horse racing info

WA Champion Fillies Stakes

The WA Champion Fillies Stakes is a Group 3 race for three-year-old fillies held annually each November at Ascot racecourse in Perth, Western Australia. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres under set weight conditions and worth $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2016 WA Champion Fillies Stakes was won by Samovare from Ellicazoom with I Am Boudica third.

In 2007, a change of race programming saw the race moved from December to February to be held alongside the Magic Millions Perth 2yo Classic and Magic Millions Perth 3yo Trophy, but the race was moved back to November for the 2011/2012 racing season, meaning the race was held twice in 2011. The autumn edition of the 2011 WA Champion Fillies Stakes was won by Dreamaway from Moonlight Bay and Miss Vinnoire.

2017 WA Champion Fillies Stakes info

Date: Saturday 18th November 2017
Track: Ascot racecourse, Perth
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $200,000
2016 Winner: Samovare

The WA Champion Fillies Stakes is a well regarded set weight race for three-year-old fillies in Western Australia and is only exceeded in prizemoney by the Gr3 WA Oaks held during the autumn in March. Most of the time the winner will be just a more than handy local galloper who will not go on to be anything special and will simply be competitive in similar type races.

Occasionally a star filly may come along such as Perfect Reflection (2015) who will go on to bigger and better things. The Grant Williams trained filly took out the Gr1 Kingston Town Classic at her next start after winning this race in impressivefashion.

Typically, this race is the logical lead up to the WA Oaks for those fillies with staying potential and winners or placegetters in this race may go on and tackle the feature 3yo event for fillies in March. In recent times, Dreamaway (2011) and Impressive Jeuney (2nd in 2010) have gone on to win the WA Oaks, while Superior Star (2002) also managed to take out the premier fillies race.

Samovare (2016) ran third in the Listed Burgess Queen Stakes over 1400m at Ascot before winning this event and recent WA Champion Fillies Stakes winners include Perfect Reflection (2015) and Delicacy (2014).

2016 WA Champion Fillies Stakes result

1. $5.00 Samovare 55.5 Brad Parnham
2. $3.20 Ellicazoom 55.5 Steven Parnham
3. $4.20 I Am Boudica 55.5 Paul Harvey

then followed
4. $151.00 Just Like Fire 55.5 Shaun O'Donnell
5. $3.00 Caipirinha 55.5 Joseph Azzopardi
6. $6.50 Royal Missile 55.5 Peter Knuckey
7. $31.00 Elegant Blast 55.5 Patrick Carbery
8. $71.00 Smallamountofmerit 55.5 Ms Renee Forrest
9. $101.00 Chill The Champers 55.5 Aaron Mitchell
10. $101.00 Quest To Venus 55.5 Ryan Hill
11. $61.00 Nice Go 55.5 Jarrad Noske
12. $151.00 Jenabel 55.5 Shaun Mc Gruddy

Margins: 1 len, 2.5 len
Time: 1:35.82

Bet now on the WA Champion Fillies Stakes

join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now

WA Champion Fillies Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Samovare Ellicazoom I Am Boudica 1:35.8
2015 Perfect Reflection Arcadia Dream Blackwood 1:36.5
2014 Delicacy Dancing Express Ideal Image 1:35.4
2013 Miss Rose De Lago Via Laurentina Blamont Girl 1:35.2
2012 Fuddle Dee Duddle Bippo No Bungus Antique Belle 1:36.0
2011 Eight Till Late Red Hot Sax Almachino 1:36.9
2011 Dreamaway Moonlight Bay Miss Vinnoire 1:36.0
2010 Le Plunge Impressive Jeuney For Your Eyes Only 1:35.3
2009 Danebeela All Class Flight Path 1.34:6
2008 Spirited One Hifalutin Xaar Boom 1:35.0
2006 Catechuchu Clarecastle Bella Pia 1:35.0
2005 Hi On Love Danish Sea Wave Rock 1:35.8
2004 Stormy Nova Moet Magic Holy Bounty 1:36.3
2003 Spirited Lady Tissot Belhari 1:37.9
2002 Superior Star Miss Belhus Trimagic 1:37.0
2001 Miss Precisely Fortune Streak Honor Lap 1:38.8
2001 Tribula Monkey Business Torolosa 1:38.0
2000 Ellendale Uma Princess Gwalia Girl 1:38.1
1999 Kim Angel Tutulia Bay Society Miss 1:35.4
1998 Calophylia All Whiskey Ballet Girl 1:37.2
1997 Duendee Shades Of Savile Lunar Halo 1:37.3
1996 Mercurial Madam Eastern Zone Our Big Bonnie 1:35.6
1995 Dance Hi Lostralia Secret Weapon 1:36.5
1994 Zabanella Just Hopeful Oh Sister 1:36.4
1993 Prime Again Diamonds Of Spring Rainbow Alley 1:36.3
1992 Chancery Star Chevega Zara Magic 1:36.1
1991 Oh Pretty Woman Tasteful Lady Future Edition 1:35.9
1990 Strip The Moon Stray Bullet Vegas Vixen 1:34.4
1989 Lady Of Battle Yuleda Port Princess 1:35.4
1988 Surfside Lady Cheridge Tropical Touch 1:35.7