horse racing info

Ottawa Stakes

The Ottawa Stakes is a Group 3 set weights race for two-year-old fillies that takes place each year at Flemington racecourse during the Melbourne spring racing carnival in November. The race is run over a distance of 1000 metres and worth $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Ottawa Stakes was won by Bella Rosa from Lankan Star with Champagne Boom third.

Taking place on the same day as our most famous race, the Group 1 Melbourne Cup, the Ottawa Stakes was upgraded to Group 3 status for the 2013/2014 racing season and has been run as the 'Emirates Airline Plate' in recent times.

Ottawa Stakes info

Date: Tuesday 5th November 2019
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1000 metres
Race Type: 2yo Fillies - Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2018 Winner: Bella Rosa

The Ottawa Stakes is a fillies only event run under set weight conditions that generally assembles a field of handy two-year-olds where the classier females have a clear advantage over their rivals due to the level weights playing field.

Run down the Flemington '1000m' straight course where every filly will get their chance in the run, the Ottawa Stakes can often be a minefield for punters and any fillies with proven straight track form are likely to run well again.

Bella Rosa (2018) debuted with a narrow victory in this event for the Ciaron Maher & David Eustace stable at Caulfield. Recent Ottawa Stakes winners include Setsuna (2017) and Invincible Star (2016).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

2018 Ottawa Stakes result

1. $7.50 Bella Rosa 56.0 Mark Zahra
2. $9.50 Lankan Star 56.0 Damien Oliver
3. $3.00 Champagne Boom 56.0 Craig Williams

then followed
4. $3.50 Sisstar 56.0 Luke Currie
5. $21.00 Calmyourfarm 56.0 Clayton Douglas
6. $21.00 Magnicity 56.0 Jye McNeil
7. $26.00 First Dawn 56.0 Ben Thompson
8. $21.00 Song Brocade 56.0 Noel Callow
9. $31.00 Leale 56.0 Beau Mertens
10. $61.00 Anikery 56.0 Jake Noonan
11. $17.00 Dreamtime Lady 56.0 Brett Prebble

Margins: 0.1 len, 0.2 len
Time: 0:59.61

Bet now on the Ottawa Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Ottawa Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Ottawa Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Bella Rosa Lankan Star Champagne Boom 0:59.6
2017 Setsuna Roobeena Aristocratic Miss 0:58.2
2016 Invincible Star Lucky Louie Madeenaty 0:58.3
2015 Concealer Prompt Response Missrock 0:57.3
2014 Antelucan Thurlow Dagny 0:57.8
2013 Oakleigh Girl Top Dolly Singularity 0:57.5
2012 Villa Verde Purrific Thump 0:56.7
2011 Applegate Snitzerland Alezan Thunder 0:58.5