horse racing info

Seymour Cup

The Seymour Cup is a Open Handicap open handicap 1600 race held annually on a Sunday at Seymour racecourse during the Melbourne Spring racing carnival in mid October. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and worth $150,000 in prize money. The 2019 Seymour Cup was won by Admiral's Joker from A Shin Rook with Chapada third.

The Seymour Racing Club is situated just off the Hume Highway, 100km from central Melbourne, and is located in the heartland of Victoria’s Thoroughbred Country, the home of Darley, Swettenham and Chatswood Studs.

A $5.15 million track upgrade took place at Seymour during the 2016/2017 season. The Seymour Cup did not take place in 2018 as the track was unfit for racing.

Seymour Cup info

Date: Sunday 18th October 2020
Track: Seymour racecourse, Seymour
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Listed
Prize Money: $150,000
2019 Winner: Admiral's Joker

The Seymour Cup is an above average country cup and generally assembles competitive horses on the country circuit while every now and then a good class city galloper may make the trip to Seymour for the easier pickings on offer.

Admiral's Joker (2019) took out a Handicap race over 1400m at Caulfield prior to winning this event in good style for Colac trainer Kylie Vella.

South Australian trained Balf's Choice (2017) ran fifth in the Listed Tokyo City Cup over 1800m at Morphettville in Adelaide before heading to Seymour to win this event and recent Seymour Cup winners include Turn Me Loose (2015) and Bel Thor (2014).

Spring Carnival Guide

The race is a country cup over the shorter distance of 1600m and is not traditonally a good guide to the major middle distance or mile races of the spring carnival, although Turn Me Loose (2015) headed to Moonee Valley at his next start to win the Gr2 Crystal Mile before winning the major mile race of the spring, the Group 1 Emirates Stakes.

Tears I Cry (3rd in 2007) placed in the Crystal Mile at his next start on WS Cox Plate day before going on to win the the Emirates Stakes on the final day of the Flemington carnival.

sportsbet racing form

Seymour Cup Day info

Gates Open: 10.30am
Adults: $20
Concession: $15
Children 16 and under, free when accompanied by an adult

Seymour Racing Club
55 Kobyboyn Road (Po Box 85)
Seymour, VIC, 3660
Tel: 03 5799 1681

Seymour Track Map

Seymour race track has a circumference of 1800m with a straight length of 380m. The soil is sandy loam and provides an all weather grass track throughout the year. All races up to 1300m have to negotiate only one turn. which is the turn into the straight.

seymour track map

2019 Seymour Cup result

1. $4.00 Admiral's Joker 56.0 Craig Williams
2. $5.00 A Shin Rook 55.5 Damian Lane
3. $2.00 Chapada 56.5 Damien Oliver

then followed
4. $6.00 Heptagon 54.5 Michael Dee
5. $1.00 Runaway 59.5 Stephen Baster
6. $3.00 Red Alto 56.5 Luke Nolen

Margins: 0.75 len, 1 len
Time: 1:37.79

Bet now on the Seymour Cup

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Seymour Cup odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Seymour Cup winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Admiral's Joker A Shin Rook Chapada 1:37.7
2017 Balf's Choice Radipole Moss'n'Dale 1:35.9
2015 Turn Me Loose Scream Machine Garud 1:35.0
2014 Bel Thor Our Hand Of Faith Another Prelate 1:36.4
2013 Sysmo Proverb Lord Wimble 1:36.6
2012 Callanish Over Quota Tribal Rock 1:36.4
2011 Tiakinui Smoulder La Rocket 1:35.7
2010 Our Lukas Conquering Red Colossus 1:35.5
2009 Mandela Pillar Of Hercules Excelltastic 1:35.7
2008 Aztec Smytzer God's Hand Dorabella 1:35.7
2007 Correct Amoondo You Sexy Boy Tears I Cry 1:37.4
2006 Thin And Crispy Hidden Strings Lifes A Bounty 1:36.1
2005 Lifes A Bounty Stamen Requisite 1:34.6
2004 Stamen Mooball Fonome 1:35.9
2003 Storm Attack Burglar Tooborack 1:36.1
2002 Dane River Brittish Buska Gunnamatta 1:34.3
2001 Elkabayo Aquiver Prince Benbara 1:34.9
2000 Panoramic Lad Gold Boom Vetyvere 1:35.7
1999 Typhoon Barney Stormy Jim Honourable Mention 1:35.9
1998 Final Teppo Party Prince Siri Nelg 1:36.9
1997 Shistaad Video Fan Reeperbahn 1:37.8
1996 Video Fan McGuane Confirmed Bachelor 1:39.2
1995 Toil Grey Alex Sockerano 1:36.7
1994 Spring Theme Strike High Sable Dreamer 1:37.7
1993 State Taj Lord Keitel Blame 1:40.3
1992 Coolong Road Mamzelle Perdu Time Of My Life 1:38.0
1991 Purple Curse Ritual Star High Waters 1:38.1
1990 Zaparri Brilliant Invasion Universal Ambition 1:33.5
1989 Cosign Mind My Boy Black Charleston 1:39.5
1988 Water Boatman Springfield Lad Kingston Lane 1:38.5

The Seymour Cup was not run in 2016 due to track upgrades.