horse racing info

Chairman's Handicap

The Chairman's Handicap is a Group 3 quality handicap race that typically takes place in May at Doomben racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland during the Brisbane winter racing canrival. The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres and worth $125,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Chairmans Handicap was won by Anton En Avant from Lovani with Rising Red third.

Held alongside the Group 1 Doomben 10,000, on the first day of the Doomben racing carnival, the Chairman's Handicap is one of a number of group races on a big day of racing for the Brisbane Racing Club.

Chairmans Handicap info

Date: Saturday 11th May 2019
Track: Doomben racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2018 Winner: Anton En Avant

The Chairman's Handicap is a middle distance race run under quality handicap conditions and tends to attract handy local stayers rather than the upper echelon. Over the years some good gallopers have managed to get their name on the honour roll including Society Beau (2002), Iron Horse (1997), Juggler (1996) and Arborea (1995).

The Gr2 Hollindale Stakes held earlier in the carnival at the Gold Coast racecourse may provide potential candidates for the Chairmans Handicap and upcoming distance races like the Gr3 Premier's Cup at Doomben could be next on the horizon for staying types contesting this event.

A race like the Gr2 PJ O'Shea Stakes might also be on the radar and Quintessential (2013) was the most recent galloper to claim the Chairmans Handicap and PJ O'Shea Stakes double.

Anton En Avant (2018) finished unplaced in the Listed Tails Stakes over 1600m at Doomben before finding his best form to win this event and recent Chairman's Handicap winners include Stampede (2017) and Real Love (2016) and Epingle (2015).

2018 Chairman's Handicap result

1. $151.00 Anton En Avant 54.0 Matthew McGillivray
2. $12.00 Lovani 54.0 Tim Clark
3. $7.00 Rising Red 55.5 Corey Brown

then followed
4. $5.50 Xebec 54.0 Jeff Lloyd
5. $7.50 Interlocuter 58.5 Damian Browne
6. $17.00 Megablast 59.0 Michael Coleman
7. $51.00 Miss Dubois 54.0 Ms Kathy O'Hara
8. $31.00 Tumultuous 55.5 Glen Colless
9. $101.00 Queen Of Wands 54.0 Jim Byrne
10. $13.00 Jumbo Prince 57.5 Ron Stewart
11. $61.00 All In Vogue 54.0 Michael Cahill
12. $31.00 Articus 55.5 Glyn Schofield
13. $21.00 Kaharau 57.0 Craig Williams
14. $31.00 Mr Epic 55.0 James Orman
15. $3.60 Goathland 54.0 Kerrin McEvoy

Margins: 0.5 len, 0.1 len
Time: 2:03.40

Bet now on the BRC Chairmans Handicap

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best BRC Chairmans Handicap odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

BRC Chairmans Handicap winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Anton En Avant Lovani Rising Red 2:03.4
2016 Real Love Sir John Hawkwood Volkhere 2:00.9
2015 Epingle Index Linked Volkhere 2:18.3
2014 Pretty Pins Danchai Brave Ali 2:02.9
2013 Quintessential Rothera Sysmo 2:15.4
2012 Hume Ironstein Warrior Within 2:03.2
2011 Humma Viking Hero Count Encosta 2:04.8
2010 Crossthestart Larry's Never Late The Grogoch 2:06.3
2009 Ballack Rabbuka Sir Slick 2:03.3
2008 Fulmonti Diamondsondinside Legendary Man 2:04.5
2007 Mandela Mirkola Lass Bikkie Tin Blues 2:01.0
2006 Art Success Game On Hello Possums 2:30.7
2005 Zingam Classic Karla Chinbok 2:04.4
2004 So Assertive Domine King Keitel 2:03.5
2003 Another Warrior Raw Instinct We're Dancing 2:03.6
2002 Society Beau Kreisler Mirage Raw Instinct 2:03.9
2001 Citi Habit Kazakh Belle Silent Impact 2:02.7
2000 Kazakh Belle Lord Oscar Reputed Groom 2:05.3
1999 Cronus Bold Impulse Sir Native Chief 2:03.9
1998 Yacquina Bay Intergaze Cronus 2:03.9
1997 Iron Horse Zero Limit Sharscay 2:04.2
1996 Juggler Priceless Asset Telltina 2:09.6
1995 Arborea Prieur Way Comitatus 2:05.7
1994 Salcantay Brero Full Suit 2:05.0
1993 Silk Ali Baggio Talent Scout 2:04.4
1992 Full Suit Fleet Dancer Corndale 2:08.2
1991 Majestic Boy Coconut Ice Cool Credit 2:05.1
1990 Sir Nova Our Palliser Ricochet Rosie 2:05.5
1989 Miss Fleet Field Dancer Stormy Glynis 2:09.0
1988 Miss Stephenson Prince Toronaga Evasion 2:06.8