horse racing info

La Trice Classic Preview

The La Trice Classic is a Group 3 race for Fillies & Mares that takes place on New Year's Day each year at Ascot racecourse in Perth, Western Australia. The race is run over a distance of 1800 metres under set weight & penalty conditions and is worth $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2019 La Trice Classic was won by Celebrity Dream from Fontainebleau with Mouquet third.

Held during the Perth summer racing carnival, the La Trice Classic was upgraded to a Group 3 event for the 2014/2015 racing season and is held on the same day as the feature distance event of the summer, the Gr2 Perth Cup.

La Trice Classic info

Date: Friday 4th January 2019
Track: Ascot racecourse, Perth
Distance: 1800 metres
Race Type: Fillies & Mares - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2019 Winner: Celebrity Dream

The La Trice Classic is a race for fillies & mares only over the middle distance of 1800m and suits those females that may have tackled races like the Gr3 WA Champion Fillies Stakes or any mares only events earlier in the carnival.

Any fillies looking for further may head on the Gr3 WA Oaks in March, and the better ones may even decide to tackle the Gr2 WATC Derby a couple of weeks later in April.

A race like the Listed Startstruck Classic is a good guide to this race and Cosmic Storm (2016 Dec) is the last filly to win the Starstruck Classic and La Trice Classic double.

After winning this race, classy galloper Elite Belle (2014) went on to win the Gr3 Prince Of Wakes Stakes & Group 1 Railway Stakes during the Perth summer racing carnival in November. She also ran third in the Group 1 Kingston Town Classic following her Railway victory.

Celebrity Dream (2019) ran fourth in the Listed Starstruck Classic over 1600m at Ascot before scoring a comfortable victory in this event for trainer Adam Durant.

Recent La Trice Classic winners include I'm Feeling Lucky (2018) and Cosmic Storm (2016 Dec).

2019 La Trice Classic result

1. $2.40 Celebrity Dream 57.5 William Pike
2. $4.00 Fontainebleau 57.5 Glenn Smith
3. $41.00 Mouquet 55.0 Daniel Staeck

then followed
4. $31.00 Royal Strata 55.0 Ms Lucy Warwick
5. $91.00 Awesome As 55.0 Shaun Mc Gruddy
6. $3.50 Lucky Roar 55.0 Jason Brown
7. $101.00 Oriental Rose 55.0 Clint Johnston-Porter
8. $15.00 Showcase 55.0 Chris Parnham
9. $101.00 Seeking Alpha 55.0 Joseph Azzopardi
10. $15.00 First Affair 56.5 Damian Lane
11. $201.00 Larking 55.0 Ms Lisa Staples

Margins: 2 len, 1.5 len
Time: 1:50.70

Bet now on the La Trice Classic

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best La Trice Classic odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

La Trice Classic winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Celebrity Dream Fontainebleau Mouquet 1:50.7
2018 I'm Feeling Lucky Fontainebleau First Affair 1:51.5
2016 Ideal Image Vampi Lass Cosmic Storm 1:52.2
2016 Cosmic Storm Silverstream Tarquinn Shadow 1:49.8
2015 Vampi Lass Real Charm Dark Delight 1:51.8
2014 Elite Belle Rose of Choice Bippo No Bungus 1:52.7
2013 Mabel Grace Miss Tipsy Topsy Upon This Rock 1:50.8
2011 Rosie Rocket Peg's Pride Simplyirresistible 1:51.6

The 2011 La Trice Classic was held on New Year's Eve.

The 2016 La Trice Classic was held twice during the year. Firstly, on New Year's Day in January, when won by Ideal Image, and secondly, on New Year's Eve in December, when Cosmic Storm saluted.