, Lee Steere Classic - Ascot - Perth Summer Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Lee Steere Classic

The Lee Steere Classic is a Listed three-year-old race held in December each year at Ascot racecourse in Perth, Western Australia during the Perth summer racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and worth $150,000 in prize money. The 2019 Lee Steere Classic was won by Sanabreanna from Massimo with Laverrod third.

Held on the same day as the Group 1 Kingston Town Classic, the Lee Steere Classic is named after former Western Australian Turf Club chairman, Ernest Henry Lee-Steere. The race was downgraded from Group 3 to Listed class during the 2017/2018 racing season.

Lee Steere Classic info

Date: Saturday 4th December 2021
Track: Ascot racecourse, Perth
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Listed
Prize Money: $150,000
2019 Winner: Sanabreanna

The Lee Steere Classic is a set weights race for three-year-olds that suits the better performed gallopers due to the level weighted conditions. Mostly local horses contest this race and the field usually attracts those gallopers who may have contested the Gr2 WA Guineas earlier in the carnival. The shorter trip of this race suits those horses who found the 1600m Guineas distance too far.

The last horse to win the WA Guineas & Lee Steere Classic double was Classy Dresser (1993), while Stormy Nova (2004), Changing Lanes (2003) and Dexian (2001) all ran placings in the WA Guineas before winning this race.

Another race that offers a good guide to the Lee Steere Classic is the listed Placid Ark Stakes, and Liberty's Gem was the last galloper to claim the Lee Steere Classic & Placid Ark Stakes double. Both Hard Ball Get (2012) and Night War (2011) ran placings in the Placid Ark Stakes on their way to winning this event.

The Velvet King (2018) ran fifth in the WA Guineas over 1600m at Ascot before pulling out all stops to win this event for trainer Darren Mcauliffe.

Recent Lee Steere Classic winners include War Room (2017) and Lusaha (2016).

2019 Lee Steere Classic result

1. $5.00 Sanabreanna 53.0 Joseph Azzopardi
2. $2.30 Massimo 57.0 William Pike
3. $3.40 Laverrod 55.0 Patrick Carbery

then followed
4. $7.50 War Saint 59.0 Chris Parnham
5. $101.00 Three Eze 55.0 Jason Whiting
6. $19.00 Annihilator 55.0 Brad Parnham
7. $51.00 Special Beau 55.0 Peter Hall
8. $15.00 Widespread 56.0 Damien Oliver

Margins: 0.61 len, 1.25 len
Time: 1:23.36

Bet now on the Lee Steere Classic

We recommended Unibet for the best Lee Steere Classic odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Lee Steere Classic winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Sanabreanna Massimo Laverrod 1:23.3
2018 The Velvet King Festival Miss Regal Power 1:25.0
2017 War Room Gaulois Reykjavik 1:24.7
2016 Lusaha Caipirinha Precious Memories 1:23.8
2015 Lite'n In My Veins Yoshi Noxious Pushin' Shapes 1:27.1
2014 Liberty's Gem Outlaw Pete Hobart Jones 1:23.9
2013 Petrol Power Shades Of Rio Moet Me 1:23.5
2012 Hard Ball Get Fuddle Dee Duddle Passion Cantata 1:25.8
2011 Night War Watermans Bay Born To Excel 1:23.7
2010 Playcidium Mint Black Felix Veracious 1:23.1
2009 Dino Mak Impressive Jeuney The Corporation 1:22.2
2008 Destino Sheenasaidgrey Liquidation 1:22.5
2007 Yuro Belle Of Kenmare Black In Time 1:23.1
2006 Mansion House Cash In The Bank Clarecastle 1:23.1
2005 (Jan) Stormy Nova Moet Magic My Leo 1:22.4
2005 (Dec) Secret Monarch Homme Narrnoo 1:22.4
2003 Changing Lanes Hartley's Dream Chaumont 1:25.0
2002 Early Express Very Auspicious Zoometric 1:23.3
2001 Dexian Kame's Hope Shamrock Son 1:23.6
2000 Master Park Old Comrade The Tin Man 1:25.7
1999 Fly My Kite Highwood Victory Trump 1:23.1
1998 Zedamoss Firebrand Centagon 1:23.8
1997 Wolf Pack Walken Imperial Act 1:24.1
1996 The Medic Victory Dash Play Dice 1:22.6
1995 Ned's Brother Cash In The Bank Journalette 1:24.5
1994 Discussion Gambino Isolated Duke 1:22.9
1994 Mobile Link Jacks Or Better Don Pasquuale 1:23.1
1993 Classy Dresser Top Lunch Asian Incline 1:23.5
1992 Mount Angelo Ranshow Evil Lad 1:23.1
1991 Paklani Hall The Chief Blonde Jev 1:23.7
1990 Stray Bullet Pago Escort Strip The Moon 1:25.8
1989 Lady Of Battle Magic Message Sheer Ice 1:22.4
1988 Edge Of Darkness Muros Nymph Harare Lad 1:23.3