horse racing info

Maribyrnong Plate

The Maribyrnong Plate is a Group 3 set weight event for two-year-olds held at Flemington racecourse each year in November at Flemington racecourse in melbourne, Victoria. The race is run over a distance of 1000 metres down the straight course and worth $150,000 in prize money. The 2019 Maribyrnong Plate was won by Hard Landing from Baaqyah with Tagaloa third.

Many a good horse has stepped for the first time in the Maribyrnong Plate during the Melbourne spring racing carnival. It takes place on Oaks Day this year, alongside the Group 1 VRC Oaks for fillies.

Maribyrnong Plate info

Date: Thursday 5th November 2020
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1000 metres
Race Type: 2yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000
2019 Winner: Hard Landing

The Maribyrnong Plate is the only group event held for two-year-olds during the Flemington carnival and the race generally attracts good quality youngsters of varying ability. It can quite often produce a genuine star in the making.

Raced down the Flemington straight 1000m course, it can often cause problems for nervous, inexperienced two-year-olds trying to negotiate the straight track for the first time, especially with the loud crowd noise during Cup week.

A host of Australia's finest gallopers have kick start their career with a win in this race. Top horses to salute include Bel Esprit (2001), Testa Rossa (1998), Canny Lad (1989), Show County (1988), Rancho Ruler (1986) and Rancher (1981). Winners of this race quite often go on to become stars of the Australian turf.

Interestingly enough, Shamus Award (3rd in 2012) went on to win the Group 1 WS Cox Plate at Moonee Valley the following year as a three-year-old maiden.

Vinicunca (2019) scored an excellent debut victory in this event for the Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott stable, while recent Maribyrnong Plate winners include Run Naan (2017) and Aspect (2016).

sportsbet racing form

2019 Maribyrnong Plate result

1. $8.50 Hard Landing 57.0 Luke Nolen
2. $21.00 Baaqyah 55.0 Jamie Kah
3. $6.00 Tagaloa 57.0 Nash Rawiller

then followed
4. $11.00 Jerle 57.0 Craig Williams
5. $15.00 Glenfiddich 57.0 Beau Mertens
6. $61.00 Galactic Fury 57.0 Ryan Moore
7. $9.00 Rathlin 57.0 Mark Zahra
8. $5.50 Castlecomer 57.0 James McDonald
9. $5.50 Arctic Ice 55.0 Damian Lane
10. $21.00 Eastern Wind 57.0 Damien Oliver
11. $14.00 Luiselli 55.0 Dwayne Dunn
12. $15.00 Boom Daddy 57.0 Stephen Baster
13. $61.00 Coup De Tonnerre 57.0 John Allen

Margins: 0.1 len, 2 len
Time: 0:58.92

Bet now on the Maribyrnong Plate

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Maribyrnong Plate odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Maribyrnong Plate winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Hard Landing Baaqyah Tagaloa 0:58.9
2018 Vinicunca Art Collection Chicago Bull 0:58.6
2017 Run Naan Encryption Belzella 0:57.3
2016 Aspect Cao Cao Wait For No One 0:59.5
2015 Power Trip Flying Artie Gloriette 0:58.8
2014 Prompt Return Old Trieste Sailing By 0:57.5
2012 Direct Charge Crack A Roadie Shamus Award 0:58.3
2011 Real Stolle Andre Roo Hoo Magnus Reign 0:57.7
2010 Arctic Command Aashiq Running Tall 0:57.9
2009 General Truce Sweet Cheeks She's Got Gears 0:57.2
2008 Our Joan Of Arc Zaffaan Happy Knockout 0.58.3
2007 Exceedingly Good Reaan Nato 0:57.5
2006 Husson Lightning Deferential Meurice 0:57.9
2005 Nadeem Follow The Till Bariagarney 0:57.5
2004 Jiang Seidnazar Strikes Back 1:00.3
2003 Sanziro Love Jeddah Insurgents 0:58.2
2002 Ra Sun Pinchbeck Express Ball 0:58.3
2001 Bel Esprit Nessuno Cousy 0:57.0
2000 Langoustine Desert Angel Malagra Miss 0:57.6
1999 Happy Giggle Preserve Pembleton 1:00.3
1998 Testa Rossa Real Jester Walk The Wild Side 0:56.6
1997 Catnipped Prowl Piccadilly Circus 0:58.5
1996 Lady Of The Pines Tregurrian Deceive 0:57.7
1995 Flavour Samudera Encosta De Lago 1:05.1
1994 Exclusive Halo Principality More Luskin 1:13.3
1993 Tennessee Morn Racer's Edge Exceller 0:57.3
1992 The Heavyweight Clever Zoe Sports Works 0:59.6
1991 Cathfire Vertingly Rhythm 0:58.1
1990 Raise A Rhythm Lady Purpose Pampas Fire 0:57.5
1989 Canny Lad Manitor Century Pike 0:57.2
1988 Show County Momentaire Sculptured Arch 0:58.3
1987 Sculpture's Blue Blazing Sword Almurtajaz 0:57.7
1986 Rancho Ruler Proven Valour Omnicorp 0:59.4
1985 Lord Mornington Roman Laurel She Flys 0:58.5
1984 New Atlantis Eminency No Parole 0:58.3
1983 Martec Love A Kiss Kingston Jamaica 0:58.8
1982 Brave Show Belle Tetue Keepers 0:59.7
1981 Rancher Trading Post Jack O'Dandy 0:58.9
1980 Fire Thunder Bocada She's Blushing 1:00.0