horse racing info

Sir John Monash Stakes

The Sir John Monash Stakes is a 1100 weight-for-age race held annually in July at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne. Run over a distance of 1100 metres and worth $135,000 in prizemoney, the 2018 Sir John Monash Stakes was won by Voodoo Lad from Inn Keeper with Jukebox third.

Previously a listed race, the Sir John Monash Stakes was upgraded to Group 3 status for the 2013/2014 racing season.

Sir John Monash Stakes info

Date: Saturday 14th July 2018
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1100 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $135,000
2018 Winner: Voodoo Lad

The Sir John Monash Stakes generally assembles a good field of sprinters where many of the entrants might be returning stars of the turf, coming off a winter spell, or up and coming types stepping up in grade to test themselves. Fit, in-form winter types might also decide to contest this race to make it a typically competitive affair.

Some quality gallopers have won the Sir Monash Stakes over the years before going on to bigger and better things, including Platelet (2012), Reward For Effort (2010), Lucky Secret (2007), Flavour (1999) and Sequalo (1994).

The more talented sprinters from this event will likely continue on to Gr3 Bletchingly Stakes at the same track later in the month. The Bletchingly Stakes is raced under the same weight-for-age conditions but is run over a distance of 1200 metres. Talented sprinter Second Effort (3rd in 2013) went on to win the Bletchingly Stakes after finishing third in this event.

Others may tackle a race like the Gr2 McEwen Stakes at Moonee Valley, like Wild Rain (2016), who won that race after tasting success here. Some may try their luck in Adelaide, just as Riziz (3rd in 2014) did, winning the Gr3 Spring Stakes the following month at Morphettville after running third here.

Voodoo Lad (2018) finished unplaced in the Gr1 Stradbroke Handicap over 1400m at Doomben in Brisbane before returning to Melbourne to win this event in stylish fashion. Recent Sir John Monash Stakes winners include Supido (2017) and Wild Rain (2016).

2018 Sir John Monash Stakes result

1. $2.80 Voodoo Lad 58.5 Brad Rawiller
2. $8.00 Inn Keeper 58.5 Ms Linda Meech
3. $3.50 Jukebox 58.0 Craig Williams

then followed
4. $6.50 Ashlor 58.5 Jamie Mott
5. $18.00 Showpero 56.5 Stephen Baster
6. $7.00 Crystal Dreamer 58.5 Damian Lane
7. $51.00 Sunday Escape 58.5 Dwayne Dunn

Margins: 1.5 len, 0.4 len
Time: 1:03.91

Bet now on the Sir John Monash Stakes

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Sir John Monash Stakes odds.

Sir John Monash Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Voodoo Lad Inn Keeper Jukebox 1:03.9
2017 Supido Daytona Grey Murt The Flirt 1:03.5
2016 Wild Rain Trevinder Atmospherical 1:03.8
2015 Miss Promiscuity =2 Angels Beach =2 Wild Rain 1:04.4
2014 Lord Of The Sky Le Bonsir Riziz 1:05.2
2013 Pago Rock Elite Elle Second Effort 1:04.4
2012 Platelet Royal Bender Zamorar 1:06.7
2011 Secret Flyer Rue Maple Warm Love 1:04.3