horse racing info

Stutt Stakes

The Stutt Stakes is a Group 2 race for three-year-olds that takes place held on a Friday night at Moonee Valley racecourse in Melbourne during the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and worth $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2016 Stutt Stakes was won by Hey Doc from Land Of Plenty with Kaching third.

One of four group races at the Moonee Valley night meeting on AFL Grand Final eve, the Stutt Stakes is held alongside the weight-for-age Group 1 AJ Moir Stakes over 1200 metres.

2017 Stutt Stakes info

Date: Friday 29th September 2017
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: 3yo Open - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2016 Winner: Hey Doc

The Stutt Stakes is the first 1600 metre group race of the spring specifically for three-year-olds and is held almost two weeks before one of the bigger 3yo races of the spring, the Gr1 Caulfield Guineas at Caulfield over the same distance.

The race is not always contested by the best three-year-olds going around and generally lacks a top class performer as such, but over the years some quality horses have saluted including the likes of Pierro (2012), Whobegotyou (2008), Encosta De Lago (1996), Canny Lad (1990), Zabeel (1989) and Almurtajaz (1988).

The winner of the Stutt Stakes is more often than not a handy or above average three-year-old who is more than competitive in 3yo events run under similar conditions without really going on to do anything significant in the major spring races to come. Occasionally there are exceptions and the race is taken out by a quality galloper such as outstanding Gai Waterhouse trained galloprt Pierro.

Hey Doc (2016) took out a three-year-old Handicap race over 1514m at Moonee Valley before socrching over the turf to win this event and recent Stutt Stakes winners have been Sovereign Nation (2015) and Almalad (2014).

horse racing free bet

Spring Carnival Guide

Pierro (2012) went on to finish second in the Gr1 Caulfield Guineas at Caulifled after his easy victory in this event. He then finished third behind Ocean Park in the Gr1 WS Cox Plate at Moonee Valley.

Miss Stellabelle (2011) finished runner-up behind Karuta Queen in the Gr3 Red Anchor Stakes at Moonee Valley on Cox Plate day after winng this race, while runner-up Platelet (2nd in 2011) went on to claim the Gr3 Thoroughbred Club Stakes at Caulfield.

Hollowlea (2010) went on to run third in the Gr2 AAMI Vase at Moonee Valley on Cox Plate Day, while Run For Levi (2nd in 2010) finished runner-up in the Caulfield Guineas.

Carrara (2009) ran second in the Caufield Guineas at his next start, while Extra Zero (2nd in 2008) went on to finish runner-up in the Gr1 AAMI Victoria Derby.

2016 Stutt Stakes result

1. $4.00 Hey Doc 57.0 Luke Currie
2. $31.00 Land Of Plenty 57.0 Craig Newitt
3. $7.50 Kaching 57.0 Nicholas Hall

then followed
4. $5.50 Inference 57.0 Dwayne Dunn
5. $4.60 Detective 57.0 Blake Shinn
6. $13.00 Mandalay Bay 57.0 Ben Melham
7. $7.00 Tessera 57.0 Craig Williams
8. $81.00 Pyx Chamber 57.0 Michael Dee
9. $151.00 The Rich Fisher 57.0 Dylan Dunn
10. $101.00 Back To The Bowler 57.0 Mark Zahra
11. $12.00 Manhattan Street 57.0 Jonathan Riddell

Margins: 1.5 len, 1.5 len
Time: 1:37.41

Bet now on the Stutt Stakes

join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now

Stutt Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Hey Doc Land Of Plenty Kaching 1:37.4
2015 Sovereign Nation Get The Picture Gredington 1:36.1
2014 Almalad Moonovermanhattan Kumaon 1:38.8
2013 Divine Calling Shamus Award Cluster 1:37.2
2012 Pierro Carringbush Jack Jimando 1:36.3
2011 Chase The Rainbow Cute Emily Sabrage 1:38.3
2010 Hollowlea Run For Levi Bullbars 1:37.2
2009 Carrara Extra Hero Miss With Attitude 1:39.5
2008 Whobegotyou All American Carnero 1:36.3
2007 Barbaricus Davcon Cecconi 1:36.0
2006 Churchill Downs Magic Jet Ankh Morpork 1:36.7
2005 Red Dazzler Stratum Maybe Better 1:38.0
2004 Mr Martini Under Command Danaurum 1:37.8
2003 Casual Pass Special Harmony Face Value 1:37.2
2002 Helenus Aint Here Half Hennessy 1:39.6
2001 Viscount Dash For Cash Amalfi 1:38.1
2000 Sarson Trail Keeper Make Me A Miracle 1:38.7
1999 Diatribe Align Mr Endurance 1:36.9
1998 St Clemens Belle Spectacular Gold Helm 1:36.8
1997 Schubert Bonfires Kalastaire 1:37.0
1996 Encosta De Lago My Duke Mustang Ranch 1:38.7
1995 Burrito Donar Aerosmith 1:39.1
1994 Blevic St Covet Punctual 1:35.9
1993 Pearl Prince Kendel Star Battle Hawk 1:38.6
1992 Bundy Lad Palace Symphony Redding 1:40.6
1991 Ready To Explode Tierce Our Bold Cruiser 1:36.5
1990 Canny Lad Bureaucracy Storaia 1:35.3
1989 Zabeel Dr Grace Courtza 1:35.2
1988 Almurtajaz Big Grey Roo Star Watch 1:34.7