, The Bart Cummings - Flemington racecourse - Turnbull Stakes Day
horse racing info

The Bart Cummings

The Bart Cummings is a Group 3 quality handicap race held each year in early October at Flemington racecourse in Melbourne, Victoria. The race is run over a distance of 2500 metres and worth $500,000 in prize money. The 2020 The Bart Cummings was won by Persan from Sound with Steel Prince third.

Previously a listed race, The Bart Cummings was upgraded to Group 3 status for the 2014/2015 racing season and takes place on Group 1 Turnbull Stakes day. The Bart Cummings is exempt from ballot for the 2016 Melbourne Cup, joining Hotham Handicap, Mackinnon Stakes, Caulfield Cup and Cox Plate.

The Bart Cummings info

Date: Saturday 2nd October 2021
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2500 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $500,000
2020 Winner: Persan

The Bart Cummings is the first longer distance group race of the Melbourne spring and generally attracts staying types that are just below the upper echelon, with the handicap conditions lending themselves to the better weighted runners engaged. Now and then a classy stayer may contest this race, such as Alamndin (2016), who went on to win the Melbourne Cup on the first Tuesday in November.

Earlier middle distance events like the Gr3 Naturalism Stakes at Caulfield or the JRA Cup at Moonee Valley are possible lead up races to The Bart Cummings, especially for those horses looking to step up in distance towards the longer feature races ahead.

The upcoming Gr3 Herbert Power Stakes at Caulfield might be next in line for the better stayers going around. Sea Moon (2nd in 2013) followed up his narrow victory in this event with victory in the Herbert Power Stakes at his next start.

Surprise Baby (2019) ran fourth in the Group 2 Feehan Stakes over 1600m at Moonee valley before finishing strongly to win this event in commanding fashion for Horsham trainer Paul Preusker.

Recent The Bart Cummings winners include Avilius (2018) and Amelie's Star (2017).

Spring Carnival Guide

Wolfe (3rd in 2019) scored a top win in the Group 3 Coongy Handicap at Caulfield after winning this event.

Smart stayer Almandin (2016) captured the Melbourne Cup, defeating Heartbreak City in an exciting finish up the famous Flemington straight.

Who Shot Thebarman (2014) ran third in the Melbourne Cup after scoring in this event.

Araldo (2013) managed to run third in the Gr3 Hotham Handicap at Flemington on the first day of the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival, while Sea Moon (2nd in 2013) won the Herbert Power Stakes at his next start. Gotta Take Care (3rd in 2013) came third in the Gr2 Moonee Valley Cup on Cox Plate day at Moonee Valley.

Tanby (2012) went on to finish third in the Gr3 Queen Elizabeth Stakes at Flemington during the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival before winning the Gr2 Sandown Classic at Sandown.

Mourayan (2011) ran second in the Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes on Derby Day at Flemington and Niwot (2nd in 2011) took out Hotham Handicap on the same day after they finished first & second in this event.

2020 The Bart Cummings result

1. $10.00 Persan 55.0 Jye McNeil
2. $15.00 Sound 57.5 Jamie Kah
3. $7.50 Steel Prince 58.0 Mark Zahra

then followed
4. $5.50 Schabau 55.0 William Pike
5. $5.00 Shared Ambition 58.5 Craig Williams
6. $15.00 Creedence 56.0 Michael Poy
7. $10.00 Admire Robson 55.0 Brett Prebble
8. $5.50 Lord Belvedere 57.5 Ben Melham
9. $101.00 Super Girl 55.0 Jordan Childs
10. $81.00 Good Idea 55.0 Craig Newitt
11. $61.00 Haky 58.0 Declan Bates
12. $61.00 South Pacific 55.0 Michael Dee
13. $31.00 Dabiyr 55.0 Michael Walker
14. $31.00 Game Keeper 55.0 Luke Currie
15. $61.00 Young Rascal 60.5 John Allen

Margins: 1 len, 0.1 len
Time: 2:36.24

Bet now on the The Bart Cummings

We recommended Unibet for the best The Bart Cummings odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

The Bart Cummings winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Persan Sound Steel Prince 2:36.2
2019 Surprise Baby Supernova Wolfe 2:38.6
2018 Avilius Jaameh Yogi 2:35.4
2018 Avilius Jaameh Yogi 2:35.4
2017 Amelie's Star Granddukeoftuscany Kellstorm 2:37.6
2016 Almandin Zanteca Excess Knowledge 2:37.4
2015 Let's Make Adeal Our Ivanhowe Hawkspur 2:35.6
2014 Who Shot Thebarman Marksmanship Anudjawun 2:39.6
2013 Araldo Sea Moon Gotta Take Care 2:38.2
2012 Tanby Maluckyday Dame Claire 2:36.6
2011 Mourayan Niwot Showcause 2:40.7