, Karrakatta Plate - Ascot Racecourse - Perth Autumn Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Karrakatta Plate

The Karrakatta Plate is a Group 2 set weights race for two-year-olds held each year at Ascot racecourse in Perth, Western Australia. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $500,000 in prize money. The 2020 Karrakatta Plate was won by Ima Single Man from Watch Me Dance with Dark Assault third.

Taking place on the same day as the Group 3 WA Oaks for fillies, the Karrakatta Plate is Western Australia's premier 2yo event and is one of the main feature races of the Perth autumn racing carnival in Western Australia.

Karrakatta Plate info

Date: Saturday 3rd April 2021
Track: Ascot racecourse, Perth
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 2yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $500,000
2020 Winner: Ima Single Man

The Karrakatta Plate generally attracts Perth's best two-year-old gallopers for the big prize money on offer and some quality gallopers have won this race over the years. Two-year-olds contesting this event may continue on to the upcoming Gr3 WA Sires Produce Stakes at the same track the following month over 1400 metres.

In recent times Whispering Brook (2016), Luke's Luck (2012), Motion Pictures (2010), Brava Fortune (2008) and Roman Time (2007) have all won the Karrakatta Plate & WA Sires Produce Stakes double, while a number of horses have run placings in both races over the past few years. Lordhelpmerun (3rd in 2018), Debellatio (3rd in 2017) and Showy Chloe (3rd in 2015) all captured the WA Sires Produce Stakes at their next start.

Karrakatta Plate winners tend to be more than handy types rather than top quality and they typically don't go on to become elite stars of the turf. Occasionally an eastern states galloper might make their way over to Perth to have a crack at the excellent prize money on offer.

Dig Deep (2019) ran fourth in the Listed Perth Stakes over 1100m at Ascot before producing an eye-catching performance to win this event for the Daniel & Ben Pearce stable.

Recent Karrakatta Plate winners include Valour Road (2018) and Lucy Mae (2017).

2020 Karrakatta Plate result

1. $12.00 Ima Single Man 57.5 Jordan Turner
2. $11.00 Watch Me Dance 55.5 Shaun McGruddy
3. $41.00 Dark Assault 57.5 Jarrad Noske

then followed
4. $1.50 Gemma's Son 57.5 Paul Harvey
5. $11.00 Starfield Impact 55.5 Jason Whiting
6. $19.00 American Choice 55.5 William Pike
7. $17.00 Solaia 55.5 Chris Parnham
8. $21.00 Dom To Shoot 57.5 Patrick Carbery
9. $101.00 Justhandy 55.5 Clint Johnston-Porter
10. $81.00 Our Danni 55.5 Ms Lucy Warwick
11. $81.00 Precautionary 55.5 Shaun O'Donnell
12. $91.00 Come Magic 55.5 Brad Parnham
13. $71.00 Time Scale 55.5 Joseph Azzopardi
14. $81.00 Brooklyn Pier 57.5 Steven Parnham

Margins: 0.07 len, 0.31 len
Time: 1:10.30

Bet now on the Karrakatta Plate

We recommended Unibet for the best Karrakatta Plate odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Karrakatta Plate winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Ima Single Man Watch Me Dance Dark Assault 1:10.3
2019 Dig Deep Tinsnip Miss West Coast 1:11.5
2018 Valour Road Lady Cosmology Lordhelpmerun 1:10.4
2017 Lucy Mae Achernar Star Debellatio 1:10.3
2016 Whispering Brook Spangled Impact Saul's Special 1:11.1
2015 Lucky Street Mystic Maid Showy Chloe 1:10.6
2014 Hobart Jones Vitalism Jezpark 1:11.4
2013 Ms Funovits Trichologist Camporella 1:10.7
2012 Luke's Luck Keeper Quiet Miss Solis 1:11.2
2011 Night War Benny's Halo Rebel Call 1:11.5
2010 Motion Pictures Miss Gai Flyer Absolute Pleasure 1:10.3
2009 Gold Rocks Wolfe Dream Dontrocktheboat 1:10.4
2008 Brava Fortune Grand Nirvana Pegase 1:10.7
2007 Roman Time Scenic Blast Jestatune 1:10.5
2006 Canny Jack Oroya Gold Paris Petard 1:10.3
2005 No Questions Hantu Ripped 1:11.9
2004 Redwoldt Metaldale Refemme 1:11.5
2003 Diffraction Shout From Maroof Yarraman 1:10.5
2002 Confront Zoometric Femme 1:11.0
2001 Born Priceless Brocky's Dream Classic Cut 1:11.7
2000 Metal Master Simon Said King Of The Kites 1:10.8
1999 Climb The Vine Fire Dancer Penny Call 1:11.7
1998 Bomber Bill Rose Of Dane Old Nick 1:10.1
1997 Not Held
1996 Umah Sauvignon Valley American Quilt 1:11.3
1996 Alabama Whirly Nogero Pitchblende 1:12.5
1995 Daney Boy Tell Me Straight Hagi 1:11.3
1994 Jacks Or Better Martone Magic Serious Matter 1:11.3
1993 Not Held
1992 Dynamic Beau Daring Hombre Star Of Nouvelle 1:11.9
1991 Lady Kariba Yachtie Palace Reign 1:11.2
1990 Umatilla Kontiki Lass Ace On Target 1:11.1
1989 Highpak Dancing Away Kid Karrinyup 1:10.1
1988 Hold That Smile Al Khawaaneeg Timeless Action 1:10.3