horse racing info

Triscay Stakes

The Triscay Stakes is a Group 3 fillies & mares quality handicap race that takes place each year in February at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Triscay Stakes was won by Faraway Town from Zestful with Raiment third.

Held on the same day as the Group 2 Apollo Stakes during the Sydney autumn racing carnival, the Triscay Stakes was upgraded to Group 3 status for the 2013/2014 racing season.

Triscay Stakes info

Date: Saturday 16th February 2019
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Fillies & Mares Quality
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2018 Winner: Faraway Town

The Triscay Stakes is raced under handicap conditions for fillies & mares only and generally attracts a more than handy field of talented females which can provide quite a minefield for punters trying to decipher the form.

Improving types down in the weights are ones to watch, especially if they can get under the handicapper's guard, although classy mares carrying big weights are also capable of more than hold their own.

A race like the Gr3 Guy Walter Stakes may be next on the agenda for mares contesting this race and Danesiri (2nd in 2015) won the Guy Walter Stakes at her next start after running second in this event.

Some nice mares have won the Triscay Stakes over the years, including Madame Pedrille (2009), Hot Danish (2008), Victory Vein (2004) & Shindig (1997).

Faraway Town (2018) took out a BM85 race over 1200m at Randwick before scoring a narrow victory in this event and recent Triscay Stakes winners include Zestful (2017) and Sultry Feeling (2016).

2018 Triscay Stakes result

1. $8.00 Faraway Town 53.5 Tim Clark
2. $10.00 Zestful 57.5 Jason Collett
3. $5.00 Raiment 54.0 Glyn Schofield

then followed
4. $11.00 Gibraltar Girl 53.0 Andrew Adkins
5. $9.50 Just Dreaming 53.0 Ms Rachel King
6. $5.50 Eckstein 58.0 Brenton Avdulla
7. $8.50 Miss Gunpowder 54.0 Jay Ford
8. $11.00 Zumbelina 53.0 Josh Adams
9. $31.00 Duchess Pedrille 53.0 Ms Katelyn Mallyon
10. $14.00 My Country 53.0 Ms Winona Costin
11. $101.00 Hermosa Beach 53.0 Ms Jess Taylor
12. $81.00 Anna's Joy 53.0 Blake Spriggs
13. $101.00 Mariquita 53.0 Jean Van Overmeire
14. $15.00 Aide Memoire 58.0 Tye Angland

Margins: 0.1 len, 0.5 len
Time: 1:10.34

Bet now on the Triscay Stakes

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Triscay Stakes odds.

Triscay Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Faraway Town Zestful Raiment 1:10.3
2017 Zestful Nancy Dixie Blossoms 1:10.9
2016 Sultry Feeling Peeping Savoureux 1:09.6
2015 Thump Danesiri My Sabeel 1:22.0
2014 Lilliburlero Recoinage Any Day Will Do 1:08.8
2013 She's Clean Appearance Colorado Claire 1:12.1
2012 Dystopia Alberton Park Ofcourseican 1:10.2
2011 Kiss From A Rose Girl Hussler More Strawberries 1:09.3