, Spring Stakes - Morphettville Racecourse - Group 3 - Adelaide Spring Racing
horse racing info

Spring Stakes

The Spring Stakes is a Group 3 weight-for-age race that takes place annually each August at Morphettville racecourse in Adelaide, South Australia. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $125,000 in prize money. The 2020 Spring Stakes was won by Behemoth from Dalasan with Kemalpasa third.

The Spring Stakes is first group race of the new racing season in Adelaide and the only group race held outside the Adelaide autumn racing carnival in South Australia.

Spring Stakes info

Date: Saturday 14th August 2021
Track: Morphettville racecourse, Adelaide
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $125,000
2020 Winner: Behemoth

The Spring Stakes is run at weight-for-age and typically attracts the best available local gallopers suited by the race conditions, while interstate horses may also make the trek to Adelaide in the hope of picking up an easier group race to add to their resume.

It's the only group race offered in Adelaide for the second half of the calendar year and the level weights conditions provide a decided advantage for the better gallopers. The race is run under the same conditions as the Group 3 RN irwin Stakes in March, but the Spring Stakes is an extra 100m in distance.

Some more than handy gallopers have saluted in this event over the years, including Super Elegant (2005), Flavour (2001), Will Fly (1998), Hero Wind (1994-95 & 1997) and brlliant sprinter Redelva in three consecutive years from 1988 to 1990.

Dalasan (2019) resumed from a spell to win this event in classy style for the Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas stable. The classy son of Dalakhani captured the Group 2 Danehill Stakes at Flemington at his next start.

Recent Spring Stakes winners include Dollar For Dollar (2018) and Mio Dio (2017).

2020 Spring Stakes result

1. $2.50 Behemoth 58.5 Todd Pannell
2. $3.50 Dalasan 58.5 Jason Holder
3. $12.00 Kemalpasa 58.5 Jake Toeroek

then followed
4. $31.00 Fox Hall 58.5 Barend Vorster
5. $26.00 Rainmoth 56.5 Caitlin Jones
6. $101.00 Balf’S Choice 58.5 Dom Tourneur
7. $61.00 Crown Fontein 58.5 Sairyn Fawke
8. $6.00 Extra Time 51.5 Ms Jessica Eaton
9. $71.00 Master Chum 58.5 Ms Eran Boyd
10. $9.00 More Than Exceed 58.5 Ms Kayla Crowther
11. $51.00 Morvada 58.5 Shayne Cahill

Margins: 1.8 len, 1.5 len
Time: 1:10.80

Bet now on the Spring Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Spring Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Spring Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Behemoth Dalasan Kemalpasa 1:10.8
2019 Dalasan Scales Of Justice Waging War 1:10.4
2018 Dollar For Dollar Hard Empire Inn Keeper 1:12.0
2017 Mio Dio Lord Aspen Casino Wizard 1:13.6
2016 Beirut Riziz Rocket Commander Rocket
2015 Red Eclipse Whitlam Richie's Vibe 1:12.7
2014 Riziz Light It Up Karacatis 1:13.1
2013 Just Discreet Meliora Golden Penny 1:12.7
2012 Happy Trails Gossip Girl Southern Speed 1:11.9
2011 Uxorious Periduki Valentine Miss 1:13.6
2010 Rebel Raider Xaieta Likable Will 1:15.1
2009 Midnight Mustang Magical Pearl Cerberus Gal 1:09.7
2008 El Maze Sensational Toy Niconero 1:13.2
2007 Zupaone Amyjaye Power El Maze 1:11.8
2006 Royal Ida Shablec Bruges 1:09.9
2005 Super Elegant Fly For Me Squillani 1:09.9
2004 Sky Cuddle Squillani Zip Zip Aray 1:09.6
2003 Squillani Nadema Lawsons Storm 1:11.5
2002 Strategic Image Romilada Star Hit 1:11.1
2001 Flavour Spice Doll Star Hit 1:16.2
2000 Spice Doll Hand Pass Euclase Pat 1:15.2
1999 Star Joe Sports Lake Villa 1:12.6
1998 Will Fly Astralita Madonna 1:11.2
1997 Hero Wind Port Watch Minegold 1:13.7
1996 Staaraq Hero Wind Buzzoff 1:11.3
1995 Hero Wind Blue Boss Scrupulous 1:09.8
1994 Hero Wind Rubique Subastral 1:10.7
1993 Colebrook Rubique Game Ginty 1:10.5
1992 Black Rouge Dark Ksar Squire Gray 1:14.9
1991 Beau George Feeling Bar Flyer 1:11.6
1990 Redelva Dancers Choice Godemus 1:12.8
1989 Redelva Pressmans Choice Prince Anton 1:12.2
1988 Redelva Lockleys Tradition Eastern Classic 1:10.7