horse racing info

Typhoon Tracy Stakes

The Typhoon Tracy Stakes is a Group 3 race for three-year-old fillies held in February each year at Moonee Valley racecourse in Melbourne during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres under set weight & penalty conditions and offers $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Typhoon Tracy Stakes was won by Tulip from True Excelsior with Seannie third.

Named after former outstanding galloper Typhoon Tracy, a six-time Group 1 winner who was named Australian Racehorse of the Year for 2009/10, the Typhoon Tracy Stakes was upgraded to Group 3 level for the 2013/2014 racing season.

Typhoon Tracy Stakes info

Date: Friday 22nd February 2019
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2018 Winner: Tulip

The Typhoon Tracy Stakes is a fillies only event that is typically contested by above average gallopers who will go on to contest similar type races during the autumn. Now and then a quality female will line up and prove too good for her rivals, just as Gr1 Flight Stakes winner Norzita (2013) did, when she was too good for her rivals.

Fillies only races like the Gr3 Boronia Stakes or Gr2 The Vanity Stakes offer good lead up races to the Typhoon Tracy Stakes while the better class gallopers may head on to the Gr2 Kewney Stakes at Flemington on Super Saturday. Norzita 92013) finished second in the Kewney Stakes following her easy victory in this event.

Tulip (2018) ran fourth in the Boronia Stakes over 1200m at Caulfield before taking out this event and recent Typhoon Tracy Stakes winners include Brugal Reward (2017) and Almighty Girl (2016).

2018 Typhoon Tracy Stakes result

1. $4.20 Tulip 57.5 Kerrin McEvoy
2. $26.00 True Excelsior 55.0 Ben Melham
3. $13.00 Seannie 56.0 Regan Bayliss

then followed
4. $26.00 Stylish Missile 55.0 Ms Linda Meech
5. $8.00 Regimen 55.0 Craig Williams
6. $4.40 Bella Martini 56.5 Dwayne Dunn
7. $8.00 Pretty Fast 56.0 Mark Zahra
8. $5.50 Platinum Angel 55.0 Damien Oliver
9. $31.00 Tarcoola Spirit 55.0 Ben Allen
10. $26.00 Fox Swift 56.5 Luke Nolen
11. $61.00 Lady Magnus 55.0 Damien Thornton
12. $51.00 Kardashing 55.0 Beau Mertens
13. $101.00 The Queen's Reward 55.0 Ben Thompson

Margins: 1 len, 1 len
Time: 1:10.7

Bet now on the Typhoon Tracy Stakes

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Typhoon Tracy Stakes odds.

Typhoon Tracy Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Tulip True Excelsior Seannie 1:10.7
2017 Brugal Reward Modern Wonder Selenia 1:10.8
2016 Almighty Girl Secret Agenda Super Cash 1:10.1
2015 Written Dash Royal Snitzel Matilija 1:10.6
2014 Jazz Song Miss Promiscuity Miss Rose De Lago 1:11.1
2013 Norzita Angelic Light Yuleba 1:09.6
2012 Glows Empress Rock Our Miss Jones 1:10.9
2011 Miss Gai Flyer Obsequious Minnie Mah 1:11.0