horse racing info

Champagne Stakes

The Champagne Stakes is a Group 3 set weights race for three-year-old Fillies that takes place each September at Moonee Valley racecourse on a Friday evening in Melbourne, Victoria. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $150,000 in prize money. The 2019 Champagne Stakes was won by Loving Gaby from Exhilarates with Villami third.

Run as the 'Scarborough Stakes' in recent years, the Champagne Stakes takes place on the same night as the Group 1 AJ Moir Stakes during the Melbourne spring racing carnival. It provides the ideal lead-up to the Gr3 Thoroughbred Club Stakes at Caulfield.

Champagne Stakes info

Date: Friday 25th September 2020
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000
2019 Winner: Loving Gaby

The Champagne Stakes is a handy race for fillies and typically suits female gallopers who may not be up to the stronger class filly events generally held at a Saturday meeting. The set weight conditons of the race gives the better fillies a decided edge and prior form around the Moonee Valley circuit is always an advantage.

Typically a race for more than handy fillies, the race has been won by some quality types over the years including Snitzerland (2012), Avenue (2009), Fair Embrace (2001), St Clemens Belle (1998), With Me (1990) and Courtza (1989) Top galloper Ortensia (2nd in 2007) managed to finish second in this race before going on to success in much better races as a mare.

Classy Bart Cumming's filly Faint Perfume (5th in 2009) ran third in the Group 1 Thousand Guineas at her next start before taking out the premier Flemington spring races for fillies, the Gr2 Wakeful Stakes and Group 1 VRC Oaks during the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival.

Loving Gaby (2019) resumed from a spell to score a classy victory in this event for Caulfield based training duo Ciaron Maher & David Eustace.

Recent Champagne Stakes winners include Meryl (2018) and Houtzen (2017).

sportsbet racing form

Spring Carnival Guide

Gai Waterhouse filly Invincible Star (7th in 2017) won the Gr3 Thoroughbred Club Stakes at Caulfield at her next start, as did Hear The Chant (last in 2016), who reversed his Champagne Stakes form. Both My Country (6th in 2016) and Saturn Rock (3rd in 2012) went on to finish second and third respectively in the Thoroughbred Club Stakes.

Miss Stellabelle (2011) finished runner-up behind Karuta Queen in the Gr3 Red Anchor Stakes at Moonee Valley after winnig this race and runner-up Platelet (2nd in 2011) claimed the Thoroughbred Club Stakes at Caulfield.

Lone Rock (2010) ran third in the Red Anchor Stakes on Cox Plate Day after scoring in this event. Jesse's Girl (2nd in 2010) ran second in the Thoroughbred Club Stakes behind Solar Charged (9th in 2010), who won that race after finishing unplaced in this race.

Avenue (2009) led all the way to win this race and then won the Thoroughbred Club Stakes at Caulfield and Red Anchor Stakes at Moonee Valley later in the spring.

2019 Champagne Stakes result

1. $6.00 Loving Gaby 56.0 Damian Lane
2. $3.40 Exhilarates 56.0 Kerrin McEvoy
3. $3.80 Villami 56.0 Tim Clark

then followed
4. $101.00 Don'ttelltheboss 56.0 Dean Yendall
5. $81.00 Aten 56.0 Luke Currie
6. $21.00 Backpedal 56.0 Jamie Kah
7. $21.00 Charleise 56.0 Mark Zahra
8. $41.00 Vincere Volare 56.0 Nash Rawiller
9. $31.00 Lankan Star 56.0 Luke Nolen
10. $6.50 Absolute Flirt 56.0 Damien Oliver
11. $21.00 Ready Set Sail 56.0 Dwayne Dunn
12. $17.00 Niedorp 56.0 Brenton Avdulla
13. $31.00 Evening Slippers 56.0 Stephen Baster

Margins: 0.2 len, 0.2 len
Time: 1:10.90

Bet now on the Champagne Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Champagne Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Champagne Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Loving Gaby Exhilarates Villami 1:10.9
2018 Meryl Sweet Rockette Humma Humma 1:11.2
2017 Houtzen Mintha True Excelsior 1:10.7
2016 Selenia Stop Making Sense Merriest 1:12.0
2015 Take Pride Secret Agenda Serenade 1:09.9
2014 Eloping Tahni Dancer Tawteen 1:11.6
2013 Thump Miracles Of Life I Love It 1:10.8
2012 Snitzerland Hoss Amor Saturn Rock 1:11.3
2011 Miss Stellabelle Platelet Miss Zoom 1:11.9
2010 Lone Rock Jesse's Girl Military Rose 1:11.0
2009 Avenue Rostova My Girl Helen 1:12.5
2008 Dan Baroness Ortensia Impressive Eagle 1:11.6
2007 Antarctic Miss Bel Mer Gladwell 1.11:0
2006 Estelle Collection Industrious Permaiscuous 1:11.1
2005 Virage De Fortune Crevette Testa Reale 1:12.3
2004 Truly Wicked Sharp Aunty Rich Megadale 1:12.0
2003 Dilly Dally Bella Corona Legally Bay 1:10.7
2002 Before Too Long Innovation Girl Fatoon 1:10.2
2001 Fair Embrace Patterns Bom Priceless 1:11.2
2000 Ateates Little Miss Marnie Stormy Summers 1:10.3