horse racing info

Perth Cup

The Perth Cup is a Group 2 open handicap race traditionally held each year on New Year's Day at Ascot racecourse in Perth, Western Australia. The race is run over a distance of 2400 metres and worth $500,000 in prizemoney. The 2019 Perth Cup was won by Star Exhibit from Action with Prize Catch third.

Formerly run over the Melbourne Cup distance of 3200 metres (2 miles), in 2009 the race distance was taken back to 2400 metres in an effort to attract a higher quality field. In a change of programming for the 2011/2012 racing season the 2011 Perth Cup was effectively held twice, once on New Year's Day and once on New Year's Eve, as was the 2016 edition.

The Perth Cup is the highlight of the Perth summer racing carnival and attracts a huge crowd of around 35,000+ people to Ascot racecourse, who get together to celebrate a quality day of racing, fashion and entertainment. First run in 1887, the Perth Cup has a long and proud history and is the first major social event of the new year in Western Australia.

Perth Cup info

Date: Friday 4th January 2019
Track: Ascot racecourse, Perth
Distance: 2400 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $500,000
2019 Winner: Star Exhibit

The Perth Cup is the premier distance race of the Perth summer racing carnival and being held at Ascot, with its uphill run home from the 400m to the winning post, makes it a true test for stayers over the 2400m distance of the race. The field generally assembles mostly local stayers with the odd visitor from the eastern states sometimes making the trek to Perth for the spoils on offer.

The Gr2 CB Cox Stakes, run a couple of weeks earlier at the same track has been the best guide to winners and placegetters of this race in recent times. It pays to keep a keep a keen eye on the CB Cox Stakes, as a future Perth Cup winner or placegetter could very well be running around. Star Exhibit (2019) finished 5th in the CB Cox Stakes before winning the Perth Cup.

In recent times Delicacy (2016), Lords Ransom (2010), Cats Fun (2008), Palatious (1994), Mirror Magic (1992) and Saratov (1989) have all taken out the CB Cox Stakes & Perth Cup double, while Early Express (3rd in 2006) and Free At Last (2nd in 2005) both won the CB Cox Stakes before placing in the Perth Cup.

A high number of horses have either won or placed in both races over the years and Lords Ransom (2010) was the last galloper to claim the Cox Stakes & Perth Cup double. Any horses that ran well in the Cox Stakes are ones to watch when assessing the form for this race.

Star Exhibit (2019) ran fifth in the CB Cox Stakes over 2100m at Ascot before winning this event in stylish fashion for trainer Adam Durant.

Recent Perth Cup winners include Material Man (2018), Star Exhibit (2016 Dec) and Delicacy (2016 Jan).

2019 Perth Cup result

1. $31.00 Star Exhibit 55.0 Peter Hall
2. $3.20 Action 53.0 William Pike
3. $21.00 Prize Catch 53.0 Peter Knuckey

then followed
4. $5.50 Mississippi Delta 53.0 Chris Parnham
5. $6.00 Gatting 59.0 Damian Lane
6. $41.00 Elegant Blast 53.0 Ms Lucy Warwick
7. $17.00 Cappo D’Oro 53.0 Joseph Azzopardi
8. $151.00 Brother’S Keeper 53.0 Troy Turner
9. $81.00 Dark Musket 53.0 Shaun O'Donnell
10. $71.00 Royal Star 53.0 Clint Johnston-Porter
11. $26.00 Prying Tom 53.0 Randy Tan
12. $91.00 Queen Bey 53.0 Ben Paterson
13. $81.00 Like A Butterfly 53.0 Jason Whiting
14. $8.00 Perfect Jewel 53.0 Patrick Carbery
15. $101.00 Ihtsahymn 53.0 Steven Parnham
16. $9.50 Khartoum 53.0 Daniel Staeck

Margins: 0.35 len, 2.15 len
Time: 2:28.13

Bet now on the Perth Cup

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Perth Cup odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Perth Cup winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Star Exhibit Action Prize Catch 2:28.1
2018 Material Man Pounamu Royal Star 2:28.5
2016 Star Exhibit Neverland Tradesman 2:29.4
2016 Delicacy Neverland Real Love 2:30.0
2015 Real Love Red Blast Kirov Boy 2:29.9
2014 Black Tycoon God Has Spoken Ask Me Nicely 2:31.2
2013 Talent Show Mr Moet Global Flirt 2:29.7
2011 Western Jewel God Has Spoken Senhor Da Gama 2:28.2
2011 Guest Wing Guyno Simply Adorable 2:27.5
2010 Lords Ransom Ma Chienne Largo Lad 2:30.6
2009 Guyno The Fuzz Ballack 2:25.9
2008 Cats Fun Exhilerating Westerly Breeze 3:21.6
2007 Respect Bay Story Rossam 3:21.0
2006 Black Tom Master Minx Early Express 3:18.8
2005 Crown Prosecutor Free At Last Black Tom 3:21.4
2004 King Canute Indigo King Higgins Gold 3:23.7
2003 Tumeric So Canny Bold Mirage 3:23.0
2002 Cardinal Colours Give Me A Chance Shoeless 3:25.9
2001 Lottila Bay Moonrise King Brian 3:25.6
2000 Lunar Tudor Victory Morn Matriculate 3:21.0
1999 King Of Saxony Rogan Josh Victory Morn 3:23.7
1998 Heed The Toll Old Cobber In Name Only 3:25.5
1997 Time Frame Regimental Tattoo Beau Heed 3:22.8
1996 Crying Game Ernesto Bullwinkle 3:23.9
1995 Ros Reef Fine Whiskey Sweet Glory 3:26.4
1994 Palatious Diamond Heist Kathros 3:22.0
1993 Field Officer Red Javelin Kawtuban 3:22.1
1992 Mirror Magic Red Javelin Vite Filou 3:21.7
1991 Zamlight Word Of Honour Ideal Centreman 3:20.8
1990 Word Of Honour Our King Crimson Green Range Boy 3:20.5
1989 Saratov Rising Fear Muromoon 3:16.8
1988 Linc The Leopard Buckshot Bandit Arcolad 3:24.3

*The 2011 & 2016 Perth Cup was held twice during the year, firstly, on New Year's Day in January, and then on New Year's Eve in December.