3. $5.50 Eckstein 56.0 Mitchell Bell

then followed
4. $11.00 Warranty 54.0 Andrew Adkins
5. $7.00 Test The World 54.0 Adam Hyeronimus
6. $5.00 Dyslexic 54.0 Tommy Berry
7. $14.00 Perizada 54.0 Jay Ford
8. $15.00 Epidemic 55.0 Christian Reith
9. $26.00 Sold For Song 54.0 James Innes Jnr
10. $21.00 Egyptian Symbol 56.5 Rory Hutchings
11. $31.00 Shazee Lee 56.0 Brett Prebble

Margins: 2.3 len, 0.1 len
Time: 1:11.12

Bet now on the The Nivison

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best The Nivison odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

The Nivison winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Resin Almanzora Eckstein 1:11.1
2017 White Moss Zestful Kinshachi 1:10.0
2016 Egyptian Symbol Artistry Rule The River 1:10.6
2015 Nayeli Peace Force Miss Cover Girl 1:09.2
2014 Avoid Lightning Brook Road Rose Of Choice 1:10.2
2013 Diamond Earth Plucky Belle Hidden Kisses 1:09.6
2012 Quidnunc Capital Commander Alberton Park 1:08.5
2011 Balmont Pontiana Ofcourseican 1:10.8