horse racing info

Aurie's Star Handicap

The Aurie's Star Handicap is a Group 3 open handicap race that takes place in early August each year at Flemington racecourse in Melbourne. The race is run under handicap conditions down the the 1200 metre straight track and has prize money of $160,000. The 2019 Aurie's Star Handicap was taken out by So Si Bon from Malibu Style with Sesar third.

Upgraded to Group 3 status for the 2010/2011 racing season, the Aurie's Star Handicap is the first group race of the new racing season in Victoria and takes place during the Melbourne spring racing carnival.

Aurie's Star Handicap info

Date: Saturday 8th August 2020
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $160,000
2019 Winner: So Si Bon

The Aurie's Star Handicap is a more than handy sprint race to bring in the new racing season and quite often provides a starting point for many of our better sprinters on their way to a spring campaign in Melbourne.

Raced down the Flemington 1200 metre 'Straight Course', the Aurie's Star Handicap suits those horses with previous experience down the Flemington straight or any horse who prefers straight racing rather than around turns.

The 2009 Aurie's Star Handicap proved a pivotal race for the spring with Mic Mac (2009) going on to win the Group 1 Memsie Stakes after winning this race and All American (2nd in 2009) finishing runner-up in the Gr2 Waterford Mile at Moonee Valley before winning the Group 1 Emirates Stakes on the final day of the Flemington carnival.

So Si Bon (2019) resumed from a spell to score an upset victory in this event for the David & Ben Hayes & Tom Dabernig stable.

Recent Aurie's Star Handicap winners include Voodoo Lad (2018) and Hey Doc (2017).

2019 Aurie's Star Handicap

1. $21.00 So Si Bon 55.5 Luke Nolen
2. $6.00 Malibu Style 57.5 Damian Lane
3. $4.20 Sesar 55.5 Dwayne Dunn

then followed
4. $91.00 Seaburge 54.0 Lachlan King
5. $5.50 Milwaukee 55.0 Damien Oliver
6. $21.00 Material Man 59.0 Rhys McLeod
7. $16.00 Oohood 55.0 Luke Currie
8. $6.50 Reykjavik 54.0 Ms Linda Meech
9. $81.00 Mr Money Bags 54.0 Beau Mertens
10. $14.00 Iconoclasm 55.5 Brett Prebble
11. $9.00 You Make Me Smile 54.0 Zac Spain
12. $26.00 Holy Blade 54.0 Jye McNeil
13. $41.00 Tribal Wisdom 54.0 Michael Dee
14. $51.00 True Excelsior 54.0 Stephen Baster

Margins: 1 len, 2.75 len
Time: 1:11.07

Bet now on the Auries Star Handicap

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Auries Star Handicap odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Auries Star Handicap winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 So Si Bon Malibu Style Sesar 1:11.0
2018 Voodoo Lad Home Of The Brave Brave Song 1:09.6
2017 Hey Doc Cannyescent Grande Rosso 1:09.9
2016 Sooboog Dibiyani Tashbeeh 1:10.0
2015 Shiraz Play Master Le Bonsir 1:09.4
2014 Tiger Tees Mr Chard Zamorar 1:09.8
2013 Broken Temple Of Boom Cavallo Nero 1:12.5
2012 Shanghai Warrior Golden Archer Zamorar 1:11.4
2011 Temple Of Boom Rekindled Interest Offenders 1:10.5
2010 Elusive Touch Leica Larrikin Beltrois 1:11.1
2009 Mic Mac All American El Segundo 1.09:6
2008 Grand Duels Stavka Valedictum 1.10:4