, Missile Stakes Preview - Rosehill Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Missile Stakes

The Missile Stakes is a Group 2 weight-for-age event held each year in August at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and offers $200,000 in prize money. The 2020 Missile Stakes was won by Eduardo from Flit with Imaging third.

Typically the first group race of the new racing season in Sydney, the Missile Stakes signals the onset of the Sydney spring racing carnival in New South Wales.

Missile Stakes info

Date: Saturday 7th August 2021
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000
2020 Winner: Eduardo

The Missile Stakes is usually contested by solid winter sprinters or quality horses returning from a spell and heading for a spring campaign. The race can be won by a fit, honest type who excels on the day or a fresh classy type who is simply too good. Some of the better gallopers to have won the Missile Stakes include Rain Affair (2011 & 2013), Dance Hero (2005), Lonhro (2002) and Guineas (1997).

Many gallopers contesting this event will consider tackling upcoming weight-for-age races such as the Gr2 Winx Stakes at Randwick later in the month or the Gr2 Chelmsford Stakes at Randwick in September. Pinwheel (3rd in 2011) went on to win the Warwick Stakes at his next start and then returned here to win this race the following year.

In recent times, Danleigh (2nd in 2010) finished runner-up in the Warwick Stakes after running second in this event, while Gold Trail (2nd in 2009) took out the Gr2 The Shorts later in the spring after finishing second here. The Missile Stakes can quite often provide a springboard to future spring success.

Alizee (2019) resumed from a spell to win this event in narrow style for trainer James Cummings and recent Missile Stakes winners include Pierata (2018) and Invincible Gem (2017).

2020 Missile Stakes result

1. $2.30 Eduardo 56.0 Nash Rawiller
2. $4.00 Flit 57.0 James McDonald
3. $11.00 Imaging 57.5 Tommy Berry

then followed
4. $15.00 Glenall 56.0 Brock Ryan
5. $13.00 Mister Sea Wolf 57.5 Adam Hyeronimus
6. $4.60 Melody Belle 57.0 Kerrin McEvoy

Margins: 1.5 len, 0,4 len
Time: 1:12.01

Bet now on the Missile Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Missile Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Missile Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Eduardo Flit Imaging 1:12.0
2019 Alizee Invincible Gem Le Romain 1:11.2
2018 Pierata Kementari The Monstar 1:08.4
2017 Invincible Gem Le Romain The Monstar 1:11.8
2016 Tycoon Tara Rebel Dane Mount Nero 1:15.6
2015 Burbero Weary Temple Of Boom 1:09.1
2014 Sweet Idea Messene Rebel Dane 1:09.4
2013 Rain Affair Mic Mac Title 1:10.8
2012 Pinwheel Centennial Park Rolling Pin 1:09.7
2011 Rain Affair Winter King Pinwheel 1:10.7
2010 Love Conquers All Danleigh Sniper's Bullet 1:12.4
2009 Teasing Gold Trail Typhoon Zed 1:04.4
2008 Captain Bax Typhoon Zed Interfere 1:05.4
2007 German Chocolate La Montagna Vionneto 1:04.6
2006 Imprisoned Crimson Reign Mac'S Tune 1:06.3
2005 Dance Hero Snippetson Spark Of Life 1:02.8
2004 Spark Of Life Into The Night Dane Shadow 1:02.8
2003 Pompeii Academe Our Egyptian Raine 1:03.7
2002 Lonhro Ancient Song Notoire 1:03.5
2001 Sportsbrat Air She Goes Lonhro 1:06.7
2000 Padstow Wynciti Celestial Choir 1:03.8
1999 Commands Padstow Techniques 1:05.1
1998 Mr. Victory Masked Party Juggler 1:05.1
1997 Guineas Spartacus Moss Rocket 1:02.7
1996 Legal Agent Our Lance Moss Rocket 1:04.0
1995 Brawny Spirit Light Up The World Masked Party 1:03.9
1994 Klokka Stormy Regent Double Your Bet 1:03.9
1993 Klokka All Our Mob Spanish Mix 1:05.3
1992 Joanne Spanish Mix Hula Grey 1:03.4
1991 Joanne Dr. Grace All Archie 1:04.6
1990 Potrero Dance Band Rise 'N' Shine 1:05.9
1989 Select Prince Targlish Temple Front 1:08.0
1988 Campaign King High Regard Wong 1:03.6
1987 Campaign King Plum Shore Targlish 1:05.7
1986 Shankhill Lass Manuan Riverdale 1:04.8
1985 Row Of Waves Real Dream Vari'S Ace 1:04.6
1984 Plus Vite Buena Gold Real Dream 1:09.8
1983 Young Blood Sabre Dancer Flash Doll 1:05.9
1982 Nordic Prince Flash Doll Latin Saint 1:05.6
1982 Razor Sharp Yir Tiz Bemboka Yacht 1:06.6
1981 Race Not Run - -
1980 Macho High Adventure Blockbuster 1:04.7
1979 Salaam Steel Blade Goreham 1:04.6
1978 Idol Leonotis Mondiso 1:05.6