October: Caulfield Guineas : Thousand Guineas : Caulfield Stakes : Toorak Handicap : Spring Champion Stakes : Caulfield Cup :: Manikato Stakes : Cox Plate

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Enjoy up to $700 BONUS BETS when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet and deposit up to $700 or more! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

Bendigo Cup Preview

Spring Carnival Special Offer

pick your own free bet

Bet on Racing at William Hill

Bet on Horse Racing at Centrebet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

Bet on Horse Racing at CrownBet

Daily Racing Special Offers

Watch Live Victorian Racing

watch live racing

Free BlackBook Service


Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

The Bendigo Cup is a listed open handicap race that takes place midweek on a Wednesday at Epsom racecourse in Bendigo in October during the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 2400 metres and worth $250,000 in prizemoney. The 2013 Bendigo Cup was won by Sertorius from Massiyn with Kesampour third.

The Bendigo Jockey Club is located in the rural city of Bendigo which is about 150kms north-west of Melbourne and racing takes place at Epsom racecourse.

Bendigo Cup info
Date: Wednesday 28th October 2015
Track: Epsom racecourse, Bendigo
Distance: 2400 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Listed
Prizemoney: $250,000
2013 Winner: Sertorius

The Bendigo Cup brings a carnival like atmosphere to the Western District area and the city of Bendigo comes alive on Cup day to celebrate the running of their major cup for the year with local holidays and many festivities.

With the date change from mid November to late October in 2009 the Bendigo Cup now provides a good lead-up race to the Melbourne Cup the following Tuesday at Flemington and for 2011 & 2012 the race will be run over 2400m rather than 2200m to make it a more attractive proposition for those horses being aimed at our most famous race on the first Tuesday in November.

Sertorius (2013) finished runner-up in the listed Cranbourne Cup over 2025m at Cranbourne before winning this event and recent Bendigo Cup winners include Puissance De Lune (2012) and Tanby (2011).

Spring Carnival Guide
Up until 2008 the race was held in November, which was a couple of weeks after the Melbourne carnival ends. With with the race being moved to the Wednesday prior to the Melbourne Cup in 2009 it may start to provide some kind of guide to our greatest race in future years.

Traditionally the Bendigo Cup has attracted handy country type stayers who will most likely continue on the country cup circuit and may go on to the other main western districts race, the Ballarat Cup in mid November. With the change of date, some horses may go on and tackle a race like the Sandown Classic in November.

Sertorious (2013) had a consistent spring following his Bendigo Cup victory, running second in the Gr2 Queen Elizabeth Stakes at Flemington before winning the Gr2 Sandown Classic at Sandown the following week.

Darren Weir stayer Puissance De Lune (2012) won the Gr2 Queen Elizabeth Stakes over 2500m at Flemington after winning this race and My Bentley (2nd in 2010) took out the listed Ballarat Cup over 2200m at Ballarat the following month.

spring racing free bet

Bendigo Cup Day Information
Gates Open: 10am
Admission: Adult $25
Concessions: $20
Child: Free
Pensioner: $20

Bendigo Jockey Club
Heinz Street (PO Box 108)
White Hills
Bendigo Vic 3551
Tel: 03 5448 4209

Bendigo Track Map
Bendigo race track has a circumference of 1884m and provides horses with ample time to get settled with most starts having good runs before having to negotiate the first turn. The track itself is quite roomy and with a long straight length of 400m it gives horses every chance in the run to the line.

Bendigo Track Map

2013 Bendigo Cup result
1. $3.80 Sertorius 55.5 Ryan Maloney
2. $8.50 Massiyn 56.5 Brett Prebble
3. $7.00 Kesampour 57.5 Luke Nolen

then followed
4. $21.00 Angola 54.0 James Winks
5. $15.00 Folding Gear 56.5 Nicholas Hall
6. $14.00 Bit Of Hell 55.5 Craig Newitt
7. $8.00 Verdant 54.5 Chris Symons
8. $8.00 Gotta Take Care 54.5 Dean Yendall
9. $31.00 Packing Empire 54.0 Michael Walker
10. $9.00 Tuscan Fire 57.5 Nash Rawiller
11. $101.00 Umatic 54.0 Vlad Duric
12. $14.00 Hippopus 54.0 Tommy Berry

Margins: 1 1/2 len, 3/4 len
Time: 2:30.79

Bet now on the Bendigo Cup
join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join centrebet Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'CentreBest+' Bet now
Bendigo Cup recent winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2013 Sertorius Massiyn Kesampour 2:30.7
2012 Puissance De Lune Practiced Fiumicino 2:27.9
2011 Tanby At First Sight Western Symbol 2:28.7
2010 Dream Pedlar My Bentley Zauberin 2:18.2
2009 Zupacool Crossthestart Daka's Gem 2:15.0
2008 Banana Man Imvula Butwaittheresmore 2.28:8
2007 Captious Hoodlum On a Jeune 2:31.9
2006 Gallic Brindabella Home Sweet 2.31.9
2005 True Courser Belzain Garidar 2:30.3
2004 Gallic Jakodae Diamond Jake 2:32.5
2003 Western Waters Chairmans Choice Mr Prudent 2:28.3
2002 Forlorna (Ire.) Fearless Sophie Time Off 2:31.3
2001 Saboteur Betta Watch It Never Dull 2:28.3
2000 Yammer Western Outlaw Jamestown 2:34.4
1999 Majestic Avenue Jamestown Bohemiath 2:28.3
1998 Meeting Abandoned
1997 Napier Street My Satorial Northern Embossing 2:31.2
1996 Cockade Sovereign Lira The Red Man 2:33.4
1995 Double Take Broann Toil 2:28.3
1994 Ice Doctor Unsolved Seto Flowerian 2:27.2
1993 Frontier Boy Red Zaam Anfitrion 2:13.8
1992 Rasputins Revenge Awesome Mover Offshore Trust 2:17.5
1991 Stick Around Tisolde Home Show 2:14.6
1990 Jolly Good Thought Aquidity Cool Credit 2:16.3
1989 Chigarow French Icing Our Magic Man 2:16.7
1988 Bettota Bronze Knight Jolly Good Thought 2:14.9

Best Australian Bookmaker for Bendigo Cup free bets


© 2008 - 2015 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 70 863 499 360 | Beejayville Pty Ltd | All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission.
All free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions and free bet joining offers exclude NSW, VIC, WA & SA residents.